Latest Posts
Home > Scam Reporter > Citizens Financial Group > Citizens Financial Group – Consumer Complaint – 2-21-2012 (2)

Citizens Financial Group – Consumer Complaint – 2-21-2012 (2)

Date This Problem Happened: September 6, 2011

State You Live in: Ohio

Race/Ethnicity: White

Age Range: 51-65

Total Amount of Fee Paid: $2,500

Company Name: Citizens Financial Group

Company Address:

40 North Central Ave
Ste 1400
Phoenix, AZ 85004

Company Telephone Number: 866-573-2890

Website of Company: citizensfg.com

Consumer Statement:

I was promised by Citizens Financial Group that they could get my current lender to modify my loan. I needed to pay them 2500.00 to fill out the paperwork and negotiate with my lender. I complied, they did try to get me to not pay for a couple of months to show more of a hardship, but I did not feel that was the right thing to do. I filled out all the necessary paperwork (I noticed all the paperwork sent were federal documents–I learned later, contrary to what they explained, that I could have done this myself) and then received email back telling me how to negotiate with the bank. I did most of the follow-up with my lender and was turned down in December of 2011. I let CFG know, as instructed and was told they would negotiate on my behalf; on January 31, 2012 I was emailed by the document handler at CFG that their underwriters were unable to negotiate a modification and I would receive my refund of 2500.00. As of 2/20/2012 I have not re ceived my refund.

Consumer Action Taken:

I have attempted to call them and their number is always busy and my email is returned as un-deliverable. I have been unable to contact anyone to resolve the issue. I have filed a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission, the BBB and am going to file a complaint with Ohio’s attorney General. I have all the paperwork and email correspondence between the company and myself. I am only including the one email saying I would be refunded, however, all else is available upon request.

Consumer Documentation:

Citizens Financial Group   Consumer Complaint   2 21 2012 (2)

If you feel you’ve been financially hurt by a debt relief company and deserve a refund, read these step-by-step instructions on how to proceed to attempt to get your money back.

If you do get your money back, come back and leave a comment about it. I’d love to praise companies that step-up and do the right thing for people.

Scam reports are submitted by consumers like you. If you would like to file a scam report, please click here.

If you are the company named in this report and you want to respond, please read How to Handle a Consumer Complaint Like a Pro And Come Out Smelling Like a Rose

About Steve Rhode

Steve Rhode
Steve Rhode is the Get Out of Debt Guy and has been helping good people with bad debt problems since 1994. You can learn more about Steve, here.
  • Mella113

    I lost $1,875 to Citizens Financial Group and was promised they could cut my mortgage payment by 50%.  They took my money and then did nothing.  Absolutely nothing.  They didn’t even contact my mortgage company (Bank of America).  I asked for a refund but they were rude and denied me my money back.  I have tried to contact them by phone and they don’t return my calls.  Also, I tried by email and the emails were returned as undeliverable.  They are totally unethical.  I am proceeding to contact the Arizona Attorney General and CBS News Channel 5.  I DO NOT recommend this company to anyone.  Be aware of this scam! To anyone else with the same or similar problem, here is the website for the Arizona Attorney General:  
    http://www.azag.gov/consumer/complaintform.html

    • Boestk

      I contacted the attorney general in Arizona.  Who promptly forwarded my complaint to the AG in California.  The California AG sent me a nice letter stating they don’t look into individual complaints and a handout on how to avoid scams.  The BBB was unable to reach them either and closed my complaint.  I haven’t heard anything from the FTC, but doubt I will.  Have given up and am now watching what I spend to resave what I lost to these thieves.  Hopefully, there is a special place in hell for them.

  • Victayshearer

    VicShearer
    I had the same thing happen to me in Dec 2011 and they also caused my checking account to become overdrawn b/c drawing out to much money.  I was told several times and in an email the amount would be refunded to me first week of Feb.  I have tried several times and email several times.  Nothing…..  Now I am out over 4,000. and have nothing.  I am very disappointed in this situation and very angry that we as struggling hard working people needing help to stay ahead that the goverment lets this happen.  I dont need any more stress in my life.  This has about caused me to have a nervous breakdown.  I spoke with a Lee, LucyG. and John Sutherland.  Everyone was so nice and called me often to help.  Now nothing  the number is busy and emails come back,   PLEASE…… ANY HELP WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED!!!!! 
    victayshearer@aol.com  if anyone has any idea what steps to take….

  • John_hewell

    This happened to me too..Please someome tell me the steps I need to do, I need help on this please help..E-mail me john_hewell@yahoo.com

  • Bmcneill

    Yet the same thing with me, I was promised my money by 2-8-12,and then called and said would be 2-17. Well here it is 2-21-12 and the phone number says is not allowed,and no response to emails that I have sent to them.. This company does not do what they say they are or can do. I would not recommend them to anyone! 

Get My FREE Get Out of Debt Guy Newsletter

It is the smart thing to do.

I promise to keep your email safe and secure.

Close

I want to keep you posted each weekday with just one email about the latest get out of debt news, scam alerts and information to beat back debt.

You can unsubscribe at any time with just one click.

After you subscribe, check your email to confirm your subscription. If the confirmation email does not appear in your inbox in a few minutes, check your spam folder for it. Sometimes it likes to annoyingly hide there.


  • It will keep you posted on the latest scams.
  • You will be alerted to the latest articles.
  • You will wind up smarter than everyone else dealing with debt.