Latest Posts
Home > Scam Reporter > Hollywood Video – Universal Fidelity – Consumer Complaint – 2-28-2012

Hollywood Video – Universal Fidelity – Consumer Complaint – 2-28-2012

Date This Problem Happened: February 27, 2012

State You Live in: Oregon

Race/Ethnicity: White

Age Range: 51-65

Total Amount of Fee Paid:

Company Name: Hollywood Video – Universal Fidelity

Company Address:

P.O. Box 219785
Houston, TX 77218-9785

Company Telephone Number: 281-647-4156

Website of Company: payuflp.com

Consumer Statement:

We received from Universal Fidelity, LP indicating that we owed late fees to Hollywood Video $31.74, from spring of 2009 ~ this is spring of 2012 !! It is not that “we refuse to pay” as they stated to us, its the principal that we do not owe the money. For the record, we are willing to pay all our debts, but we do not owe this money. We returned our videos in a timely manner to the outside drop box at the curb and do not owe any monies to Hollywood Video.

Consumer Action Taken:

We called the number shown on the letter, and the lady stated that we have to pay what we owe unless we have the receipt showing payment or she will make note that we refuse to pay. We indicated for them to prove that we owe this, not 3 years later getting a letter for the first time telling us we owe. She stated that Hollywood Video was in bankrupcy and could not contact us! We asked for them to be specific telling us how many days were we suppose to be “late”?? Everyone knows that they will not allow you to continue to rent movies if you have any outstanding “late fees” . She stated that was not a policy held by Hollywood Video. In which I told her that just isn’t true. We do not owe this money ! Just received the letter 2/27/2012.


If you feel you’ve been financially hurt by a debt relief company and deserve a refund, read these step-by-step instructions on how to proceed to attempt to get your money back.

If you do get your money back, come back and leave a comment about it. I’d love to praise companies that step-up and do the right thing for people.

Scam reports are submitted by consumers like you. If you would like to file a scam report, please click here.

If you are the company named in this report and you want to respond, please read How to Handle a Consumer Complaint Like a Pro And Come Out Smelling Like a Rose

Hollywood Video - Universal Fidelity - Consumer Complaint - 2-28-2012 by

Share This and Spread the Word

About Consumer

Consumer
This is information that was submitted by a third party and not generated by GetOutOfDebt.org or Steve Rhode.
  • Tyler

    I was in Iraq when they said I rented some movie I’ve never even heard of. I called and they told me it was returned late.

  • Rick D

    My wife and i just received a letter (invoice) from Universal FIdelity , LP on 11/13/2012 stating we owe $9.58 for late fees from a dvd we rented on 6/21/2009. We found that laughable, because the 21st of June in 2009 was the day after our wedding and we were 2,400 miles away in Las Vegas, NV. We are from PA. We only had one (1) rental card and it was in my wallet in Las Vegas with me. Kind of impossible if you ask me???

  • davy

    Universal fidelity, lp just sent me a letter stating I owed 169.00!! Not true at all. I was  MVP member and paid monthly dues to rent 2 at a time for as long as I wanted and upon return could get 2 more. I have called UF and they we’re very rude and told me I was lying and that I owed the money.I asked to file a formal complaint and have not recieved a call back. If I owed it I would pay it, no problem but I do not!!!!! Victoria ext 133 was the mean one who was very threatining with me. I told them I would mail them 25cents a month for a bill I did not owe and they would not except payment!! I’m in Tennessee what do I do to get these slim suckers off my back???

  • Thedrummist

    I will seek my revenge on all associates employed by First Lien Term Lenders Liquidating and Universal Fidelity, LP.  I will not stop…ever.  They have messed with the wrong person and have awakened a sleeping giant.  I guess my other posts containing emplooyees of Universal Fidelity, LP and their extension numbers have been removed.  You can obtain these for yourself at 281-647-4156.  Select the directory.  They sometimes answer that line or, try selecting extension 1332 or 1355…  I will be calling them daily, hourly and consumming as much of their time as possible.  Harassing those that harass the inocent will be so much fun.  I am glad I work grave shift.  That gives me all day to mess with these slimeballs.  Join me if you like!!

  • http://profile.yahoo.com/F2EHJTKCFHM3N73WA4XWABTPKY Paul R

    ahh and FURTHER,  if you rented a movie in 2009, and the late fees hadn’t been payed by 2011, you definitely would have not been able to rent movies from them without paying.  Just more proof that this is all a load of crap.

  • http://profile.yahoo.com/F2EHJTKCFHM3N73WA4XWABTPKY Paul R

    My girlfriend worked for Hollywood video for about 9 years right up to the last day they were in business (in Oregon).  We both would have known if I had had any late fees on my account.  And i know for a fact that part of an employees’ job was to call customers who had late fees to get them to pay.  So I, being in a relationship with an employee at the store I rented from, would have DEFINITELY known  that I’d had late fees from rentals for 2 years on my account.  It’s completely bogus, this company is without a doubt scamming and stealing money from people, and it’s pathetic that they are getting away with it and not in jail.

  • NoWayIOweYouMoney

    I just received a letter stating I owe them $10 from Jan 2010….I don’t think I even rented the movies they claim I did, but anyway I have either paid my late fees or had them waived. I know I belonged to their points program, which they deducted out of my checking account each month. I don’t think there were any late fees charged anyway, because I belonged to the program. In fact, they were going out of business in my area, and closing the only store I knew of and went to, before I could use all of my points. Which I paid for! So one of the employees gave me a number to call, because they were giving out giftcards or something to reimburse the unused points…I called, but never pursued it much further…and now I owe THEM money?

  • KW

    The same thing happened to me. They want $55.31 for movies I turned in 3 years ago. You can’t rent another movie unless you payed the late fee. I left messages and they don’t even call back. Is this a spam? What can we do about this?

  • Upset and not in debt!

    Ditto!  In Arizona.  Received letter that I owe $25.94 for rentals in 2010 and 2009.  This has got to be a total scam. They are pulling these dollar figure out of thin air!  (They listed the same movie twice…we didn’t like it enough to rent it twice!!)

  • Harassed in Ohio

    Here in Ohio we have been contacted by Universal Fidelity twice for late fees at Hollywood Video for videos we probaby did rent but I have no recall that they were late and they likely were not.   Additionally, does everyone remember when all the video rental places as well as all the online rentals were touting ‘no late fees’?  Does anyone recall going into Hollywood Video at that time and they said “You have a late fee. Do you want to pay it now?  You can pay it later if you want”.   It was as if they had late fees but they weren’t really going to enforce them because they  knew their competition did not have late fees.   I may have had one or two late fees that I did not pay because they didn’t seem too keen to have us pay it, certainly $40.   

    A little research will also show that Hollywood had a different debt collection agency (National Credit Solutions) last year doing the same thing and were ruining peoples’ credit with no proof.  I think it’s much the same ploy,  using legitimate rental records and the threat of bad credit to make you pay for late fees you don’t owe.   I think we all dispute IN WRITING, not by phone and by law I am pretty sure they have to provide written proof of the debt.  Someone call Clark Howard. I am pretty sure that is what he will say. 

    • NoWayIOweYouMoney

      I remember them touting no late fees if you signed up for their point system…because of redbox, and netflix, they came up with the point system of renting…but even before I joined the point system, they always waived the fees…

  • Cedartree2001

    I just received a bill from Universal Fidelity, LP 1-281-647-4156 stating that I owe $42.95 for Monk movie rentals in 2009.  THIS IS OUTRAGEOUS!  We paid all our movie rental fees UP TO DATE with Hollywood video and we rented from them happily!  THIS IS FRAUD!

    I am trying to contact someone who has Hollywood video’s database.  Who do I notify about this FRAUD?

  • Bessineugene

    Wow!  I am in Oregon.  I just received a similar letter stating that I owe $32.31.  I have not contacted them yet, as it is after hours.  BUT, I, too, do not owe this money.  This was almost three years ago, and I closed my account with Hollywood before they were in bankruptcy!  I didn’t owe them anything then, I do not now.  

    • Insalita

      i just received a similar notice for two children’s movies for 39.98.  I’m sure we did RENT them at one point, and were possibly late but I am confident we settled with Hollywood before they closed. I looked around the house to be sure – we don’t have these movies around. I’m not paying this bill.  

  • Nancyfraida

    I received a letter  from Universal Fidelity, LP of Houston TX cleaning I owe 17.94 for two movies allegedly  rented 3 years ago at a hollywood video.  It doesn’t specify a location of the store, there is no documentation of the rental, it is dated 3/07/12 and the alleged rental was on June 7, 2009.  
    I called the number on the letter and was told that they would suspend my debit BUT would send the letter requesting more information be sent to me from the legal successors of Hollywood video proving the rental and non-return of the DVD’s in question.

    This is most likely an attempt (feeble one!) to get some money from outstanding balances owed the company that is now bankrupt–but it seems from complaints on line that they have not correctly identified the people who owe them money.  This letter seems random with a random amount.  I have no outstanding balance,  they have sent no legal paperwork proving their claim.  
    When the store was closing they had staff that could have easily sent out invoices to people who owed money.  I’m sure they did.  I was not contacted at any time prior to this regarding outstanding DVD returns or balances. 

    I will save the recent paperwork sent to me.  I may need it in court.  It’s NOT the $17.94, its that there may be 1,000′s of letters sent out and much money to be made off this scam. 

Get My FREE Get Out of Debt Guy Newsletter

It is the smart thing to do.

I promise to keep your email safe and secure.

Close

I want to keep you posted each weekday with just one email about the latest get out of debt news, scam alerts and information to beat back debt.

You can unsubscribe at any time with just one click.

After you subscribe, check your email to confirm your subscription. If the confirmation email does not appear in your inbox in a few minutes, check your spam folder for it. Sometimes it likes to annoyingly hide there.


  • It will keep you posted on the latest scams.
  • You will be alerted to the latest articles.
  • You will wind up smarter than everyone else dealing with debt.