Latest Posts
Home > Debt Relief Industry > J Hass Group Review

J Hass Group Review

This review is the result of a question from a reader about this company.

Address:

7590 E. Gray Rd
Suite 204
Scottsdale, AZ 85260

Website:

jhassgroup.com
Domain name is owned by Jason Hass ([email protected]) and was registered February 29, 2008.

Description:

Debt settlement company.

Management

JHASS Group, LLC was incorporated on February 28, 2008. It’s organizational members are Jeff Hass, Jeremy Hass, and Jason Hass. – Source

Jason D. Hass is a lawyer in the State of Arizona and has been admitted to practice law in Arizona since November 4, 2004. As a lawyer he is associated with the J Hass Group.

Jeff Hass, CEO – Source

Jason Hass, CEO
As counsel to another firm, Mr. Hass saw a more efficient and client friendly way to operate. His dream of doing it “better” was realized when he founded the J. Hass Group.

Michelle Lee, Head of Operations
Her years of military service and internship in the legal department of another debt settlement firm prepared her for her role as Operations officer, a position for which Ms. Lee is ideally suited.

Jeremy Hass, Head of Marketing
A graduate of the University of Arizona, Mr. Hass has been key to growing the firm from a handful of small offices to over 100 nationwide.

Jeff Hass, Customer Service, Coach and Mentor
Mr. Hass is the guiding force behind all J. Hass Group endeavors. A Renaissance man, Mr. Hass has over 40 years of business experience and has been a leader in his states politics.
Source

Contacts

Phone: 800.565.1260
Fax: 877.572.5050
[email protected]
866-391-5776 – Source
(602) 357-7600
(800) 565-1260
(800) 976-5714
(800) 977-2109
(877) 572-5050

Relationships

Also known as American Debt Settlement Group, JDH & Associates, The J Hass Group – Source

Interesting Points

The Attorney General’s office has filed suit against five different debt-settlement companies in recent years, while its Economic Crimes division took action against multiple others. One firm they investigated was the Law Office of Jason D. Hass, an Arizona-based attorney who solicited clients in Florida for debt-settlement services.

“It was definitely a nightmare,” said a Tampa Bay woman, wishing to remain unidentified, speaking of her dealings with Hass.

She says after Hass agreed to work down her debt, she began paying him $330/mo. However, after six months, she says Hass hadn’t even contacted her creditors and was pocketing the money. Her late charges continued to pile up and her credit continued to drop.

“I paid them for six months,” said the victim, “before I realized I could have paid off three of my credit cards with the money I had sent them.”

She got her $1,500 back from the Attorney General while Hass was put on probation with the State Bar of Arizona for an unrelated ethics violation. – Source

Suit was filed claiming plaintiff paid J Hass Group $5445.96 but almost a year later J Hass Group had “not negotiated nor settled any obligations of the debtors.” – Source

Another suit was filed to recover funds paid to J Hass Group and Jason Hass as well.

On August 13, 2008, Kristina Lynn Buckner (the “Debtor”), filed a voluntary petition under Chapter 7 of the Bankruptcy Code.

Subsequently, Gene R. Kohut (the “Trustee”) was appointed the duly qualified and acting Trustee in the matter.

Upon information and belief, Jason Hass (the “Defendant”) is an individual with a mailing address of 7590 E. Gray Road, Suite 204, Scottsdale, AZ, 85260.

Upon information and belief, the Defendant is an Arizona attorney who provides debt settlement services via a company called the J.Hass Group.

From January through June of 2008, the Debtor paid the sum of $4,500.00 to Jason Hass at the rate of $750.00 per month, for debt reduction services.

The Trustee has investigated the Debtor’s pre-petition actions and financial condition, and has concluded that the Defendant received an avoidable fraudulent conveyance from the Debtor, and now brings this action to recover such conveyance. – Source

A default judgment was later won by the plaintiff against the J Hass Group for $4,500 in this case.

Jason D. Hass appeared again in testimony to the Federal Trade Commission regarding debt settlement activities.

Barbara B lives on $761 a month in Supplemental Security Income disability benefits. Facing $30,000 in credit card debt, she called the Freedom Debt Network (located in New York) which works with the law firm of Jason D. Hass located in Arizona. Over eight months, she borrowed money from her 19 year old son (who works as a stocker at a large retailer) and paid $3,930 to settle the accounts. One account was settled for 90% of what was owed when she entered the program, while another settled for 30% of what she owed. Taking into account the savings on the settled account ($1,125), the end result was Barbara B had lost $3,206 while increasing her debt. Despite complaints to the Arizona Bar, only $185 was returned.

On paper, the worksheet plan seems reasonable, especially when one takes into account that the target settlement rate of 40% is based on “industry standards.”15 The problem is that set­ up fees are taken immediately and creditors never wait 36 months before pursuing debt collection.

Such was the case of Barbara B. She learned about her set-up fee provision (15% of her $30,000 debt or $4,500 collected over 10 months) after being sued four months into the program by HSBC. Despite having “personal and long standing relationships with individual creditors and collection agencies,” Hass got rid of the suit by settling with HSBC for 90% of what was owed ($2,400.) The settlement then fell apart because Barbara had no cash on hand to pay HSBC, all but $100 of her payments to Hass over four months ($1,965) had been taken as set-up fees. – Source

A look at their web site found that there was a lot of important information missing to help consumers make an informed decision about using their services. There was no FAQ page and only one page about the debt settlement program. – Source

They do talk about their fees and the fact all of the first three months of fees go to pay them, not your creditors. After that fees will continue to be withdrawn through the first half of your program.

Our fees are a percentage of the total debt that you enroll in our program. We amortize the fees over half the length of the program (in other words, we are in this with you for the long haul) only the first three months go totally to fees in order to cover the hard costs of establishing your account.

These fixed costs include the time, resources and manpower needed to set up your account, create your file, establish your trust account, create and forward the Power of Attorney to your creditors and to begin the negotiation process.

Fees are withdrawn over one half the length of your program. – Source

BBB Reviews & Ratings

J Hass Group Review

As of the date of this review, the BBB complaint history with J Hass Group is below.

J Hass Group Review

The BBB review as of the date I wrote this review.

Complaints

  • Orange County Debt Settlement Debt Consolidation? or Money Toilet? San Clemente California
  • “Ms. Bernadita Duran fared the worst. Although her only income (welfare and SSI) was exempt from debt collection, the Freedom Debt Network and the Law firm of Jason D. Hass took $3,025 from her over eight months while “settling” four debts for impossible payment terms that exceeded Ms. Duran’s income and assets.” – Source
  • Stay Away from Jason D. Hass and Associates for Debt Settlement. They too are a CASH COW that does nothing for you. The staff never returns your telephone calls or answers the telephone when you call. The staff will make documented client contact logs to justify their actions. The bilked me out of over $3600 in fees. JDH did nothing but place me deeper into debt. I am considering bankruptcy at the present time. I even sent information on the law firm to the Arizona State Bar regarding the unscruplous practices of JDH and Associates. The Hass Firm was disciplined on another violation previously before my complaint was received, therefore the Arizona State Bar did NOTHING to help me recoup my fees paid to JDH and Associates. – Source

Picture of Web Site

J Hass Group Review

Is This Your Company?

If this is a review is about your company and you would like to respond to the information I’ve presented here to possibly put it into a broader context or make a correction, please feel free to post your response in the comments section below. I invite you to read my Debt Relief Company and Site Review Policy first.

J Hass Group Review by

Share This and Spread the Word

About Steve Rhode

Steve Rhode
Steve Rhode is the Get Out of Debt Guy and has been helping good people with bad debt problems since 1994. You can learn more about Steve, here.
  • Jcrewjc1

    I have been with J Hass Group for a couple years now, and would advise ANYONE who wishes to use a debt settlement company, to FIND A DIFFERENT ONE!!!!!!  They have been completely useless, and though I have gotten 2 of my 3 debts paid off, J Hass had NOTHING to do with either one.  One was written off by the creditor, the other the creditor contacted ME with a settlement offer, and I referred them to J Hass.  The third, I have been trying to get them to contact and get a settlement offer for almost two months, and they have yet to even call them.  They are much more interested in continuing to collect their “monthly maintenance fee” than actually representing me as I contracted them to do.  I have filed a BBB complaint (not that that is a huge deal with them, they already have an “F” rating), and will be contacting my lawyer to begin proceedings to recover my fees.  This group are swindlers, and do NOTHING to represent their clients other than to collect their fees and take your money. DO NOT USE THEM!!!!!!!!!

  • Dmitri3000
  • Dmitri3000

    You can count on me

  • Noelle

    ALSO!! just got notification today in the mail. Safe Trust Financial declared Chapter 11. Now, that is not a good sign!!

  • Noelle

    ALSO!! just got notification today in the mail. Safe Trust Financial declared Chapter 11. Now, that is not a good sign!!

  • Noelle

    Hi there,
    Although I didn’t work with this company, I did have a debt settlement company P&E Solutions aka FBL Associates that I signed up with. All in all these companies are the same. This one nto exluded. The escrow accounts they set up are really set up for them to get paid first. They do not negotiate until after they are paid.

    I did this and paid pretty faithfully monthly and then got served with a lawsuit from Sears. Sears. So in a nutshell. FBL and or P&E were turned into the Florida BBB, within 10 days I was refunded tot he penny what I paid in. Bad news? My credit is beyond repair.

    I am filing a Chapter 13, which I should of done form the get go. Sorry folks. Save your money and pay an atty who will help you legally if there is no realistic chance of fixing your credit situation.. Believe me, a BK on your credit is actually not as bad as what they Debt Settlement Companies have done..

  • Noelle

    Hi there,
    Although I didn’t work with this company, I did have a debt settlement company P&E Solutions aka FBL Associates that I signed up with. All in all these companies are the same. This one nto exluded. The escrow accounts they set up are really set up for them to get paid first. They do not negotiate until after they are paid.

    I did this and paid pretty faithfully monthly and then got served with a lawsuit from Sears. Sears. So in a nutshell. FBL and or P&E were turned into the Florida BBB, within 10 days I was refunded tot he penny what I paid in. Bad news? My credit is beyond repair.

    I am filing a Chapter 13, which I should of done form the get go. Sorry folks. Save your money and pay an atty who will help you legally if there is no realistic chance of fixing your credit situation.. Believe me, a BK on your credit is actually not as bad as what they Debt Settlement Companies have done..

  • Marine Corps. Veteran

    Please include me in this class action suit.

  • Marine Corps. Veteran

    I would love for you to come visit me!!!

  • Kathy Sheerin

    Make sure you include the Banking Commission in AZ and the state in which you live. Include Noteworld and you should file a complaint in Washington state as well.

  • Terry

    I don’t know if it’s even possible to receive a refund from this company.
    Never heard of anyone that ever got a refund.
    I tried the AZ attorney general & FTC approx. 6 months ago….. stilll nothing.

    But, I will never let it rest & will continue to share my experiences on this site & any other site I find.

    For at least the next 30 yrs I plan to inform the public in any way I can.. as to this company’s (The J. Hass Group, JDH & associates, American debt settlement group, The Fingo Group etc.) misleading practices.

    I wish you good luck!

  • WhereIsTessla

    QUESTION: to TRY and obtain a refund, is the first step the A.G. in my state OR arizona?

    I actually completed the “program” to the end. The only positive is that in 1.5 years, SOL/Statue of Limitations kick in.

    GOOGLE: “statue of limitations” for contracts in YOUR state. (if you live in a BLUE state, you’re skrewed)

  • Anonymous

    QUESTION: to TRY and obtain a refund, is the first step the A.G. in my state OR arizona?

    I actually completed the “program” to the end. The only positive is that in 1.5 years, SOL/Statue of Limitations kick in.

    GOOGLE: “statue of limitations” for contracts in YOUR state. (if you live in a BLUE state, you’re skrewed)

    • Terry

      I don’t know if it’s even possible to receive a refund from this company.
      Never heard of anyone that ever got a refund.
      I tried the AZ attorney general & FTC approx. 6 months ago….. stilll nothing.

      But, I will never let it rest & will continue to share my experiences on this site & any other site I find.

      For at least the next 30 yrs I plan to inform the public in any way I can.. as to this company’s (The J. Hass Group, JDH & associates, American debt settlement group, The Fingo Group etc.) misleading practices.

      I wish you good luck!

  • Terry

    OH Jeremy,

    Where did you go? Oh how I looked forward to your many humorus attempts to defend the J. Hass group. Please, tell me that they didn’t take your pc privillages away.

    Feels a bit lonely without your comments of misinformation & threats of libel.

  • Dmitri3000

    Could you explain your program and your operation to me. Dealing with your company, I have lost about $4000 and my debt increased by $2000. I would prefer to talk on the phone, so I can better express my “appreciation”. 360-867-1916….Dmitri

  • NEENALEIGH

    DO NOT USE THEM! THEY ARE RIP OFFS!!! THERE COMPANY IS A SCAM! YOU CAN DO WHAT THEY DO ON YOUR OWN!!! DONT ALLOW THEM TO TAKE YOUR MONEY LIKE THEY TOOK MINE! THE CREDIT CARD COMPANIES WILL WORK WITH YOU AND IT WILL COST YOU A LOT LESS!!!!

  • NEENALEIGH

    DO NOT USE THEM! THEY ARE RIP OFFS!!! THERE COMPANY IS A SCAM! YOU CAN DO WHAT THEY DO ON YOUR OWN!!! DONT ALLOW THEM TO TAKE YOUR MONEY LIKE THEY TOOK MINE! THE CREDIT CARD COMPANIES WILL WORK WITH YOU AND IT WILL COST YOU A LOT LESS!!!!

  • Moniqueleufroy

    has anyone graduated from this program? Has anyone been helped??? Is there any positives at all???

  • Moniqueleufroy

    has anyone graduated from this program? Has anyone been helped??? Is there any positives at all???

  • http://PH#641-799-0434 Richard L Pilcher

    6/10/10
    To Whom it may concern. My situation began about 1 year ago during a more financially challenging time, We had managed to stay above the water and could see a faint light at the end of the tunnel. At this point we had been making minimum due payments to all of our creditors and was determined to maintain our commitments when out of the blue FIRST NATIONAL BANK of OMAHA (witch I will refer to as FNB from this point) raised our interest rate on a credit card we had through them, This move added about a 1/3 increase to our minimum payment due in interest. At this point I called FNB to ask why. I was then told that FNB had begun raising interest rates on people who were making minimum due payments because they were some how deemed to be a higher risk. This reason not only angered me but was very alarming to me because in My entire adult life I had made minimum payment due payments when my financial situation dictated the need to do so, And never in my life have I been subjected to a interest rate hike for paying the minimally acceptable payment as stated on a bill from any creditor. Although the reason given angered Me I asked in a polite and courteous manner. Is it not enough to go after people who are late with payments, or not paying at all, You now have to gouge customers that are in good standing? FNB then said that I would have to make the higher rate payment for this bill but agreed to lower my rate back to the original rate. I reluctantly managed to make the higher payment, witch made Me feel like I had been pulled over and given an $80.00 dollar ticket for driving safely, At this point I thought the matter was over, when about 2 billing cycles later BAM! My rate was jacked up again, and again when I called FNB I was given the same minimum payment payer higher risk reason. I again paid there safe driver fine for that bill and again they agreed to lower the rate to the original level. At this point I was actively searching for an alternative solution to pay off this debt, as I was absolutely certain that FNB was going to continue its unjustifiable actions of rate hikes on My good standing account until I was pushed into default for lack of a full minimum payment, If Your a card shark this would make There action justified, but for me it was just plain wrong, the writing was on the wall I just needed a direction to go. This is when I heard a radio commercial for the JHASS group,(witch I will refer to as JHG from this point) JHG is a debt settlement company out of Scottsdale ARIZONA witch after speaking with over a couple of days gave Me assurance based on there answers to my questions that that I was doing THE RIGHT THING in working with them to settle My debt with FNB, I was even told by JHG that JHG worked well with FNB with no issues, I was told by JHG not to talk with FNB directly as this would be counter productive for JHG to negotiate, I was told by JHG that every time (a total of 3) I sent a copy of a debt collection attempt from FNB to JHG that JHG contacted FNB in an ongoing effort to work with FNB. I was told by JHG in response to My question that in the highly unlikely event that I were to be legally served by FNB or it’s legal representation that JHG had a “LEGAL DEPARTMENT” that would take over to resolve the issue. I was never told by JHG that they would take 8 full month payments then take nearly all of it in fees yet never make even one attempt to work on My account. I now fully understand the consequences of my misguided trust in what JHG says it will do and what JHG will do. I let My guard down. You see after contacting the legal representation for FNB I was told that JHG has made no attempts to contact them “We do not show JHG or any association of JHG connected to this account”. I find this hard to understand given what JHG has stated they have done for Me to include a copy of the power of attorney with all of there stated attempts to work with FNB and its legal representation. But now that I see the big picture it all becomes clear, I have been scammed, ripped off, taken for a fool and dumped on by JHG. My wish is that some day some way legal action by some one financially able to will put an end to JHG and companies like it before more trusting people in there time of need are scammed.

    At this point I have

    #1 Closed my account with JHG and have emailed and faxed my written demand for a full and complete refund of all money paid to them ($2324.40) based on non service of my account and the numerous occasions in witch they misguided Me and out right lied to me. I believe fulfillment of this demand to be legally right, I most certainly believe it to be ethically right, But I also believe that JHG has lawyers working over time in a CYA mode

    #2 I have entered into an agreement with the legal firm representing FNB to pay $250.00 a month on my debt to FNB.

    #3 I believe that my past actions with FNB and JHG were a good faith effort to either pay off or settle a debt that IS mine with out being gouged in one case or being ripped off in the other My credit rating and My pride have taken a sizeable hit in all of this, But I will recover. In closing I want to say I believe I have made some mistakes along the way,
    But I also believe that I am not alone.

    Richard

    • Ann

      Richard

      Make a complaint with the AZ attorney generals office & the FTC.
      It’s easy to do & you can do it online.
      If enough of us (that have been mislead by JHG) do this, they will get the heat turned up on them.

      Don’t bother complaining to the BBB, they are a joke.

      JHG most likely will not give you a refund, I haven’t heard of anyone ever receiving a refund from them ( including myself). Feel lucky, they took me for approx. $4200. & I now owe my creditors about $15000. more than when I joined with the JHG.

  • Paul

    I am in, out 3800 and they refuse to give refund. Make sure you file complaints with bbb, attorney general and federal trade commission.

    • Kathy Sheerin

      Make sure you include the Banking Commission in AZ and the state in which you live. Include Noteworld and you should file a complaint in Washington state as well.

  • Sara

    After reading this and many other complaints online, I am getting out of this program today before I lose more money! I signed on to settle $16,000 in debt. My experience so far has been left much to be desired and I feel like I’m being scammed. Why is there such a low rating with the BBB. Why didn’t Jeremy address that issue??? If I don’t get my money back, trust that I would filing suit and already have noted the names of complainants who would like to be involved in a class-action suit against the J Haas Group. I work for a business litgation attorney so the resources are there! Maybe Jeremy Hass will contact me and invite me to see/hear how the operations work???

  • Terry

    Thank You Mr Rhode

    I also would be interested in what Mr. Hass would have to say in a public discussion.

    If the comments provide as much accuracy as information in my account with them, it could prove to be very entertaining.

  • Josh

    PS Is that really Jeremy Hass that responded above? I’m surprised a high profile attorney with such a “reputable company” makes so many spelling errors? Just a thought…

  • Josh

    Wow I am really discouraged after reading these comments. I have been paying into the J Hass Group for over a year and still get calls and letters from the collection agencies. The balances are still the same and now they are calling my relatives whom I don’t even live with. How did the agencies get their ph#’s? I called the J Hass Group and asked what was going on and so far they said they havent been doing any negotiating at all, but just taking the money and setting it aside. I called them today and I was told to start sending the letters to them that I receive monthly so they can start negotiating. No one told me that in the first place. No communication.

  • http://n/a Ben

    Do you have a source on the; “A default judgment was latter won by the plaintiff against the J Hass Group for $4,500 in this case.”
    I could not find this anywhere, and would like more information.

    • http://GetOutOfDebt.org Steve Rhode

      Ben,

      The records say the judgment was entered into on April 7, 2009.

      DEFAULT JUDGMENT

      Plaintiff, Gene R. Kohut, filed an Application for Entry of Default Judgment due to J. Hass Group’s and Jason Hass’s failure to timely answer Plaintiff’s Complaint to Avoid Fraudulent Conveyance. The Court is advised of the facts and issues and grants Plaintiff’s Application.

      IT IS ORDERED that a Default Judgment is entered against Defendants, J. Hass Group and Jason Hass, and in favor of Plaintiff.

      IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Defendants, J. Hass Group and Jason Hass, received an avoidable fraudulent conveyance in the amount of $4,500.00 from the Debtor, Kristina Lynn Buckner, which fraudulent conveyance is avoided in its entirety.

      IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Defendants, J. Hass Group and Jason Hass, are ordered to pay to the bankruptcy estate the sum of $4,500.00, pursuant to 11 U.S.C. §§548, 550(a), and 551.

      Jason Hass was latter removed personally.

      Steve

  • Jeremy Hass

    I have seen your blog several times, and i track when my company name appears in a question to you. I would like to set up a meeting to explain our program and our operation to you so that you can accuratley answer questions regarding what it is we do. In my experiance there are some common misconception about debt settlement companies adn i would like to clear up how we operate and why we may be different. If you agree i would liek to have a phone conversaion and possibly even have you come out and visit us so that you can see ifrst hand what it is that we do. Please contact me at you earlies conveniance.
    [submitted via debt question form]

    • http://GetOutOfDebt.org Steve Rhode

      Jeremy,

      Feel free to comment on anything that is not accurate in my review or provide your point of view to help clarify anything you feel is inaccurate or misleading.

      I’m happy to have a public discussion about this.

      Steve

    • Dmitri3000

      Could you explain your program and your operation to me. Dealing with your company, I have lost about $4000 and my debt increased by $2000. I would prefer to talk on the phone, so I can better express my “appreciation”. 360-867-1916….Dmitri

    • Terry

      OH Jeremy,

      Where did you go? Oh how I looked forward to your many humorus attempts to defend the J. Hass group. Please, tell me that they didn’t take your pc privillages away.

      Feels a bit lonely without your comments of misinformation & threats of libel.

    • Marine Corps. Veteran

      I would love for you to come visit me!!!

  • Sam

    Your comments are without merit. The real culprits are the creditors who have less disclosure than the Hass group. Mr. Jason has never appeared before the FTC nor was he or his company ever sued by the AG of Florida. You have not given any opportnity for rebuttle which lead me to believe you are all about sensationalism. Or perhaps you recieve your “fair share” from the banks. Should you be a man of honor I invite you for a visit. How about a live TV show? Check your facts! The banks; remember them, they gave us the recession. Prove you are not being used as a pawn as they own the debt managment services and they want to own the debt settlement program too. Folks remember the recssion and the outrageous interest and fees they charge. Their late fees and charges were in excess od 20 billion—. They now want to own all debt elimination programs. The challenge is out-equal time in a public forum. One of your sources was beat at the Phoenix BBB, Az state bar-Az attorney general-Florida BBB-Florida state bar and the Florida attorney ageed. However we refunded as we were over the fee cap. By the way did she tell you that when she enrolled she was near bankruptcy and she did graduate debt free!!!! Plus we returned 1500.00 to her. She is a person that needs to get a life!

    • http://GetOutOfDebt.org Steve Rhode

      Sam,

      I never said “Mr. Jason” appeared personally before the FTC. I did said that J Hass was under investigation, not sued.

      You might want to read the review again above and check my links to sources.

      Steve

Get My FREE Get Out of Debt Guy Newsletter

It is the smart thing to do.

I promise to keep your email safe and secure.

Close

I want to keep you posted each weekday with just one email about the latest get out of debt news, scam alerts and information to beat back debt.

You can unsubscribe at any time with just one click.

After you subscribe, check your email to confirm your subscription. If the confirmation email does not appear in your inbox in a few minutes, check your spam folder for it. Sometimes it likes to annoyingly hide there.


  • It will keep you posted on the latest scams.
  • You will be alerted to the latest articles.
  • You will wind up smarter than everyone else dealing with debt.