Latest Posts
Home > Scam Reporter > Universal Fidelity – Consumer Complaint – 3-18-2012

Universal Fidelity – Consumer Complaint – 3-18-2012

Date This Problem Happened: March 16, 2012

State You Live in: Utah

Race/Ethnicity: White

Age Range: 36-50

Total Amount of Fee Paid:

Company Name: Universal Fidelity

Company Address:

PO Box 941911
Houston, TX 77094-8911

Company Telephone Number: 281-647-4156

Website of Company: payuflp.com

Consumer Statement:

I am very careful when it comes to returning movies. I hate paying the higher fee to rent the movie in the first place when I can get it for a dollar at the other rental stores let alone paying late fees. I have not been notified until 3 years later that I owe 17.94 for a movie I’m sure I returned.The bogus letter says it was rented on 3-30-09. I’m not paying this and I hope it will be looked into.The letter came to me on 3-16-12.

Consumer Action Taken:

I have not done anything–luckily!


If you feel you’ve been financially hurt by a debt relief company and deserve a refund, read these step-by-step instructions on how to proceed to attempt to get your money back.

If you do get your money back, come back and leave a comment about it. I’d love to praise companies that step-up and do the right thing for people.

Scam reports are submitted by consumers like you. If you would like to file a scam report, please click here.

If you are the company named in this report and you want to respond, please read How to Handle a Consumer Complaint Like a Pro And Come Out Smelling Like a Rose

Universal Fidelity - Consumer Complaint - 3-18-2012 by

Share This and Spread the Word

About Consumer

Consumer
This is information that was submitted by a third party and not generated by GetOutOfDebt.org or Steve Rhode.
  • http://profile.yahoo.com/F2EHJTKCFHM3N73WA4XWABTPKY Paul R

    My girlfriend worked for Hollywood video for about 9 years right up to the last day they were in business (in Oregon).  We both would have known if I had had any late fees on my account.  And i know for a fact that part of an employees’ job was to call customers who had late fees to get them to pay.  So I, being in a relationship with an employee at the store I rented from, would have DEFINITELY known  that I’d had late fees from rentals for 2 years on my account.  It’s completely bogus, this company is without a doubt scamming and stealing money from people, and it’s pathetic that they are getting away with it and not in jail.

  • R L Kulesha

    I received a collection letter from Universal Fidelity 3/15/12. They say I owe Hollywood video 17.94 for fees on 3 movies rented 3/10/09.  Also the address they used was interesting as it was a short term temporary address, and not the address that would have been on the Hollywood account in Delaware. I know this has been paid. The back of the letter says to respond in 30 days. I wrote on the bill, “Paid in full” and returned it to them. But not before I filed a report with the Federal Trade Commission who advised me to look this company up on lin because there were issues but they could not discuss their findings with me.

  • Neils9403

    DITTO!  I and obviously massive numbers of other consummers are being inundagted with the same collection scam.  They are throwing mud on the wall to see what sticks. This company is a total scam.  They won’t answer the phone and they do not have a street address!
    Burn the letter as I did!!

Get My FREE Get Out of Debt Guy Newsletter

It is the smart thing to do.

I promise to keep your email safe and secure.

Close

I want to keep you posted each weekday with just one email about the latest get out of debt news, scam alerts and information to beat back debt.

You can unsubscribe at any time with just one click.

After you subscribe, check your email to confirm your subscription. If the confirmation email does not appear in your inbox in a few minutes, check your spam folder for it. Sometimes it likes to annoyingly hide there.


  • It will keep you posted on the latest scams.
  • You will be alerted to the latest articles.
  • You will wind up smarter than everyone else dealing with debt.