Latest Posts
Home > Scam Reporter > Universal Fidelity, LP – Consumer Complaint – 1-24-2012

Universal Fidelity, LP – Consumer Complaint – 1-24-2012

Date This Problem Happened: January 23, 2012

State You Live in: Colorado

Race/Ethnicity:

Age Range: 36-50

Total Amount of Fee Paid:

Company Name: Universal Fidelity, LP

Company Address:

P.O. Box 941911
Houstn, TX 77094-8911

Company Telephone Number: 281-647-4152

Website of Company: payuflp.com

Universal Fidelity, LP   Consumer Complaint   1 24 2012

Consumer Statement:

Received a “Confidential Message” from a company called Universal Fidelity LP claiming that I owe their client “Legal Successor of Hollywood Video” $192.25 for movies and games from 03/22/09 thru 02/13/10 some of which I’ve never even heard of. I was a member of Hollywood Video up until they went belly-up, but I always paid my late fees and rentals, and they wouldn’t let you rent new movies until you did pay your fees. This is complete BS!

Consumer Action Taken:

Am not responding to letter as I pulled up this company’s name on the internet and there was a forum where people put in their input and it looks to be a scam. My concern is that they have taken money from people’s bank accounts and that they can screw with your credit. Can’t these scammers be stopped??? I would be happy to fax you a copy of the letter if you like.

Note:

The Myvesta Foundation sent a letter to the company at the address given or found and asked them to publicly respond to this complaint.


If you feel you’ve been financially hurt by a debt relief company and deserve a refund, read these step-by-step instructions on how to proceed to attempt to get your money back.

If you do get your money back, come back and leave a comment about it. I’d love to praise companies that step-up and do the right thing for people.

Scam reports are submitted by consumers like you. If you would like to file a scam report, please click here.

If you are the company named in this report and you want to respond, please read How to Handle a Consumer Complaint Like a Pro And Come Out Smelling Like a Rose

Universal Fidelity, LP - Consumer Complaint - 1-24-2012 by

Share This and Spread the Word

About Consumer

Consumer
This is information that was submitted by a third party and not generated by GetOutOfDebt.org or Steve Rhode.
  • Queenie

    I just received a letter from them too & I definitely do not owe the money. I believe this is a scam and am going to go ahead & report them to the State Generals (TX & GA), FTC, & the Texas BBB. I’m not going to fool with contacting Universal Fidelity, from what I’ve read here, it would be a waste of time…it is obviously a scam.

  • david

    the just call me that i need to pay 45 dollars, they said since 2 years that i owe this money. this people need to update their info. i do remember id rent movies last year AND NEVER ASK ME TO PAY MONEY BECAUSE I OWE.
    THIS IS STUPID……big time!!!!!!

  • Scott Hearn

    You may want to visit their site and all the legal documents from Hollywood is on their website.

    • cestdiva

      The website address on my letter is http://www.UFLP.com. It does not work. Scott, what address did you use to see the information?

    • cestdiva

      And, Scott, are you any relation to C. Hearn, Director of Payment Control at Universal Fidelity, LP?

  • Erin

    I also have a clam they say I owe on Hollywood video of 68.40 I have always paid my bill there. They have been closed for over two years and Fidelity is trying to collect this from me. I don’t owe this and I will not pay….. Beware this is not right…..
     Erin D

  • Richard

    Hello……..
    I suspected this to be a scam as well. Hollywood tried to collect money from me for late fees just before they bellied up. When I got this notice from a Universal Fidelity LP, I smelled a second scam attempt. Now that my suspicions are confiremd. I will not pay them any money and report this to the state.
    Richard

  • Joanne Panning

    I received the same letter from Universal Fidelity on 2-24-12. They claim I owe $71.85 and we were also on the Power Play plan, which is a monthly plan! And they have my rental dates from 06/10/09. I have never received any other notice before this, and we have always had a zero balance even before Hollywood video went out of business!

  • Matt from WA

    I believe Universal Fidelity needs to provide a validation of debts by law. They cannot try to collect debts without any PROOF of actual debts, can they? I called UF, and the lady on the phone had informed me they are ‘in process of receiving validation of debts’ but do not have them yet, so I should contact Hollywood Video. How can they collect without any proof? Instead of stating that you wish to cease all communication from them to you, its probably better to state that after you request an official validation of debts. If they cannot provide it, I believe they cannot collect.

    • http://GetOutOfDebt.org Steve Rhode

      Actually…anyone can attempt to collect on anything. They only need proof if you call them out on it.

      People are sued every day without validated debts, and lose. It’s not a perfect system. I’m just saying, don’t count on this being resolved by expecting anyone to validate the debt first.

  • 3CD

    I just called them at the number provided on the notice.  I told them how the missing videos problem was resolved in-store (in 2009).  They said they were “closing the account” and notifying the Trustee.  So we’ll see how that works.  In the meantime, I’m mailing my cease and desist letter as suggested above. (See new article).  Also sending a cc to the Trustee.  Trying to cover all my bases.  Also keeping a log of phone calls, who I spoke with, contacts, etc.

  • Cdbaker07

    I received the same confidential message from universal Fidelity,LP staing that I owed
    holloywood video $129.60 for video games. I have never played a video game in my life. I used to pick up a movie sometimes. All movies was paid for with cash and I never had a late fee. 

  • Praetorian_v

    Thanks for the useful comments. I just got one of these things for 68 bucks. I called, got no answer. I am an ex-cop and will turn this over to people I know in New Mexico. As this is mulit-state enterprise this is probably a Federal matter. Maybe we should call the local news and see if they can do any ivestigative reporting on this

  • Tim in Louisiana

    My wife received the same letter yesterday and called me in a panic. After only an hour of research, I’m convinced that this is a scam.  I’m a recovering lawyer (no longer in practice) so I contacted the State Attorney General’s office directly regarding this company.  I strongly encourage everyone reading this to do the same.  Contact the Consumer Protection Division if your state has one.  To me, it looks like the Customer List/Records of Hollywood Video is getting transfered to various national collection agencies.  Once the list is passed to a new group, a mass mailing is going out to try to collect any anything.  The amount listed on the Bankruptcy filing was $240M, so if they squeeze 2% from unwitting former customers, they collect $4,800,000.00.  This is not including the fact that they might get your CC#.

    PS:  Very nice web site Mr. Rhodes

  • Cathy of WA

    I took Zaf’s route and called 281-647-4100. She was the third custome rservice I was sent to when I asked for UF.  Third was a pleasant woman asked for the EDP number and what was the reason for my dispute.  I said I am over 60 and I did’t rent “Son of Rambow”.  If I did I returned it on time.  She said she noted that as the reason for my dispute and that she would “Close the Account”  I asked her to explain exactly what that meant.  She said that she would send my dispute info to HV and tell them UF is closing the account.  UF will not be contacting me again.  She said that HV will take me off the list of people who owe them.  I also got her first and last name.  I did check my credit report with experian and they have not put anything on it.

  • Cathy of WA

    I took Zaf’s route and called 281-647-4100. She was the third custome rservice I was sent to when I asked for UF.  Third was a pleasant woman asked for the EDP number and what was the reason for my dispute.  I said I am over 60 and I did’t rent “Son of Rambow”.  If I did I returned it on time.  She said she noted that as the reason for my dispute and that she would “Close the Account”  I asked her to explain exactly what that meant.  She said that she would send my dispute info to HV and tell them UF is closing the account.  UF will not be contacting me again.  She said that HV will take me off the list of people who owe them.  I also got her first and last name.  I did check my credit report with experian and they have not put anything on it.

  • Irate

    Everyone needs to contact their state Attorney General, the Texas Attorney General, the FTC (Federal Trade Commission) and the Texas BBB (Better Business Bureau).  They need and want complaints to go after these guys.  It is a pain but they can’t act until they hear from lots of people,

  • http://GetOutOfDebt.org Steve Rhode

    I just published this new article that has details on how to handle it.

  • Zaf Mannan

    Got  not on Jan 23 2012 from Universal Fidelity. Said I owed $28.74 late fees to Hollywood Video. Address was P.O. Box 219785, Houston , TX 77218-9785. However, payment coupon had P.O. Box 941911, Houston TX 77094-8911.

    Phone number for contact 281 647 4152 is disconnected or not in service. Went to website http://www.payuflp.com and clicked on “Don’t have EDP number” (as I had no intention of paying as it sounded like a scam) and it gave the following contact info:
    Universal Fidelity LP, 1445 Langham Creek Drive, Houston, TX 77084. Main Telephone 281 647 4100, Client Services 800 807 1439.

    When I called th emain number I got this message: call cannot be completed, message code C093951. And the Client Services number gave: call cannot be completed as dialled, message 44831.

    I Googled 1445 Langham Creek Drive address and the map. The satellite image showed a large building with Register Tapes Unlimited at the same address. I Googled this and got a number: 281 206 2500.

    When I dialled this number, I spoke to a lady who declared herself as Customer Service and she confirmed that Universal Fidelity was one of the tenants in the office block – and she put me through but no one pickrd up. I called back and she put me through again saying that they were slow to answer. This time I got a ringing tone.

    Anna answered the phone (sounded foreign, maybe East European?) and was very pleasant. She new immediately about the Hollywood Video late fee matter and asked why I was disputing it. When I told her that we always paid any late fees before Hollywood let us rent another video, she said she would cancel the demand, notify the Trustees. She assured me that no information would be sent to the Credit Bureaus. When I asked for a confirmation letter that the matter would be closed she said that they would only notify the Trustees electronically.

    Sounds fishy. I will pass this info to my lawyers for further advice and let our State Attorney General’s office know too.

  • Cathy of WA

    I received the same letter.  $43 for 09 charges at Holllywood video.  I have never received a notice from HV that I owe them money.  My research brought up this page:
    http://www.mi.gov/documents/ag/Hollywood_Video-Movie_Gallery_Inc.-Stipulation_and_Agreed_Order_05-06-11_352456_7.pdf  also check out 
    http://www.oag.state.va.us/Media%20and%20News%20Releases/News_Releases/Cuccinelli/050511_Hollywood_Video.html   I believe they may be phishing for cc numbers and or cell phone numbers because they ask for both of those on the return with your payment coupon.  If you do write them and ask for a validation of debt make sure you send it through the post office and get a signature that they received it and proof of the date they recieved it because they have 30 days to respond.  If you correspond by email create an email account that you don’t care about because they may sell that email address to a spammer later.  If you call document the time you stayed on the line waiting for them to answer (which they won’t) and the date and time you called.  Go right to your attorney general -online- it is easy- and immediately file a complaint.  Scan a copy of your letter and upload it to the attorney general with your complaint.  Repost the results you get from whatever efforts you make to resolve it.  

  • http://pulse.yahoo.com/_GPDCC73NCB26BL2GNL63LF7GIU Stuey_T

    I too received a similar letter from Universal Fidelity on 1-24-12.  They claim I owe $195.13.  I know I don’t have a balance with Hollywood Video because I used to pay monthly for their Power Play program with no late fees.  It has to be a scam…beware.

    • http://GetOutOfDebt.org Steve Rhode

      Interesting. It would be hard to get behind with that plan.

      If possible, can you fax or email a copy of the letter so I can see what they are sending out? You can find my contact details here.

Get My FREE Get Out of Debt Guy Newsletter

It is the smart thing to do.

I promise to keep your email safe and secure.

Close

I want to keep you posted each weekday with just one email about the latest get out of debt news, scam alerts and information to beat back debt.

You can unsubscribe at any time with just one click.

After you subscribe, check your email to confirm your subscription. If the confirmation email does not appear in your inbox in a few minutes, check your spam folder for it. Sometimes it likes to annoyingly hide there.


  • It will keep you posted on the latest scams.
  • You will be alerted to the latest articles.
  • You will wind up smarter than everyone else dealing with debt.