Latest Posts
Home > Rate and Review > Lender > Western Sky Financial – Scam, Complaint, Review, or Praise?

Western Sky Financial – Scam, Complaint, Review, or Praise?

Please share your experience with this lender and provide your review and feedback, in the comments section below.

The goal of this page is to allow people to share information that may be important to help others to make a more informed decision regarding their experience with this lending company. Here are some potential questions you might be able to provide feedback about.

  • How did you feel about the customer service experience you received?
  • Was the company easy to communicate with before or after you became a client?
  • Did the company respond to your communications promptly?
  • What were the fees charged for the services you received?
  • Did the company give you the terms and conditions for the loan you were interested in before you gave them any personal information?
  • Was the loan at a fair price and reasonable interest rate?
  • Did you have a really good experience you can share?
  • Did you have a bad experience you want to share?
  • Is there any other information you’d like people to know that might be considering the services of this company?

It is important to understand when reading comments below that they are the opinions of the individual posters and may not be representative of the overall impression of all consumers that may have or have not used the debt relief services of this company. But everyone does deserve to have an opportunity to express their opinion, even the debt relief company itself, be it good, bad, or indifferent.

Western Sky Financial   Scam, Complaint, Review, or Praise?
Get Out of Debt Guy – Twitter, G+, Facebook

Would you recommend Western Sky Financial to others?

View Results

Western Sky Financial   Scam, Complaint, Review, or Praise? Loading ...
Western Sky Financial - Scam, Complaint, Review, or Praise? by

Share This and Spread the Word

About Steve Rhode

Steve Rhode
Steve Rhode is the Get Out of Debt Guy and has been helping good people with bad debt problems since 1994. You can learn more about Steve, here.
  • http://www.facebook.com/people/Tiffanie-Sanders/100000262129763 Tiffanie Sanders

    WTH!!! Can anyone on here spell ,or make some type of sense..I feel dumber after reading these comments ,Jeez!!!

  • Patty

    Western Sky charge heap big wampum! Me try to pay back with shiny beads and warm pelts but Western Sky no want’em. Now me in heap big trouble. Western Sky come to scalp me and take’em away humble tee pee!
    Western Sky leave’em me on lonely trail of tears for many, many moons!

  • Erik

    If the laws of the United States don’t apply because they are on an Indian reservation, how then can they hold us to our end of the deal. If I get Sloan from them how can they then go after me should I decide to default?

    • Erik

      Loan

  • Big Ben

    With the comment dates being all over the place I am finding it difficult to figure out if this is an active thread or a dead topic. Still, this seems to be the most informative thread I have came across so I will post my question here regardless.

    Please believe me when I say that I know these types of loans are only a short term gain with a long term loss. I am not a stupid person and realize these companies aren’t offering their services out of the kindness of their hearts. I categorize such services with that of a “buy here pay here” type industry. That being said, however, I am in serious need of financial assistance right now. I mean, to the point of facing possible jail time if I don’t pay on some of this stuff by FEB 5 2013. NO, I am not some major criminal who is facing fraudulent charges. My license was suspended when I was 19 years old (ten years ago) for failure to pay some tickets. I was young and stubborn and figured “What’s the worst that can happen?” I know you are probably thinking, “And this guy says he’s not a stupid person?” The problem rapidly got out of control once my license was suspended because I continued to drive and was pulled over multiple times and issued a driving while suspended ticket. The fees since then have accumulated into something I will never be able to pay under normal circumstances. A few weeks ago, I was pulled over on my way home from work and taken to jail because of a failure to appear on one of the driving while suspended tickets from a few years back. Now I have court on the 5th and I really want to have everything paid before I have to appear before the judge. This year will be the first year I will have a decent enough tax refund to hopefully take care of the entire debt (tickets, fees, court costs ect..) I won’t receive that tax money, however, until a few weeks after the court date. So now, finally, my question. Do you think it would be safe to use a Western Sky loan only short term until I get my taxes, at which point I could pay the whole thing off entirely? I feel I am running out of time and options and seriously starting to panic about this whole thing. Thank you in advance for any information you can offer regarding this matter.

    -Ben

  • William Walker

    you people are getting off the subject of the discussion. yes. EVERYONE with a fucking brain knows that the interest rates are through the roof. so there is no reason for 1000000000 fucking people so say the same damned thing. I am looking for a review of the service they were given with their loan. that’s right. i would like to hear from someone who actually USED these loans. this review board is a joke. if anyone has actually completed transactions with Western Sky Financial please contact me and let me know how you were treated, was there any other hidden fees that AREN’T blatantly displayed to EVERYONE before loans are discussed, and if there are no other means if you would recommend the loans, at [email protected].

  • T

    ought to b ashamed ripping people off,how u expect them to pay back 40,000 for 10,000 780?month..shame shame shame,talking about scam artist,u number one.that box below shows your idiots

  • Jessika

    Just saw another fake lender http://www.westernskyloans.co but it looks like payday loan lender? Is this another shit or good one?

  • justme

    Anyboday who takes a loan from this company probably needs to see a doctor.

  • Zyphiria

    Says right on the commercial you’ll be paying 800$ a month for 45 months on a 10,000$ loan.. If anyone is dumb enough to believe that is a good deal, they have nothing to complain about after they get their money.

  • Navycorpsman86

    Your better off going to an Indian casino to make your money!

  • Mincey_donna

    the   customer service dept is very rude and just outright told me  that I did not need to apply, wow is that a way to handle business, might need to send allof them back to school for manners.

  • Bjdrain2003

    stay away from all of this its a finanical disater waiting tto happen cashcall, money and more any name that dicredits the reputation of any human dont do it its not worth the paper its written scam, scam, its a fraud fraud……innocent and desperate people et hurt……….

  • Read The Fine Print

    People – Read the fine print! In this case Western Sky Financial.

    Look at the facts:
    1. They are a 100% Native American-owned business operating on a Native American Reservation (sovereign ground) so they are not bound by normal laws> of whatever state they are in.
    2. Their current commercial has been edited to remove the “Sure it’s expensive” from it.
    3. The APR for a typical loan of $10,000 is 89.68% with 84 monthly payments of $743.99.
    Lets look at the figures: Almost 90% for a loan! Really, in any other place besides sovereign ground (ie: Native American Reservation) that would be illegal.

    So lets say you are desperate enough to use them here are the real figures:
    $10,000.00 Loan
    APR – 89.68% (.32% less than 90%)
    84 monthly payments = 7 years
    monthly payments of $743.99
    if you take the $743,99 x 84 months = $62,495.16 pay back for a $10,000 loan.
    $62,495.16 to pay a $10,000 loan.

    Hey it’s up to you but now at least if you haven’t read the fine print you now know what you will be dealing with.

    Oh and complain – good luck – remember it is operating on Native American Reservation (sovereign ground) so you don’t have much of a recourse.

    I am not saying all Native American businesses are bad, just this one! I respect the Native American and find it very interesting and informative to talk to them, especially the elders!

    Hope this helps those that really don’t research before jumping into the fire.

  • Maxwell

    Why is there no oversight into what companies like this are doing to those who are seeking assistance. America is no longer the land of the free, home of the brave. It is the breeding ground of the opportunist!

  • Ken

    Ummmmmmmmmmmm You can put them out of business by ‘NOT BORROWING MONEY FROM THEM!!!!” People can be so desperate and stupid some times. The intereste rate is usury to the 3rd degree, Stevie Wonder could see it. You’d be better off paying off your debt little by little. Be smart not desperate!!!.

  • Edgar

    Thats what you get for slaughtering the real ‘Americans’ Pay back is a higher percentage Aint that a bitch…….hahahahahahaha

  • Anton

    The native Americans are simply doing to the white man what he did to them for hundreds of years…

    Kind of a modern day revenge…they may be crooks but they are creative and a lot of people seem to be going after their outrageous offerings…

  • Tmaraj45

    i have the same promble with  western skyikeepng paying my bill every month and bill never go down what i must do

  • unknown

    I rec’d a loan from Western Sky in Feb 2012 (yes it was sold to Cash Call) The amt of the loan was 2600.00 my payments were 294.00 per month and initially were debited from my acct on the first of the month. I cld them because the first was very difficult for me and they changed my due date to the 15th of the month and they were very nice.
    I knew when I took the loan the interest was ridiculous…but needed the funds
    I have since paid the loan off…..original loan 2600.00 pay off 2863.00. Months I had the loan 5 so glad I was able to pay it off

    My point is I knew what I was signing and they were never rude to me or harassing

  • Mrsac

    My experience was great. I took this loan out knowing that it is meant to be a short term loan. I make 3 monthly payments where only $2 went to principal and then paid the loan in full. I was never late; therefore, i had NO problems.

  • Kemosabe

    Some of you forget we stole their land and put them on those reservations!! Maybe Native Americans are like Sicilians, “Revenge is a dish best served cold”!!! (and lots of interest)

    • S Chambers075

      “WE” didn’t take shit from them, you might have but nobody I know did. They need to get over that shit. The ones who are living now probably are not the ones who had anything taken. Yeah, those who immigrated hundreds of years ago took their land, that doesn’t make it ok for those who weren’t alive to screw others who weren’t alive.

  • Grant D Hopkins

    just got hung up on-so called back to discover  89% interest on  $10,000 loan
    I am receiving disability,already – So I will not be re-compensated for any  more injury…
    I have native American ancestry-so don’t know why they are violating me,I feel like  they didn’t use vasalene …
    was already robbed and  broke my neck in mid 2006-this was  flash-back,and I require hp reconstruction-Medicare will pay,but  the hardware re8placement isn’t  a hip joint-replacement
    its very antiquated its a metal ash tray screwed onto the pelvis with metal rod screwed into the leg(femur) I asked the doctor when this was developed,he said that’s modern  protocol-
    so I canceled the operation,as  just had cervical spine(neck) surgery-I already said too much,sound like a crybaby but suffered  with the pain 38 years because  the technical knowledge for that surgery was questionable-I didn’t want to be completely paralyzed,again as was in a wheelchair ’74-’97 then  I walked with a cane until 06/06/06-peculiar,aye?

  • milkman

    2500 loan is 135% interest. 249 a month for 47 months. Better be ready to take it in the a–!

  • http://profile.yahoo.com/CXUWEQKR62N2ZB7EQ5JHODC2IE Aphrodite

    Stay Far FAR I’m mean FAR!!!!! Away from these people. The biggest Scam every!!! I borrowed 5,000 dollars and with the high percent rate I now owe 40,000 dollars. They were not up front about this. They are out to make money off of people problems. I gave 2000.00 back the same day they gave me the money once I found out and they would not change the contract.

  • Dwright

    I am amazed that a Native American owned company would use loopholes in the legal and financial world to put people into deeper financial jeopardy.  With all the reality of how poorly the Native Americans have been treated in the US, it is beyond comprehension the Sioux Nation are abusing other in a similar fashion.  I hope this is not the legacy that the Sioux Nation is remembered by.

  • http://pulse.yahoo.com/_FYAHSWS7KKV6B53CPRXOS636KA MostD

    In there ads, they say they can get you 10 grand, even if you have less than PERFECT credit… What’s less then perfect credit   ” Excellent credit”   LOL

    • Cgs434

      Sounds like a loan shark

  • harry

    Nothing like needing to borrow $10,000 and having to pay back $62,453.16. Sounds good to me. WTF is up with that. Anybody who is stupid enough to pay 89.68% interest should contact me. I will give you a loan at there mere cost of 75.00% interest!!!!!!!!!!

  • Anthonykneafsey

    “Bury My Heart At Wounded Knee.’ I wonder if these guys are ‘truly’ Native Americans or are just hopping on the band-wagon and targeting ‘white eyes’ with usury rates? Ignorance is bliss and EVIAN water which equates to $20.00 a gallon when spelled backwards is STILL
    naive!!!

  • kit

    I made the mistake of borrowing $200.00 from these guys. Well they deposited 400. instead of 200. and told me 400. was the minimum loan. So I went ahead with it, I repaid them at a rate of 160. a month. After I repaid the loan and interest they continued to withdraw from my account every 2 weeks. At a rate of 200 plus. I had to shut my account down and open a new account. Take my advice stay away from these people. I am ashamed to say how much money they took from me. I leaned a good lesson and have nobody to blame but myself. I hope nobody falls into the trap they have set as I did. 

  • Carl

    Western Sky is like all the other payday loans there interesd rates amounts to about 780% per year.  I would say that it is out of control.  I made a mistake of borrowing money from them.  It was a small amount of three hundred dollars it wound up costing me $90.00 per month and in two months they charged me $120.00 dollars and none of that was applied to the $300.00.  I cancelled there ability to debt my checking account.  I told them I would pay the loan off with a money order and they have stead fast refused to take the money or provide me with there address.   Now when they call I whistle into to the phone and I can provide a high pitched whistle that can hurt your earss.   They are like loan sharks you pay the vig and that’s just the interest until you come with the orginal amount you borrowed thus if you borrow $300.00 and take six months to pay it off $90.00 x 6=540.00 + 300= $840.00 dollars.  Talk about sticking it up your ass

  • Eyeswideopen

    They are on the reservation…. Same place the casinos are.

  • michelle

    Western Sky is full of it and I suggest that anyone try this company simply bc they state one thing but dont follow through on their committments so pleaaaaassssseeee read the fine print before applying because they are not who they claim to be at all!

                        sign,
                      not mad at all

  • Faye

    Since my last post on 07/04/12, I have received my loan from Western Sky, who has transferred the loan to Cashcall.
    But it took some doing. After days of being told the funds had been wired into my acct on 07/02/12 and my telling them I haven’t received the money, on 07/05/12, my financial institution suggested I ask for a reference #. I did, Cashcall said there is no reference #. I told the Cashcall rep, there is always a record of a wire. My financial institution then told me they will contact the US Treasury. Then low and behold, I received a v/m on my cell from a lady, named Diane,  saying she is a supervisor at Cashcall and that she had contacted my financial institution and told them the funds will be deposited into my checking acct that day (07/05/12) When I checked my acct, the funds were there.
    So all’s well ends well.

  • Faye

    I wish that I had researched Western Sky aka ( I guess ) Cashcall. If I had, I probably wouldn’t have gotten into bed with them. Ah – live and learn, let all of these less than good experiences serve as a truly cautionary tale to anyone seeking a loan based on a good talking commercial they saw on tv. Here’s a my condensed experience with this company.

    I applied for a loan with Western Sky, they sent me an e-mail from Cashcall, everytime I thought I had supplied all of the requested documents, loan officer ( I guess) DJ (Douazong Lee) came up with something else I needed to submit.
    I finally had enough and told her I’d call back, but I never did.
    Then one day I received a voice mail from a Jason Bui informing he was my new agent.
    We went through the whole application process, then he told me my loan was approved for $850, but all I would receive is $500; the interst rate on this puppy is 169% !. The funds were supposed to be deposited into my checking acct by 4:30pm EDT on Mon, 07/02/12 
    As of this date, the funds still aren’t there. I’ve been in constant contact with Jason, I must admit, he talks a good game, he’s claiming depending on your bank, sometimes the funds are sent through a third party, in which case he would need a second routing #. I told him my bank doesn’t have any special wiring instructions, the routing# and acct # will suffice.
    Jason then suggested sometimes it takes 3 business day for the transaction to come through. Yeah, I’m sure.
    I wonder if I can sue for breach of contract ? 

  • Suzanmitch

    I have always been of the opinion that charging the kind of interest that Western Sky charges is illegal.  Isn’t this taking advantage of people with bad credit or no credit.  The lady on the commercial has a big smile on her face like she is so proud of what they have to offer. Is there no one who regulates this bunch .  In my opinion they should be ashamed of themselves .

  • Bill

    Andrea CLEARLY works for Western Sky. This is a TERRIBLE way to get money, no matter how badly you need it. Loan sharks don’t charge this kind of interest. The reason predatory lending laws are in place is because after only a couple months, loans like this become impossible to repay by someone who was desperate enough to take such a loan. Bankruptcy is a better solution than this. Either way, your credit will be damaged.

    Why do you think the interest rate on higher amounts is lower? They want to encourage you to take a higher loan, and if you take a smaller loan, they want to penalize you quickly. These loans are not designed to be paid back easily. They are designed to squeeze as much money out of the borrower as possible. They are also designed to be taken by younger people. Why do you think they advertise on MTV and late at night? Young and dumb…I’m sorry if the truth hurts, but that’s the target market. They want your money and your parents’ money and they fully hope you don’t take care of it too quickly.

    Don’t be stupid, people. 99% of people in America are bad money managers. This type of loan will ensure you get a head start on poor money management. Predatory lending practices don’t benefit anyone but the lender! Go do something safer like borrowing from a drug dealer or robbing a bank before you get yourself in this kind of trouble.

    • Pam

      If you can pay it off in a month or two, then it’s not bad if you truly need the money. If you take more time than that, then forget it.

  • Brightlee

    Of course the interest on these types of loans is rediculous…but they arent meant to be long term loans….if you are considering a loan, you need to be completely certain you can repay the debt WI a few months tops….we all have the free will to choose this company. Sure they are ripping ppl off, but they are clear about the terms, we can all agree to that. it is astonishing to me that some of the ppl on here who couldnt repay the loan have to say….what do you expect them to say, ”can you please pay me back with sugar on top?l lmao…

    • Jimbowen66

      You should learn to spell!

  • http://pulse.yahoo.com/_HQAYPVUYJUBXVOQKNZG2BQN6TE TEE.

    If this is the case about this loan company…”I thought your love-able president Obama, created the newly “Consumer Financial Protection Breau” to crack down and look out for the little -guy”? on firms of this nature. You all should call your local government to complain of this financial abuse.

  • Janet Bartley

    I would not recommend this company to anyone, their commercials are all lies, they say get 10,000.00  in your account by the next day, is crap, they also state that it doesn’t matter about your credit or even if you were turned down before.This company is a rip off!!!!!!!!!

  • ontheroad

    thank you all for them comments i was looking into getting a loan thru western sky not now i will never go through them.i am looking for help with my daughters docter bill.she is doing very good after a gun shot to the head.again i thank all of you for the comments dont need to go any further in debt

    • Lizexner

      People, of course WS is expensive, but, pay day loans are worse. The way you use the system “because your situation is dyer and you need money” is to simply pay back the loan faster than what was negotiated.  It can be a life saver if you pay it off sooner.  There are NO pre-payment penalties. That’s the solution when having to borrow money from any of these institutions.

      • rosieo

        Totally agree! For something like car loans or personal expenses, no, probably not so great-but for people like me who have gotten sucked into the payday loan trap, it’s a lifesafer. 6 payday loans, 1100. finance charges a month & no end in sight because of course when I repay, I have to re-loan.  No, I’m not a lowlife who doesn’t work – my husband was very ill, in the hospital for 4 months, out of work – I’ve been working 14 hours a day but not enough to keep up-so I had NO other choice.  So I can pay 11000. a year on PDLs with no way to pay them off or I can pay 13000. over the course of 4 years on my 2600. loan at 294. a month, 800.00 a month saving…provided I take the whole 4 years to pay it off – which of course I won’t because I’ll have that extra 800. a month to pay it down.  Really hoping I’m approved tomorrow because for me, it would be a lifesaver.   Exhorbitant fees?  Sure they are, but PDLs are far worse. So it all depends on the person’s situation and what works best for them.  

      • http://GetOutOfDebt.org Steve Rhode

        Is it time to think about bankruptcy yet?

  • Fefey79
    • Marksman232

      thank you to everyone that shared your experience. My credit is so screwed that I was looking into western sky for a loan knowing ahead of time that the interest rates would be outrageous. But now Im gonna figure out another way to get by for now. No I’m gonna pay out my rear and deal with rude behavior on top of it

    • S Chambers075

      no they can not call your employer that is harrassment

  • Sakerocks

    It is sad the government allows this, it is really really sad.

    • Zstud50

      Sad??? The government loves it when they get tax revenue. And they get plenty of tax revenue from these places.  Avoid pay day loan companies they are ALL rip offs…….

      • rosie

        They are huge ripoffs! I may unfortunately have no choice but too take a loan from WS. My husband was very ill & off work for a year, so I had to resort to payday loans-6 of them!! stupid I know, but I had no other way out. I’m now paying 1200.00 A MONTH in finance charges. Every payday, I have to pay the finance charges & reloan because I can’t pay them off & I see no other way out. So, they’re 2600. loan for the 47 mos @294. a month is like 13,000. total-but I’m paying 14,000 a year right now for nothing & no way to pay them off & get out from under.  The 2600. will pay them all off & with the 900.00 a month I’m saving, I can pay WS off quicker. I have horrible credit & can’t get a loan anywhere so I have to jump from one bunch of loan sharks to another-but 294. a month with an end in sight beats 1200. a month with no end in sight. They prey on people like me who really have NO other choice.

      • g2bless

        Your articule touched me because I have felt like I had no options.  I was using payday loans and finally I scaled way back.  I turned off my home phone and maintained my cell phone.  I cut off cable/Direct TV and I cancelled every luxury item until my salary can support me and that worked.  It is hard when we feel forced to throw money away to loan sharks and never get head.  I believe there are other choices, but they are more difficult to make and they change our lifestyles for a little while.

  • Fargolady17
  • Garygmcdowell1

    predatory lender

    • Lene

      DO NOT APPLY TO WESTERN SKY
      FINANCIAL- I had no problems with customer service and communicating
      with the employees.  They did respond to my
      communications promptly.  I borrowed
      $2500 and I paid a fee but I can’t remember the amount, but my payments equaled
      $294.00 monthly and the interest rate was calculated daily at a rate of
      139.14%.  I paid $2940.00 over a 10 month
      period.  My intention was to pay them off
      quickly.  That’s what the rep told me
      when I got the loan to pay it off as quickly as possible.  But things happen.  I was diagnosed with an illness and have been
      off from work and my income dropped.  I
      tried to negotiate a payoff and offered 1500.00 toward my pay off balance which
      was greater than the loan I received initially. 
      The total pay off 10 months later with my making my payments on time was
      $2606.00.  I increased the payoff offer to
      2000.00 and requested a settlement with the 606.00 being removed.  They came back with a counter offer of
      2500.00.  It didn’t matter I paid them on
      time each month, or was offering the bulk of pay off amount they refused
      it.  I was so stupid to get this
      loan.  PLEASE ANYONE OUT THERE READING
      THIS EMAIL DON’T
      GET THIS LOAN.  WHAT EVERY YOU
      ARE GOING THRU, TRY WORKING WITH YOUR CREDITORS OR GETTING A LOAN FROM A LEGIT
      COMPANY OF FAMILY MEMBER.  THIS TYPE OF
      LOAN WILL ONLY GET YOU DEEPER IN THE HOLE. 
      When I took out this loan I didn’t really need it but you never know
      what will happen.  This experience taught
      me a very important COSTLY lesson.    

  • Wb

    I was told by one of their reps a $2600.00 loan paid over 48 months at $294.00 per month equals $14,112.00.  How stupid are we palefaces’?

    • Lipspa

      Mine was the same. Unfortunately I didnt read this until now. I been in a debt consolidation program for months now.

    • Mrjabbow

      Western sky not only do they rip you off with  crazy interest rates but there Accomplice Cashcall is apart of there rip off scheme.We did a loan for $2600.00 which were given $2525.00 less the fees after decideing not to keep the loan we paid it back the next day
      Cashcall charged us $20.00 wire fee .so it cost us $95.00 for nothing. As the wise man said screw me once shame on you .Screw me twice shame on me.i have to aggree with you Jimbowen66 get there money use some of it to file chapter 7 and enjoy the rest of the money.

  • WS III

     i wish i would have read all of these post  before i got trapped into their scam i’m on social security because of a major heart attack and severe stroke  was living in florida at the time i only needed a small loan because i had my 2 young daughters for the summer and had limited funds i was looking for about $300 they decided to give me a $1000 loan i did not want or need on top of that they made it $1500 because $500 was being taking out right off the bat for a loan fee then they expect me to pay back over $4000 at $167  a month i moved back to jersey to be closer to my kids , they kept withdrawing from my bank account and they would with drawl early at times and my check was not deposited yet which started to get to be to much on over draft fees  i  let this go on for  7 months now my medicals bills are getting higher i have to pay them this is how i am still alive so i cancelled that bank account it’s not worth it now somehow they got my new number and will not stop harassing  me i answered and try to explain my situation an they where rude and told me to borrow it from someone else or sell something but i have nothing so i just hit off button on phone everytime a number comes up i don’t know or a unknown number if it is an important call they can leave a message what a nightmare they need to be shut down.

    • Dbrooks852

      I just got some information I would like to give to you.  An earlier posting had this information. “Western Sky can not claim tribal immunity nor can CashCall force anyone to pay.  Check out US 4th District Court, Western Sky vs.Maryland.  This case applies to all 50 states provided your states financial regulations offer you protection against this type of business. Also FTC vs. Western Sky.  Check them out. We are dealing with someone who used our information and got a loan and we just found out about it.  Our lawyer will be looking into this.  Also check out the area law colleges.  Our here have free legal help for veterans.  We are in Phoenix, AZ

    • Jimbowen66

      File Chapter 7 bankruptcy and rebuild your credit. It will get them off your back!

    • George

      WS III,
           Just do not pay them. I am in the same situation as you. I found out that they can NOT garnish Social Security or any VA benefits.They can threaten all that they want. I would pay them only the amount that you borrowed. After that, I would stop. They can send it to a third party collection agency but, they can NOT garnish Social Security.They can take you to court,maybe, but the judge will ask how much can you afford to pay. Tell him $5.00 or $10.00 a month. Which is the truth.That will stop the calls. Or call Care One. They will consolidate all of you bills and you make one monthly payment to them. They will contact all of your creditors and you tell them how much you can afford to pay . Like instead of $100.00/month pay $25.00/month.Your phone will stop ringing and you will be able to live more comfortably. Care One 1-800-498-1134. They turn no one down. You may pay about $4.00/payment. That is all.There is no loans made.

  • starrynight

    I am curious here, do people not read or listen???? We see the commercials tons of times a day and can’t believe that people are willing to call and deal with them. Can anyone tell me why you think borrowing from them will be good? You have to know that you can’t pay it back. 

  • Kessygirl1523

    ok… go to western sky’s official website. it states that for a loan of 5075 dollars that the APR is at 116.73%. To take that loan you have to pay 84 payments of 486.53. Do the math…40,868.42. So you borrow 5075 and pay them 40868.52. Does that sound like a good financial decision?

    • http://profile.yahoo.com/OY66MQJ6PQTDEBNXZRKQORON7Q carmelchef411

      hell no

  • Westillhavemoregunsthanindians

    The poll needs another option to “yes” or “no”.  I want to vote “FUCK NO!!!”

  • Kitten Kiss

    I actually got a loan from Western Sky, you need to read their advertisement carefully, they say it is owned by an Native American and that they work in the exterior of the Souix Nation. This is not bound by any treaty we have with them. Also, I have never ever had any problem with them, they asked for a copy of my information that I would have had to produce for any loan, have talked to them on the phone and everyone was very pleasant. I think we read only about bad experiences. Not the good, I would borrow from them again.

    • Spiritswain

      Obviously the last poster works for Western Sky or she is completely nuts.  Pay back 40,000 dollars on a 5,000 loan?  SERIOUSLY, ARE YOU KIDDING ME?  This is loansharking pure and simple. 

    • Lene

      Kitten Kiss, the only way anyone could be satisfied with this type of loan is because they don’t understand finance and can not get money from anywhere else. If you deal with companies like this you will never see any money growth.  When you pay this loan off, I hope it will improve your credit and if you have to get another loan look for people who will give you the lowest interest rate on a loan.  

    • Hittman306

      You must like paying 130% interest for no reason so go ahead and be that dumb again 

    • Sliderule

      Kitten K. is the only intelligent person I’ve read here!   Is this loan bad for most situations?  Yes, of course it is!   – But for very specific situations where you need it quickly and are CERTAIN you can pay back quickly – it CAN be a useful product.   But you have to have the intelligence to analyze and decide if it’s right for you.   (And I’m fairly certain no one who had responded to this post falls into that category.)   I have called Western Sky – and they were very courteous and actually tried to talk me out of the loan!    Only consider this if you can pay it off in just a few months – but if you are certain of income in a few months & want this for urgent immediate needs – it could be OK

      • http://profile.yahoo.com/OY66MQJ6PQTDEBNXZRKQORON7Q carmelchef411

        Are you kitten kiss’s sibling or spouse or any relation?  i am in very desperate need of a loan but i have not heard and positive experience with them yet.

      • Talex0815

        I have to agree.  I applied and spoke to on the phone and they were very courteous.  They told me how much I would be paying back and I said no, but there is no pre-payment penalty.  I also agree that it’s for certain situations and you can pay back quickly.

      • arnoldripkin

        Many years ago I knew a man who loaned money to small time drug dealers at 25-50% from Friday ’till Monday.  WS is a good deal compared to that.

      • michelle

        Look I dont understand nor do I get people like you just because something may have worked for you,this Kitten K.person,and a handful and I do mean a handful of other people should not give you the right to think that you can just sit up here and say that her comment is the only intelligent comment that you have read on here because just like you everyone has a right to what and how they may feel about whatever and because you may not agree with it does not make their comments less intelligent,idiots,morons!It makes them the same as you human and just looking for help out of whatever situtation they maybe in at that time..So why people like you who seem to think they can do no wrong,or make no mistakes because they have all the answers sit their and judge and make stupid ass comments like the one you just made and then turn around and call other people comments not intelligent should really look at what comes out of their face and then see that them them selves are not as intelligent as they may think!

      • tambo008

        Thank you Michelle. It really seems as if the good comments could have been from employees or relatives of Westen Sky. They probably got a bonus for giving a reply.

    • Razzyroc411

      are you an employee of WS because all i have heard is negative posts about western sky and out of what 22 posts i have read already, your one positive.  yeah okay pick another dummy to sell that too.

    • Dcwaterman

      I am nervous! I desperately need money to tie us over for the next 8 weeks. This could really help me! Please email me with your experience. I need info…fast. I already applied and they need additional info, I get nervous, they have alot of personal stuff of mine.

      • http://GetOutOfDebt.org Steve Rhode

        If you are taking out a loan because you will not have the money in a week or two to pay back the loan plus all the additional fees, that’s a recipe for disaster.

      • Stephan

        This is a good point to all you borrowers out there.

  • Shalo2k7

    Just like others I was about to give WS a call for some help, but after reading the comments and reading the comment that said ‘no matter how desperate do not use WS’..as desperate as I feel I’m doing what one other said which is to leave it to God!

  • NickiRedd

    OMG, we’re in dire straits, but don’t need money this bad!  Thank you for posting your comments and preventing me from winding up in a big mess.  Sorry for all of you who are mixed up with these crooks.

  • Triple555soul

    I applied for Loan with western skies but was denied but i had given them my personal information work phone number, SSN # ect.. they now have that information it is again the law for them to use that information to contact my place of business and use my SSN # ?? im hoping since i was denied i just wont be bothered with any of this nonsense please advise?

  • Disgusted

    I wish that my husband would have read these posts a month ago. He was a sucker and took out a loan with Western Sky/Cash CAll.  I could just scream. The going interest rate for this bunch of scam artist is 139.14% for 47 months but they still reply that they are not pay day lenders.  I  have written letters to the BBB, Consumer Protection Agency and the Ohio Attorney General’s office.I hope someone sues them and shuts the crooks down. I am wondering, if I can prove that my husband was  mentally ill at the time he took out this loan   could I have it voided? Just a thought!!!

    • Pat Lee

      Thank you to all of you. I did not read not one positive thing about Western Sky. I too had seen the tv commercial and was seriously considering applying for a loan through them. Thank God, I searched for reviews about this company. Thank you for saving my ass.

  • Derelictinmd

    What an f’n rip-off organization, I’d rather sell my ass on the street than borrow money from these a-holes and I have Native American blood in my veins!!  Even in the Marine Corps, we “only charged” 100% interest due next payday….Worst mistake you’ll ever make if you take out a loan from this company….Good Luck and OOH-RAH!!  BTW: God bless Ira Hayes…Semper Fi

    • Tracyshalit

      Thanks to all of you…had my cell out to call western to get a loan…HA!!
      just deleted their number out of my cell. sounds like to would have been
      a huge mistake…..
      Thanks

  • Snoopyslimbreezy

    wow i was thinking about taking a loan with these guys but im happy i like to research things first,now i have to find another option smh

  • guest

    I recieved this letter from “Western Sky” telling me about how easy it would be to apply for a loan and help me rebuild my credit after bankruptcy. How they got my information, I don’t know. Regardless, I figured they could help me with rebuilding my credit it would be a good thing. For a month they had me running around sending bank statements, paystubs all to get turned down at the end. When I asked the rep about speaking to a supervisor he was conveniently gone for the day. They say everything happens for a reason, perhaps this was a blessing in disguise. I would NOT recommend this company to anyone regardless of how desperate you are

  • guest

    I recieved this letter from “Western Sky” telling me about how easy it would be to apply for a loan and help me rebuild my credit after bankruptcy. How they got my information, I don’t know. Regardless, I figured they could help me with rebuilding my credit it would be a good thing. For a month they had me running around sending bank statements, paystubs all to get turned down at the end. When I asked the rep about speaking to a supervisor he was conveniently gone for the day. They say everything happens for a reason, perhaps this was a blessing in disguise. I would NOT recommend this company to anyone regardless of how desperate you are

  • Ryargus

    Western Sky can not claim tribal immunity nor can CashCall force anyone to pay. check out US 4th
    District Court Western Sky vs Maryland. This case applies to all 50 states provided your states financial regulations offer you protection against this type of business. Also FTC vs Western Sky.    

  • Ripped off

    I needed a little help, and took the chance with
    Western Sky – BIG MISTAKE.  The millisecond
    they got the loan they sold it to a Mafia want -to-be outfit called CashCall.   These princes do not comprehend the word involuntarily
    unemployed.  They are rude, abusive, and
    nasty and demand that you find someone – ANYONE
    to borrow the money from.  They expect
    you to forgo rent, car payment to pay them first, and then charge you up to
    $40/month for the privilege of siphoning money out of your account.  AVOID WESTERN SKY AND CASH CALL!

    • http://pulse.yahoo.com/_CVFXNRH5G4KFAIUFUU4I2NK5OU Jo Steck

      Thanks for sharing, I was totally blown away by the rates. No disrespect, I don’t mean to beat you up any more than you obviously  are but … How anyone can actually GET A LOAN WITH THESE RATES. I couldn’t sleep at night just out of the fear of what these guys would do to my kneecaps if I am late or default altogether. Common sense should tell anyone just to laugh at the ads, calculate the payments for their own entertainment and thank God he gave me enough sense to know no one needs cash THAT BADLY.

  • Ripped off

    I needed a little help, and took the chance with
    Western Sky – BIG MISTAKE.  The millisecond
    they got the loan they sold it to a Mafia want -to-be outfit called CashCall.   These princes do not comprehend the word involuntarily
    unemployed.  They are rude, abusive, and
    nasty and demand that you find someone – ANYONE
    to borrow the money from.  They expect
    you to forgo rent, car payment to pay them first, and then charge you up to
    $40/month for the privilege of siphoning money out of your account.  AVOID WESTERN SKY AND CASH CALL!

  • Riley Rooney

    WHAT?? how can you like this company.  Hard working citizens of this country and trying to get out of dept and this company offers terrible loans.  $5,000 Loan with a $75 loan fee,116.73% interest rate, 84 payements at $486.58 = $40,872.72 that’s just terrible. 

    • Louisa White7

      Riley you are right that’s what they told me as well. I told them there is no way I’m going to pay that much interest anywhere! The lady who took my loan application called me at least
      7 times. She told me that my application is good for 30 days. I’m just going to let it expire; I have 3 days left. I was approved for a loan the same day with low rates by another lender. Please take everyone advice; unless you have money to throw away.

      • Razzyroc411

        Hello louisa. may i ask where you were approved?  i am looking as well but once i read all these reviews, im on the “HELL NO” side. can you help a sista out.
        razzyroc411

    • Cdpjr28

      Thank you, i just seen the commercial and i could not believe i seen that.  $486.58 for 84 months, really?  How can they get away with that?  $40,000 for a $5,000 loan, this is crazy as hell. 

      • arnoldripkin

        At 135% interest, a $5000 loan would have added $562.50 to the principal in the first month.  Can’t see how $487 per month ever pays off this loan.

    • Billy241

      They should be shot with shit and then shot for stinking.

    • Hittman306

      it was proably 1 of the employs posting they like it

    • Hittman306

      They get away with this because they work off an Indian Rez and its a nation of its own so US laws dont mean much to them they r jus trying to rip as many off as possible

      • King86

        XCUSE ME SIR WE INDIANS AND LIVING ON THE REZ STILL HAVE TO ABIED BY U.S LAWS AS WELL!!! DONT MAKE THIS A RACE ISSUE!!!!!! THEY HAVE BAD CS AND BAD BS IM INDIAN AND SMART ENOUGH NOT TO APPLY IN THE FIRST PLACE!!!!!
         

      • http://www.facebook.com/Night.Zamora Nyte Zamora

        Actually it is different on the rez and if you truly were a real Native American then you would know WE do not call ourselves such because WE are not from India as Columbus thought we were! Indians are from INDIA, Native Americans are well…it should be self explanatory so get your facts straight and stop embarrassing my fellow brothers and sisters..and people please do STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE and please dont see all of us Natives as assholes like Western Sky is… Trust in God He will help you.

      • Thea499

        u get free $$$$$

      • Srhrhrth

        Your poor spelling, grammar, and all caps hurts my eyes. I don’t take people like you seriously.

    • Jo2smom

      Don’t be an idiot and pay it off soon. There atleast there if someone really needs the help. There taking there chances to.

      • Suzycreamcheese

        cant read your post   there, there, there, there???  do you mean “their”??

      • S Chambers075

        Really? that is your post? bitch.

  • 3rdbutler

    I was in need of some quick cash to help my daughter replace her car.  I made the mistake of contacting a number of “payday” loan companies online, including Western Sky.  I wanted $1000 to be paid, hopefully over a period of 90 days.  Western Sky called saying I had been pre-approved’ and said my best bet was to get their “special” $2500 loan for the best interest rates.  I told the guy I would think about it.  That same day, he called me again.  I told him that I really didn’t need $2500, so perhaps we should forget the whole thing.  The next day, he called several times, leaving me messages.  I finally called him back and told him that I had found a more conventional loan source elsewhere.  I thanked him for his time, and told him that I would not need his services AT ALL, and to please disregard the whole application.  A week later, I got a letter saying that I had been “turned down” for my loan – they had gone ahead, out of spite, and run everything through every credet agency, which resulted in lowering my credit score.  These people are the worst….don’t even do an inquiry with them!!  They will try to ruin you even if you don’t use their services!!!

  • 3rdbutler

    I was in need of some quick cash to help my daughter replace her car.  I made the mistake of contacting a number of “payday” loan companies online, including Western Sky.  I wanted $1000 to be paid, hopefully over a period of 90 days.  Western Sky called saying I had been pre-approved’ and said my best bet was to get their “special” $2500 loan for the best interest rates.  I told the guy I would think about it.  That same day, he called me again.  I told him that I really didn’t need $2500, so perhaps we should forget the whole thing.  The next day, he called several times, leaving me messages.  I finally called him back and told him that I had found a more conventional loan source elsewhere.  I thanked him for his time, and told him that I would not need his services AT ALL, and to please disregard the whole application.  A week later, I got a letter saying that I had been “turned down” for my loan – they had gone ahead, out of spite, and run everything through every credet agency, which resulted in lowering my credit score.  These people are the worst….don’t even do an inquiry with them!!  They will try to ruin you even if you don’t use their services!!! 

    • Msalians76

      They did the same thing to me when I told them I wasn’t interested. I told 3 different people to cancel my application and they ran it and sent me a letter of denial. Don’t use this company! Very unprofessional attitudes and employees.

      • Princessaragon21

        I am looking for a loan to consolidate some debt I currently have and I was considering Western Sky, but after reading many lf their reviews I am stuck after being confident this was my way out! What would you all suggest for a small loan as well where to go, please dont say pay day loans cause I have two already which is why I am looking for another option so I only in the end have one payement, please help!!!!

        Michelle

      • Laurellango

        Michelle first pray and ask God to help u with any situations that u are facing…then give Him thanks in all that He has and will give to u. Please if anything follow ur heart…if u have any doubt then more than likely its not a good descion. The sad thing about these loan companies is that u end up deeper in debt. Go to ur bank and ask someone their about consolidating ur bills…they are more likely 2 refer u and keep surfing the net…but above please pray first and sit back and relax and watch how God will pour out His blessings. Be blessed.

      • Shalo2k7

        well said

      • Sshshek

        You’re a moron

      • Hittman306

        usually people who call someone a moron is speaking from the experience of being 1

      • michelle

        U know what some people just dont know what to come out their face with ur a moron..just bc u choose to do whatever it is that  do and Laurellango chooses to encourage people does not make her a”moron” as u put it!But I do know what ur comment makes u look me up and I’ll tell u um in the the yellow pages under giving results for stupid ass people with stupid ass comments try it out!

      • Pokerh8r

        Keep that crap to yourself. That answer is sure gonna help someone that is obviously in a jam…moron

      • Thea499

        only morons have time to answer these.

      • callen

         Praise the Lord becaue he will pour out abundance of blessings to us if we keep the Faith and Trust in Him with all things wonderful message LAURELLANGO  God bless you

      • Koolrose

         Amen… God is our source and will supply all of our needs including giving us favor with our creditors. I am so glad that I took the time to research this company. They are just another legal loan-shark who will probably get us deeper in debt. So yes I agree with you 100%. Thanks for reminding me of where to go for help. I am so sorry for those who may not understand. If you do not agree with what is written, you do not have to post a rude comment. Just let this one slip by you… Thanks again!!!
         

      • wellsaid

        Ask a god?  You’re a complete idiot stuck in a superstitious world of days gone by.

      • Jldsouthernyank

         you my dear are the complete idiot to think there is no God.

      • michelle

        U know what um lovin these commments that people like u are givin back for real because its nothing better than to sometimes get on the same level as “idiots” as u put it like urself!Just because u choose not to agree with something shouldnt make it ok for u to come out ur face the way u did bc someone else chooses to believe and encourage others in times like these that we are living in..sometimes somethings are better left unsaid instead of wellsaid and for “idiots like u and Ssssshek or whatever ur comments should never be said but thank God he gave  us common sense,understanding and compassion to over look “idiots” who think that they created and control what happends in this world and their lives by themselves!
        U dont like it look me up like I told everybody else um in the yellow pages under dis aint what u lookin for…hit me up!

      • luisa

        sad  God is there and does help God gives you the tools to get through dfifficult times  You sound bitter calling others names because you disagree with them  no one who disagrees with you is calling you names  unnecessary and diminishes your credibility  

      • crazydays

        Wow so sad that you think that way.  This is whats wrong with the world no need to call anyone names or down beliefs.  God does and will help ones that come to him.  Sorry you feel that way hope you will find kindness in your heart instead of being so ugly. Just want to add this has helped me and I’m so glad I read this before filling out an application.

      • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000985534082 Elizabeth Aspen

        @Jldsouthernyank:  Guess what – us reasonable, intelligent, critical thinking people don’t believe that there is some imaginary man in the sky running the show, like YOU religious nuts do. YOU are the idiot. And by the way, the burden of proof is on you, not us, so when you can prove there’s a god, you’ll be taken seriously. We, on the other hand, can prove through science that there is no such thing.

      • http://www.facebook.com/xdeputy101 Ray D

        Imaginary? Hmmm lets analyze this. An imaginary man . The sky. Have you ever looked around you? Simple things that are taken for granted everyday give a big Indicator there is a god. How do you think you have the ability to taste, see, feel emotions, think, reheal yourself etc. Do you think that just happend with a bang? ” the great explosion” think again my friends. To many things point to a creature. God is real. Im not a fanatic but after much research he is real!

      • lilmamakim

        Now whos the idiot??? Science does NOT prove there is no God. I have spoken to many many athiests, and they admit that much.

      • http://MURDERCLUBCHICAGO.BLOGSPOT.COM MURDER CLUB

        Science doesn’t have to disprove a god because you cant prove that there is one. Therefore there is nothing to disprove. God is an illusion and opiate for the weak.

      • tambo008

        I hope I am not standing any where close to you on judgement day.

        Be careful at the end you never know whose name you will call upon.

      • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000985534082 Elizabeth Aspen

        Oh, please, with the God crapola. Quit forcing your beliefs on other people!

      • tambo008

        Nobody is forcing you, maybe you need to take a good look in the mirror, you might see some crap or better yet look up the meaning of force.

      • lilmamakim

        Uh…ditto lil girl! YOU started that nonsense.

      • juswondering

        Pull it together people , we are not the enemies, these loan companies are. We need to stick together on this..

      • noneyadang

        how did this all get to this point i thought this was about a loan company doing the wrong thing, now its a battle of a God or not a God. To each their own but can we get back to the subject at hand?? Sorry just sayn….Oh and I do very much believe in God.

      • Cami

        This isnt about god.

      • Star

        I so need to read this Laurellango. A year later and your response is still powerful. Thank you

      • Praizangel

         Michelle, if you just want to consolidate some debt I suggest you contact careone credit, they will work with your creditors to lower the interest rates, and give you one easy monthly payment. I did this about 3 years ago, I am almost out of debt now and it didn’t even hurt my credit score. I was recently able to buy a car no problem. Getting into debt management is much better than getting taken buy a loan shark like western sky. I’m shocked they are doing this. I myself am a  Native American and am disgusted by this! -Patty

      • Pleiadian

        Praizangel,
          I too am using CareOne. I am now on my 6th payment after a consolidation. I have nothing but praise for them. I still have 23 payments left and I will be out of debt. They were very friendly and concerned. They contacted all of my creditors and aranged for a certain amount a month, much lower than the usual payment. I send them one payment a month and they disperse it among my creditors. I can now put money in the bank in a savings account, now that is a first. My phone has not rung in 6 months. Care One is a God send.

                                            Happy

    • Anglicostl

      yes they did the very same thing to me.it was like they where mad at you for not takeing there money.

  • larry2012

    As Marshall Mcluhan pointed out, “The medium is the message.” Consider that just about everything you see on TV, including the evening news and especially the weather, is either a half-truth or an out-and-out lie. Virtually every claim you see in a TV, or radio, or even in print ads is nothing more than overblown hype cleverly disguised behind a mask of veracity. Advertisers like any other salespersons, will tell you anything to get you to spend your money on their over-hyped products. None of them give a hoot that they are cheating you or anyone else as long as they get their money.

    The reason few are investigated and even fewer indicted and prosecuted and put in jail (or deported) where they belong, is that they are careful to PAY THE TAXES their product(s) generates. The smart ones learned this from one Alphonse “Al” Capone who got away with murder, extortion, bribery and just about every major crime on the books, but fell to the IRS for non-payment of income taxes. (More in another installment about how the IRS is the modern day equivalent of the German gestapo.)

    These current day criminals aren’t worried at all about getting busted because when enough outraged customers complain of getting ripped off and it looks like legal action is forthcoming, they simply file for bankruptcy, then move to another state. They then find a new piece of garbage product, set up a new company with a new business license, file a new DBA, and open up shop again. They do this over and over and over. (We won’t even discuss where a lot of that dirty money goes.)

    Understand that complaining to the BBB, the FTC, the FCC. the FBI or that state’s Department of Consumer Affairs, or any other consumer “protection” agency is a waste of time. In the first place there simply aren’t enough agents to handle all the complaints, so they judge any potential action they may take based on the number of complaints they receive from John Q. Secondly, I suspect that any indictment/prosecution of these dirtballs depends on just how much revenue is generated for the state or the federal government. I think that may include bribes.

    I have to admit that I’m only speculating on how this all works but I’m not far from wrong. I’ve been burned so many times, my fanny is now covered with asbestos and I don’t like to see others get sucked in by false claims about crappy merchandise or bad service after the sale. For what it’s worth, here are a few hard-learned guidelines:

    1. Never buy anything that proudly displays the, “As Seen On TV” logo. The percentage of items that work as advertised is so low that the hassles to remedy any problems just isn’t worth it.

    2. Use your computer to search for the experience of others with whatever it is you’re looking to buy. I do a couple of searches, one of which is, “[Insert product or service here] is a scam” and look at the results. If you are buying something from an online vendor, check out http://www.resellerratings.com, and put any suspect vendors into their search engine. They’ve saved me a LOT of aggravation and money.

    3. Don’t buy anything on impulse or the first item you find. Keep shopping then come back if the price is the best. (I have always found that buying either the cheapest or the most expensive of items is rarely a bargain. Stay the middle course for the best values.)

    4. Ask your friends and acquaintances if they have had any experience with the product/services in which you are interested. You don’t have to take their advice, but you should at least listen.

    5. The most important tip of all is to TRUST YOUR INSTINCTS and use COMMON SENSE. If the deal sounds too good to be true, then it is. Period.

    Sorry to have gone on so long, I just hope this helps you avoid the unpleasant and frustrating experience of getting ripped off by unscrupulous marketers.

    Remain vigilant.

  • Anonymous

    As Marshall Mcluhan pointed out, “The medium is the message.” Consider that just about everything you see on TV, including the evening news and especially the weather, is either a half-truth or an out-and-out lie. Virtually every claim you see in a TV, or radio, or even in print ads is nothing more than overblown hype cleverly disguised behind a mask of veracity. Advertisers like any other salespersons, will tell you anything to get you to spend your money on their over-hyped products. None of them give a hoot that they are cheating you or anyone else as long as they get their money.

    The reason few are investigated and even fewer indicted and prosecuted and put in jail (or deported) where they belong, is that they are careful to PAY THE TAXES their product(s) generates. The smart ones learned this from one Alphonse “Al” Capone who got away with murder, extortion, bribery and just about every major crime on the books, but fell to the IRS for non-payment of income taxes. (More in another installment about how the IRS is the modern day equivalent of the German gestapo.)

    These current day criminals aren’t worried at all about getting busted because when enough outraged customers complain of getting ripped off and it looks like legal action is forthcoming, they simply file for bankruptcy, then move to another state. They then find a new piece of garbage product, set up a new company with a new business license, file a new DBA, and open up shop again. They do this over and over and over. (We won’t even discuss where a lot of that dirty money goes.)

    Understand that complaining to the BBB, the FTC, the FCC. the FBI or that state’s Department of Consumer Affairs, or any other consumer “protection” agency is a waste of time. In the first place there simply aren’t enough agents to handle all the complaints, so they judge any potential action they may take based on the number of complaints they receive from John Q. Secondly, I suspect that any indictment/prosecution of these dirtballs depends on just how much revenue is generated for the state or the federal government. I think that may include bribes.

    I have to admit that I’m only speculating on how this all works but I’m not far from wrong. I’ve been burned so many times, my fanny is now covered with asbestos and I don’t like to see others get sucked in by false claims about crappy merchandise or bad service after the sale. For what it’s worth, here are a few hard-learned guidelines:

    1. Never buy anything that proudly displays the, “As Seen On TV” logo. The percentage of items that work as advertised is so low that the hassles to remedy any problems just isn’t worth it.

    2. Use your computer to search for the experience of others with whatever it is you’re looking to buy. I do a couple of searches, one of which is, “[Insert product or service here] is a scam” and look at the results. If you are buying something from an online vendor, check out http://www.resellerratings.com, and put any suspect vendors into their search engine. They’ve saved me a LOT of aggravation and money.

    3. Don’t buy anything on impulse or the first item you find. Keep shopping then come back if the price is the best. (I have always found that buying either the cheapest or the most expensive of items is rarely a bargain. Stay the middle course for the best values.)

    4. Ask your friends and acquaintances if they have had any experience with the product/services in which you are interested. You don’t have to take their advice, but you should at least listen.

    5. The most important tip of all is to TRUST YOUR INSTINCTS and use COMMON SENSE. If the deal sounds too good to be true, then it is. Period.

    Sorry to have gone on so long, I just hope this helps you avoid the unpleasant and frustrating experience of getting ripped off by unscrupulous marketers.

    Remain vigilant.

    • Poorasdirt

      All good advice, but there are suckers, and idiots, born every minute of every day. Not to mention the poor unfortunates that for one reason or another must have cash right now……shame…..but just keep in mind, you are dealing with what is essentially a ‘foreign nation’ without our own borders when it comes to legal responsibilties…..in other words. your pretty much SOL.

      • http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000985534082 Elizabeth Aspen

        Well, to be honest, WE are actually the “foreign nation” within THEIR borders, seeing as how we stole the place from them in the first place.

        Western Sky are a bunch of criminals, for sure, but gotta say, they sure got creative about sticking it to The Man!

      • Richie

         It shouldn’t be about sticking it to anybody. You provide a service to help people, that’s fine, but not rape them and leave them worse off than when they started.  Us? Them! Doesn’t matter.  Humankind shouldn’t do this to one another.  I’m Alaskan Indian.  I should be upset at selling our gold-filled land for a meer 100 blankets, but I’m not.  It has nothing to do with pride.  I’m a proud Native American.  It has everything to do with doing what is right.  From much of what I’ve read, this is not a good deal.  I can’t imagine anyone truly “benefiting” from one such as this

      • juswondering

        awesome response brotha.. For humankind is absolutlely right .. 

      • Anglicostl

        not just the man

      • Chris Pipes

        Hilarious! Sticking it to the man by screwing the poor people. This is just capitalism run amok

    • Bill

      Western Sky don’t have to close up shop and move or change their name. They do not answer to state of federal laws. Western Sky operates in a fully sovereign Native American nation and can get away with any illegal scam like this that they please because there are no predatory lending laws to stop them. The IRS can’t do one thing to stop this. People just need to try not to be morons!

      • michelle

        Look to be rude but may be the morons your refering to is your self please dont get it twisted,sir!Because everybody and Im sure yourself included can use someone’s help at some point in time and because people decided to take a chance on what they thought was a good idea at that time doesnt make them as you say”morons”!It makes them human and trying to handle their business just in case no one told you so maybe you should watch how you put things out their instead of judging  just because you feel that you can how about being a lil compassionate for what people maybe going through, because honestly comments like yours doesnt help nor hurt anybody let me put that out their …and if you have a problem with that look me up Im in the yellow pages under never scared believe that!

      • Jpawlow09

        First of all, there are so many grammatical errors in your post I want to scream.  Second of all, im sorry but if you dont know enough to read the fine print on something as significant as this, then yes, you are a moron.  And seeing as you’re defending the morons and western sky, I see you’ve taken a chance on them.

      • yqBM7ks

        I think he means not to be a moron by experiences. Bet a lot of people calls themselves a moron when made a stupid choice. Everyone has money issues time to time but you learn not to let desperation,pride and eager runs you into a horrid situation. Not having money at hand at the money feels like hell but it surely is better being in a huge debt with a company you can not speak to a person face to face and resolves. You gotta face, in some times it is hard to, that problems will comes and goes. If you are not qualify for a bank loan and you can’t make it now then stay broke and earn a way out. The commercial stated if you earn at least 1100 a month you can get a loan up to 10,000. How? How you are going to pay that back along with your monthly expenses? Use your head unless being called ‘moron’ is the least of attacks. you know?

  • Blazetucson

    My boyfriend and I saw the commercial, and thought the rates on the $2,000 loan were not that bad, with only a $75 fee.
    My boyfriend gets VA Disability, and SSI every month, so we are not desperate for the money, we just wanted to consolidate some bills after an expensive move, having to get a washer and dryer, and bed.
    So, we apply for a loan with Western Sky, this was one of THE biggest mistakes we have ever made.
    The representatives were all EXTREMELY rude, they kept having us jump through hoops like a circus clown, saying they needed this, that, and the other thing, instead of being upfront about everything they needed-they may be upfront with their fees but they are NOT upfront with the requirements.
    We tried to speak to a supervisor multiple times, we were hung up on multiple times,even after we told TWO reps. to cancel our application, they still pursued us, avoid this place like the PLAGUE! The do not deserve ANYONE’S business the way they treat people!

  • Blazetucson

    My boyfriend and I saw the commercial, and thought the rates on the $2,000 loan were not that bad, with only a $75 fee.
    My boyfriend gets VA Disability, and SSI every month, so we are not desperate for the money, we just wanted to consolidate some bills after an expensive move, having to get a washer and dryer, and bed.
    So, we apply for a loan with Western Sky, this was one of THE biggest mistakes we have ever made.
    The representatives were all EXTREMELY rude, they kept having us jump through hoops like a circus clown, saying they needed this, that, and the other thing, instead of being upfront about everything they needed-they may be upfront with their fees but they are NOT upfront with the requirements.
    We tried to speak to a supervisor multiple times, we were hung up on multiple times,even after we told TWO reps. to cancel our application, they still pursued us, avoid this place like the PLAGUE! The do not deserve ANYONE’S business the way they treat people!

    • Stevei

       I have seen several of their commercials, so I wanted to look them up. I can’t believe that they are allowed to get away with this. Thankfully, they have been banned in some states. Blazetucsun mentioned how rude they are. They obviously don’t care about the customer other than the money they will make off of him or her.

      I hope they get shut down completely.

    • patricia Brooks

      I Patricia Brooks just loved the article about this company. They are vultures and criminals just out to hurt and destroy decent and hard working people like you and I and many others in really tough situations.  People like that should be crucified.  

    • Sailgirl25

      I knew from the commercials they were a scam, at first the Indian looking woman came on like she was doing you a big favor, but they are making money not you, then she said, ” …sure we’re expensive…” it was so demeaning that I thought to myself, wow if someone goes there they will get scre***.  Sounds like you were wise, and didn’t get a loan through them.  I also noticed she changed her wording in the commercials, thus someone other than myself must have complained.  I didn’t and don’t need a loan, but I know people who can use the help and don’t have the credit to get money (another scam, credit scores ), so I watch out for them and try to find alternative ways, ie through their Church etc…hope I helped a bit.

  • Armanefendi

    if you want to get more about western sky personal loan ??? you can visit http://loan-lenders.org/2010/1… thx

Get My FREE Get Out of Debt Guy Newsletter

It is the smart thing to do.

I promise to keep your email safe and secure.

Close

I want to keep you posted each weekday with just one email about the latest get out of debt news, scam alerts and information to beat back debt.

You can unsubscribe at any time with just one click.

After you subscribe, check your email to confirm your subscription. If the confirmation email does not appear in your inbox in a few minutes, check your spam folder for it. Sometimes it likes to annoyingly hide there.


  • It will keep you posted on the latest scams.
  • You will be alerted to the latest articles.
  • You will wind up smarter than everyone else dealing with debt.