Latest Posts
Home > Ask The Get Out of Debt Experts > Is Modification Review Board in Sandy Utah Legit?

Is Modification Review Board in Sandy Utah Legit?

March 4, 2013 – Benjamin Horton takes exception with comments made by others in response to this article. See update below.

“Dear Steve,

My loan was sold from BAC in January 2012 to Specilized Loan Servicing, LLC. I had tried 3 times to get a modification with BAC first myself, 2 with National Debt Solution in CA scram, 3 with Derrick Bradshow in Dallas,TX called his company D-Mortage scram. Now I have asked Modification Review Board in Sandy, UT. They are asking for money in order to go head working for me. At time I don’t have the money but was going to get it out of my retirement again. I don’t know what to do. Please give some advice.

How can I tell if Modification Review Board, in Sandy, UT is for legal?”

Don’t miss our free Get Out of Debt – “How To” Guide Series on a number of topics, for loads of practical advice, tips, and help to beat back debt. – Click Here

The Answer

I took a look at their website at modificationreviewboard.com.

Is Modification Review Board in Sandy Utah Legit?

Are they legal or legit?

What I can tell you is the company, Modification Review Board, LLC was registered on October 26, 2011 with the State of Utah.

The domain name was originally registered by:

Jonathan Hanley
[email protected]
Brown Legal, Inc.
9925 Aplomado
Sandy, Utah 84092

Brown Legal, Inc. was registered with the State of Utah on April 5, 2011 and the registered agent is Jonathan Phillip Hanley. I did a search for a lawyer in Utah named Jonathan Hanley and according to the Utah State Bar, there is no attorney under that name. You can check for yourself, here.

The BBB reports that Jonathan Hanley is the company contact for Brown Legal, Inc and describes the company as a legal document services company. – Source

What is a bit perplexing to me is the domain name for Brown Legal is brownlegalcorp.com and results in a similar, nearly identical website, but with a different name. it reports to be located at the same office address:

9035 S. 700 E.
Suite 203
Sandy, UT 84070

And if you look at the Brown Legal site, named Preferred Law Team (Source), and compare it to the Modification Review Board site, the wording appears the same.

While there might be a totally logical explanation why two law firms report the same address and use similar websites with different firm names, I find it very unusual. – Source, Source

Maybe it makes more sense at this point for you to contact a free HUD Housing Counselor and ask for a review of your situation in your evaluation of what to do. Does that seem reasonable?

Please post your responses and follow-up messages to me on this in the comments section below.

Big Hug!

Is Modification Review Board in Sandy Utah Legit?
Get Out of Debt Guy – Twitter, G+, Facebook

If you have a credit or debt question you’d like to ask just use the online form. I’m happy to help you totally for free.

Update 4-1-2012

I have received the following nastygram from Benjamin Horton, Attorney for Preferred law.

Dear Mr. Steve Rhode:

I have just been made aware that your website (http://getoutofdebt.org/35930/is-modification-review-board-in-sandy-utah-legit) is wrongfully publishing our law firm’s copyrighted material without our permission. Furthermore, your website has placed Modification Review Board, LLC and our law firm in a false light and is damaging our law firm’s legitimate business and reputation. We demand that you remove all material related to Preferred Law, PLLC and Modification Review Board, LLC from your website immediately.

Although Preferred Law, PLLC is willing and able to bring a lawsuit against you, it is not our intent to escalate the matter further. For your information, Preferred Law, PLLC places great emphasis on copyright infringement and business litigation. See http://www.preferredlawoffice.com/copyright-law/.

With respect to the accusations on your website, Modification Review Board does temporarily share some of the content with one of our Preferred Law, PLLC websites. Modification Review Board, LLC has its own attorney and paralegals, and often works with our law firm in assisting homeowners with federal home loan assistance. Because professional websites are very expensive to develop, we reached an agreement to temporarily share website content until much better websites could be developed. Our new websites are almost complete and will be published within one to two weeks. We certainly provide a legitimate service to our clients and have many satisfied clients.

Please remove all of the above materials without delay. We genuinely hope to resolve this matter amicably and without litigation. However, should you continue to publish the same, we will quickly bring a lawsuit against you and demand substantial damages. Govern yourself accordingly.

Sincerely,

Benjamin R. Horton
Attorney at Law
Member of the Utah and Texas Bars

Is Modification Review Board in Sandy Utah Legit?

My Response

Dear Mr. Horton,

I received your email and have published it as an update to the story so readers can hear your side.

I’ve addressed your issues below:

Copyright infringement for use of the screen shots. The use of the limited screen shots falls under the exception under the copyright statues of fair use. “Section 107 contains a list of the various purposes for which the reproduction of a particular work may be considered fair, such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, and research.” The use of the screen shots appears to fall squarely under that exception.

Alleged accusations made. In looking at the article I do not see any accusations made against Preferred Law. What I do see are questions raised.

You’ve responded to one of them. You have said that Preferred Law and Modification Review Board share some content, which is exactly what I observed and reported about using the screen shots as an example to show readers.

There were some questions raised in the article that you did not address. For example, the domain name for Modification Review Board appears to be registered to Jonathan Hanley at Brown Legal but I could not locate an attorney in Utah under that name. Is Mr. Hanley an attorney? If not, who is the attorney of record for Modification Review Board that you’ve authorized to use your legal website content? Or is is you that has been authorized to use the content created and copy written by Brown Legal?

As far as Preferred Law is concerned it appears the only questions raised was why it appeared that you were using the same business address and website as Modification Review Board.

I raised the observation that the websites appeared to use similar content, which you state is true in your correspondence. But you did not address the other issue raised about Preferred Law that it appears you are sharing the same business address.

But in your letter I see the address on your website and letterhead is different. The website says:

9035 S. 700 E.
Suite 203
Sandy, UT 84070

Your letterhead says:

8180 S. 700 E
Suite 110
Sandy, Utah 84070

So which is the correct address, the letterhead or your website?

Also interesting is that the domain name of brownlegalcorp.com results in the website for Preferred Law. The BBB describes Brown Legal as a legal document services company but not a law firm. – Source

Brown Legal, Inc was registered to do business in Utah on April 5, 2011. and the registered agent is Jonathan Hanley.

Is Modification Review Board in Sandy Utah Legit?
Is Modification Review Board in Sandy Utah Legit?

As I mentioned, I can’t locate an attorney in Utah under the name Jonathan Hanley. If he is an attorney, please let me know. I want to make sure the information reported is factual.

And if there is something that I got factually wrong in the story or there is anything you would like to publicly comment on, please feel free to add a comment onto the post so readers can hear from you directly.

Regarding your threat to sue, if you wish to escalate this matter further, please contact my attorney at:

Chris Livingston, Esq.
PO Box 220
White Oak NC 28399
Tel 910 876 7001

I have copied him on this email.

Steve

Update March 4, 2013

Benjamin R. Horton, Attorney
8180 S700 E STE 110
Sandy, UT 84070
preferredlawteam.com

This e-mail is a follow-up to our phone conversation on February 28, 2013. Although it was shocking that you seemed to want us to bring a lawsuit against your client, I am still hopeful that we can resolve this matter reasonably and without resorting to litigation.

Steve Rhode has included deliberately misleading and other defamatory materials on his website http://getoutofdebt.org regarding my client Modification Review Board that must be removed.

First, Steve Rhode made the following comment under the heading: “Is Modification Review Board in Sandy Utah Legit?” (http://getoutofdebt.org/35930/is-modification-review-board-in-sandy-utah-legit):

“SALT LAKE CITY—Federal law enforcement agencies executed search warrants Tuesday at three locations associated with a business formerly operating under the name “CC Brown Law Office” in Midvale and West Valley City. The business has also operated under other names, including “Sentry Legal,” “WT Lee,” and “JL Martin.” The search warrant is sealed. No criminal charges have been filed in connection with the investigation.Individuals who have been working with the business on a mortgage modification and who would like information can contact a toll-free number established by the FBI at 1-877-236-8947 (press option 2). The toll-free number will be activated this evening. A recorded message will advise individuals that they can submit contact information and copies of any documents to the FBI by mailing them to the FBI Salt Lake City Division, attention CC Brown Investigation. The FBI’s address is 257 East 200 South, Suite 1200, Salt Lake City, UT 84111.Individuals can also submit information about the company’s business practices to the FBI by e-mail at [email protected]

By intentionally publishing this information under the name of Modification Review Board, it is clear that Mr. Rhode is maliciously implying that Modification Review Board has a relationship to CC Brown Law Office and/or is being investigated by the F.B.I. This is entirely false. Mr. Rhode has deliberately taken irrelevant information concerning an unrelated business and investigation and included that information under the name of Modification Review Board in order to unfairly defame Modification Review Board.

The comment I posted was just a mention of mortgage modification company also located in Utah that was in the news from an FBI press release. It was not meant to infer there was any relationship between Modification Review Board or Preferred Law and CC Brown. If it was taken that way it was not intentional and I have removed that comment to avoid any confussion.

Second, an individual under the name of “Modification Review Board Scam,” following up on Mr. Rhode’s falsely included information above, made the following two false comments:

The comments by the other parties were actually not “follow up” or replies. They were stand alone comments.

“I am reporting that your correct about modification review board in sandy utah being a mortgage modification scam. Jonathan Hanley is wanted by the FBI in relation to a criminal “mortgage modification” investigation under the name of CC Brown in Utah. He left that fraud firm to start a new one, and his website and everything you mentioned is all a scam. He is charging customers upfront fees of $3900 for a modification, he guarantees the modification but then leaves the customer who paid the fee with almost zero work. He advises them to stop making their mortgage payments and he has taken advantage of 1000′s of people while he takes all of their money. In some cases he charges a “emergency fee” of an additional $1000 up front if the person’s house is in foreclosure promising to stop the foreclosure, but doesn’t.

Due to the law that a person cannot charge up front fees unless they are a law firm, he circumvents it by paying a friend of his who is a lawyer, that is not employed by modification review board an amount for each customer so that he can “pretend” he is a law firm and even represents himself as a law firm. He has been reported to the FBI and they are currently investigating him. So I thought you would like to know that you were correct.

His website is phoney, he runs a make shift operation with people who are criminals and avoids paying taxes. He takes advantage of old people who have nowhere to turn and the body count is starting to add up. I would appreciate that you would keep this message confidential. You are welcome to broadcast it as much as you like without printing what I have written in here. Someone needs to get the word out. I have contacted everyone that needs to know about this and I am in the process of contacting the BBB and filing a bar complaint about the lawyer he is involved with. Thanks.”

______________________________

“I just looked at your website and saw the reply to your allegations by the lawyer Benjamin Horton where he threatens to sue you by defaming modification review board, and he states that modification review board has its own lawyer and they work together sometimes is a complete lie. He states…

“With respect to the accusations on your website, Modification Review Board does temporarily share some of the content with one of our Preferred Law, PLLC websites. Modification Review Board, LLC has its own attorney and paralegals, and often works with our law firm in assisting homeowners with federal home loan assistance.

Mod Review Board does not have a lawyer except Ben Horton and Jon Hanleys father. If they did why did that lawyer not threaten you? He was too busy so Ben had to do it? So you can prove that one easily by asking what the lawyers name is. They won’t be able to provide one. So let me know if you have any questions. Thanks.”

Again, these accusations are entirely false. Although these comments seem to have been written by an unknown person, it is apparent that the individual is only building on Mr. Rhode’s previous misleading information regarding CC Brown in his malicious and false attempt to imply a relationship. In other words, Steve Rhode started the false rumor and has now allowed other deceitful competitors to surreptitiously build on Mr. Rhode’s false information without facing any liability for defamation. I don’t believe Section 230 of the Communications Decency Act will shield Mr. Rhode from liability in these circumstances.

We are demanding that your client remove the offending three comments (quoted above) within seven days from the date of this e-mail. Although you seemed to indicate that your client was not interested in resolving this matter outside of the courts, I do not believe it will be in your client’s best interest to hale him into court either here or in North Carolina. Although I prefer to resolve this dispute amicably, if the offending materials are not removed within seven days from the date of this e-mail, we will file a lawsuit against Mr. Rhode and the Myvesta Foundation for substantial damages. Thank you.

~ Benjamin Horton

Is Modification Review Board in Sandy Utah Legit? by

Share This and Spread the Word

About Steve Rhode

Steve Rhode
Steve Rhode is the Get Out of Debt Guy and has been helping good people with bad debt problems since 1994. You can learn more about Steve, here.
  • Ms. Banks

    Just heard about this Co. today off my radio station, called them and they are sending info. ; Are there any recent info. on them?

  • inILLINOIS

    I am a legal aid attorney working in IL and I have had clients swindled out of their money from “law firms” in Sandy, Utah. The attorney these companies operated under was Jack Brannelly. There was confusing web of company names that all centered around a handful of addresses in Sandy, UT: Vannova Legal, Vanguard Legal, and Brannelly Law. There were other related companies involved in real estate and short sales, too. It is very interesting that all of these places have been operated from Sandy, UT!!! There has to be a connection!

    Please do not pay money to be considered for a loan modification!!!! There are plenty of agencies that can and will do it for FREE! Everyone ends up at the same point: the bank’s underwriters decide if you qualify. A law firm you pay cannot negotiate anything better, no matter what they claim.

    • inILLINOIS

      oh, it looks like you addressed this company in a different post! Yep, something is definitely wrong here!! Thanks for creating a place for people to get some feedback about these scammers!

  • greg kissinger

    I was with preferred law paid them $1000 dollars to stop the sell of my house and they did also paid them $3900 to modify my loan a year later no modify they want more money $300 / month and when I said no the drop me

  • http://GetOutOfDebt.org Steve Rhode

    See March 4, 2013 update with email from Benjamin Horton.

  • http://GetOutOfDebt.org Steve Rhode

    I was not trying to imply CC Brown was related to Modification Review Board. This was just a comment related to a mortgage modification company in Utah that had under investigation by the FBI. Mortgage modification Utah was the common bond, not Modification Review Board or Preferred Law.

  • Modification Review Board Scam

    I am reporting that your correct about modification review board in sandy utah being a mortgage modification scam. Jonathan Hanley is wanted by the FBI in relation to a criminal “mortgage modification” investigation under the name of CC Brown in Utah. He left that fraud firm to start a new one, and his website and everything you mentioned is all a scam. He is charging customers upfront fees of $3900 for a modification, he guarantees the modification but then leaves the customer who paid the fee with almost zero work. He advises them to stop making their mortgage payments and he has taken advantage of 1000′s of people while he takes all of their money. In some cases he charges a “emergency fee” of an additional $1000 up front if the person’s house is in foreclosure promising to stop the foreclosure, but doesn’t.

    Due to the law that a person cannot charge up front fees unless they are a law firm, he circumvents it by paying a friend of his who is a lawyer, that is not employed by modification review board an amount for each customer so that he can “pretend” he is a law firm and even represents himself as a law firm. He has been reported to the FBI and they are currently investigating him. So I thought you would like to know that you were correct.

    His website is phoney, he runs a make shift operation with people who are criminals and avoids paying taxes. He takes advantage of old people who have nowhere to turn and the body count is starting to add up. I would appreciate that you would keep this message confidential. You are welcome to broadcast it as much as you like without printing what I have written in here. Someone needs to get the word out. I have contacted everyone that needs to know about this and I am in the process of contacting the BBB and filing a bar complaint about the lawyer he is involved with. Thanks.

    • http://GetOutOfDebt.org Steve Rhode

      Benjamin Horton, Esq., representing Modification Review Board, indicates he will file suit against you for the above comment. If you wish for me to remove it, please let me know.

  • Modification Review Board Scam

    I just looked at your website and saw the reply to your allegations by the lawyer Benjamin Horton where he threatens to sue you by defaming modification review board, and he states that modification review board has its own lawyer and they work together sometimes is a complete lie. He states…

    “With respect to the accusations on your website, Modification Review Board does temporarily share some of the content with one of our Preferred Law, PLLC websites. Modification Review Board, LLC has its own attorney and paralegals, and often works with our law firm in assisting homeowners with federal home loan assistance.

    Mod Review Board does not have a lawyer except Ben Horton and Jon Hanleys father. If they did why did that lawyer not threaten you? He was too busy so Ben had to do it? So you can prove that one easily by asking what the lawyers name is. They won’t be able to provide one. So let me know if you have any questions. Thanks.

  • Jackie Nelson

    Wow…it’s a real live modern day witch hunt.  Shame shame
    shame on you Steve.  Your unbelievable, I think “Mr. Get Out of Debt” has
    outgrown his britches people.  Before I have a chat with him I will
    respond to “terry” if “terry” really exists.  Oddly
    terry doesn’t sign the bottom of her posting. She doesn’t capitalize her name
    even.  That seems very strange to me.  If she exists perhaps she
    should ALSO produce documents that prove she is really a person IN addition to
    the documents she is supposed to share about Modification Review Board and not
    Steve’s “Mr Get out of Debts” version of a way to make Modification Review
    Board look poorly because he didn’t like their “supposed nastygram.” I went and
    read the letter from the lawyer at Modification Review Board, and he doesn’t
    say anything nasty in it.  Matter of fact it was completely legal from my
    perspective. 

    You’re attempting to put down their company and possibly
    losing customers SO they ask you nicely to take your misleading information down
    that could potentially harm their business and your so unprofessional
    that you call it a nastygram??? That is a red flag for me Sir.  Be professional AT least. 

    So I am going to give you a taste of your own medicine.

    First, my response to Terry or terry as it were….Bank of
    America is the most horrible lender on the planet.  

    See http://money.cnn.com/2010/10/28/real_estate/robosigner/index.htm?iid=EL

    And:  http://georgewashington2.blogspot.com/2011/08/bank-of-america-down-15-today-after.html

    And:  http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2011-09-02/bank-of-america-shares-slump-on-concern-of-lawsuit-by-u-s-finance-agency.html

    And http://www.thefloridanewsjournal.com/2011/08/08/stock-fall-for-bank-of-america-over-news-of-10-billion-lawsuit-toxic-mortgages

    When I lost employment during the 9/11 attacks,  Bank of
    America was supposed to help me with my mortgage and give me a forebearance,
    but guess what?  They made me spend hours
    and hours on the phone trying to “talk them into it” and in the end after a
    year without work, I didn’t get a single ounce of assistance or compassion from
    them.

    Bank of America is currently being sued for BILLIONS of
    dollars for their illegal practices in mortgage lending.  BILLIONS! 
    I don’t see Mr. “I don’t know dick about debt” guy responding to
    “terry” in any form about her problem with Bank of America or how to “really”
    handle it.  Why? Because he ISN’T EXPERIENCED OR QUALIFIED.

    Well, let me tell you.  If you go under on your
    mortgage payments for any reason you can spend hours and HOURS and MONTHS AND
    MONTHS on the phone with them, trying to get help.  And guess what, you
    will talk to someone different every time including representative’s out of the
    United States that have crappy English or none at all.  Then when you do
    that for months and cry your eyes out over your dream home, and looking into
    your children’s eyes trying to explain why the big bad bank won’t let mommy
    keep her house it is time to find professional help.  I spent months and
    months and months submitting, and re-submitting and re-submitting paperwork to
    Bank of America, they made me chase around so much I had to start taking an
    anti-depressant. When I knew I had to talk to them it made me have chest pain
    THAT is how bad it was.

    Sure, modifications are GRANTED by Bank of America, but they don’t have to give
    you one.  They don’t have to do anything for you. Matter of fact they
    DON’T want to do anything for you but, with professional help, from a company
    that does modifications for many people and works with Bank of America (my
    paralegal had done tons of modifications with Bank of America) who are
    experienced, who know the in’s and out’s of what it takes to get a modification
    and all of the big gigantic load of crap it takes to deal with Bank of America
    then that is the person I will gladly hand my money over to. 

    When I contacted Modification Review Board, they made no
    guarantee, but it’s because I have common sense.  Nothing is guaranteed.  You’re an idiot if you think there are any
    guarantees.  What they did for me was
    take over, they made it so I no longer had to call and talk to Bank of America,
    I no longer had to deal with them, I no longer had to send them thousands of
    papers over and over.  I no longer had to
    worry, I stopped crying and stopped having panic attacks.  That to me, was worth far more than the fee
    that I paid Modification Review Board. 
    They negotiated a modification, that I would have never ever gotten in a
    million years unless I performed some sort of sexual favor for the CEO of Bank
    of America.  And as a result they took
    the payment I could not make, and made it affordable.  From $1373.00 to $874.00, I was at a whopping
    8% which was reduced to 4% and for those of you who cannot do math, that saved
    me $250,000.00 over the course of my loan. 
    Did you hear me? A quarter of a million dollars.  People attempt to go on game shows to get
    that kind of money. So here is the equation, pay Modification Review Board
    $3900 dollars and save myself from a heart attack to save myself
    $250,000.00.  Hmmmm….wow….that is such a
    hard equation… Do I take the quarter of a million dollars or complain about a
    fee that is MINOR in the scheme of things. 
    Let me tell you what $3900 dollars pays for. 

    1.      1. 
    Having to listen to me cry and bitch for hours.

    2.      
    2. Having to talk to Bank of America on my behalf
    over and over and over and over to the 10th power. 

    3.      3.
    Spending hours and hours and hours and hours
    sending the same documentation to Bank of America over and over and over and
    over because they are incompetent idiots that can’t keep adequate files.

    4.      4. 
    Spending hours and hours and hours on HOLD with
    Bank of America trying to talk to a rep on my behalf.

    5.      5. 
    Spending hours and hours and hours having to
    recount my situation to an incompetent rep at Bank of America that didn’t
    understand English.

    6.      6. 
    Spending hours and hours and hours going through
    the negotiation process with Bank of America, who was unwilling to help
    me. 

    7.      7. 
    Spending hours and hours gathering my
    information from ME that was required for a modification BY Bank of America.

    8.      
    8. Spending hours and hours and hours faxing my big
    pile of documents to Bank of America

    9.      
    9. Emailing and calling me constantly to update me on what was
    happening.

    That to me was worth a million dollars AND I
    would have paid way more than what I paid for that kind of service.  Thanks you guys!

    I knew that Modification Review Board would go to bat for me
    and try to kick Bank of America in the nuts on my behalf.  And guess what they did.  They kicked Bank of America in the nuts for
    $250.000.00! So you can attempt to do a modification yourself and you will
    fail.  I am smart and talented and excellent
    in negotiations and I COULDN’T DO it.  So
    the average person will have a harder time, what about those people who are
    less than average?  They get stomped on.

    You can also try to get a non-profit agency to do it, and
    they will fail or give you some kind of crappy offer and tell you “maybe it’s
    better if you let your house go” OR you can hire someone who knows what they
    are doing and then let them do it for you. 

    It’s very similar to when a person visits an attorney and lays down
    whatever the attorney asks to file Bankruptcy, your familiar with bankruptcy Steve, 
    I don’t see bankruptcy attorney’s failing.   They are FLOURISHING AND they are collecting
    MONEY from people who can’t pay their bills. 
    Somehow those folks are coming up with the $1000 dollar or MORE retainer
    fee to pay their attorney.  Oh wait, I
    know where they get the money! They stop having to pay all the debt they owe
    and that free’s up money to pay the attorney. 
    Wow, seems like a scheme to me. 
    If I judge it out of one eye laying on my back through a piece of wax
    paper.  DUH….seriously.  And you Steve are recommending bankruptcy to
    people!

    I knew that I was in good hands when Bank of America sent ME
    A NOTICE that said, ummm we received a Cease and Desist order from your
    attorney ordering us to stop trying to throw you and your babies out of your
    house, and the reason we are sending it is because by law we are required to
    inform you of any changes to your account. 
    When I opened that up, I laughed and laughed and laughed and then took
    my kids to dinner to celebrate.

    So Mr. “I wish I knew how to help people get out of debt guy” I wished you
    would have taken the time to really do your research, I think that maybe the
    time you spent underwater working on a boat or flying your plane or riding your
    motorcycle robbed you of some brain cells because I can’t even FATHOM that YOU
    of all people are giving advice, when the first sentence on your “getting
    to know you” page says that YOU got into debt because YOU failed in real
    estate. 

    Folks, do you really want advice from someone about your mortgage
    who failed at real estate???  I don’t give a crap what the economy did, my
    brother and several of my friends managed to get through the economy
    flourishing in the real estate industry when you say you tanked. 

    So, Mr “I suck at running businesses and should NOT be
    giving people any kind of advice “ Guy it’s your turn.  And if you decide to edit or remove my post
    as it is your website, I will happily build a website and put it at the top of
    google with all of your mis-information that say things that will make people
    wonder what you’re up to.  I will show you
    how fast you can go down in flames. 
    Ready?

     

    First, your profile says, that you:

    1. In 1990 I went bankrupt after the economy tanked and my
    real estate company failed. 

    2. Then you say: After having lived through tough money
    troubles in 1994 I founded a non-profit organization to help people find a path
    through their financial troubles and solutions for debt problems.

    So, do I understand it correctly you either

    A.     
    a. Did a typo and put 1990 and 1994? and your full
    of crap

    B.      
    b. You
    sucked in your finances from 1990 until 1994?

    C.      
    c. You sucked
    in your finances in 1990 and then screwed up and sucked again in 1994?  In which case, you might be qualified to talk
    to people about debt.

    Next, let me see if I understand this, you went through
    medical school in ophthalmology and then sucked at it so bad you decided to
    leave to go into real estate????  Which,
    again I say, you failed at it.

    THEN you create a new business to help people called Debt
    Counselors of America which has more complaints on the web than anyone I have
    ever researched.   THEN you build that up
    from 2 people to 90 wonderful working professionals and when your lease comes
    due on your business space you decide your done and leave and don’t pay that
    bill either??? Why am I not surprised?  Good job Steve, that sounds
    really nice to your 90 employees.  So basically
    that put them in debt possibly on their mortgage because you left them without a
    job.

    Or is it that “Debt Counselors of America” got so many major
    illegal complaints about you and you decide to change the name to Myvesta?  YOU CLAIM you changed it because Americans
    were incompetent and couldn’t spell counselor so you renamed it an even easier  name to spell of Myvesta???….hmm lets see Merv, can you spell counselor or
    myvesta?….counselor or myvesta?….huh?  You
    thought that it was easier to tell people Myvesta??? Are you high???  I can imagine you having to spell that over
    and over and over.  “Yes please Steve I
    would love your help with my debt, what is the name of your company? My
    what?  My what? My vest? Huh?”

    When your accused of illegal practices under the name Debt
    Counselors of America you post a story on your website that says “OMG I don’t
    know who those people are and that they are imposters!

    I found a legal document at http://www.corp.ca.gov/ENF/pdf/2002/myvesta.pdf
    that names you as a defendant in a legal action taken against you by none other
    than the Great State Of California, and oddly they name you “Debt Counselors of
    America” AND “MYVESTA” and they sent you a Cease and Desist order to stop your
    illegal check fraud ring and offering debt counseling when your not qualified
    to give it. 

    On top of that I don’t understand why if your such a hot
    topic the books that you have written are not available for sale? They are so
    bad your offering them for free? 

    Next, your so called “non-profit” when I opened your website
    I counted 62 links that people could click to go and find an attorney or to
    take out a loan.  That isn’t so
    non profit Steve, you get paid for every single one of the people that click
    those links, so don’t lie Steve, your not non profit.  Your full of crap.

    Wow, after I googled you there were hundreds of complaints
    like:

    http://www.debtmanagementguys.com/blog/144/rebuttal-to-steve-rhode-the-get-out-of-debt-guy-dork/

    So the moral of the story is this, you failed at EVERY
    SINGLE BUSINESS YOU OWNED.  That is a big
    fat red flag folks.  Do not take advice
    from someone who cannot make any business work.

    So no Steve you don’t do good things, you didn’t do a good
    thing to Modification Review Board, but I am guessing it is because you suck so
    bad that you don’t know a good thing when it comes around and your full of
    crap. 

    Matter of fact I know why you
    tried to harm Modification Review Board’s good name! 
    You want people to lose their homes so they will come to you looking for
    debt advice and you can make money off of them when they click your banners!
    Duh!!!!

    If Modification Review Board saves
    their homes, who will they turn to?  Oh I
    know, no one because they will be paying their bill and won’t be in debt.  Wow, people can’t you see through this guy’s
    crap?

    I am more than happy to be contacted by ANYONE who wants to
    verify what I went through and what they did for me, I am sure Modification
    Review Board has references as well.  So
    if your dumb and want dumb advice, keep talking to Steve and his b.s. of
    bashing businesses that help consumers and boost our economy so he can keep his
    “debt advice” going or hurry and run and get out of here before he sells your
    information to some shady debt relief company.

    Heres some advice for you Steve, GET A JOB and contribute to
    our economy! Oh wait, sorry I forgot you can’t KEEP a job.

    Feel free to contact me, I am a real person, my name is
    Jackie Nelson and you can reach me at [email protected].  I am living in my dream home that I built and
    remodeled after Modification Review Board helped me save it from Bank of
    America (and they kicked them in the nuts for $250,000.)

    Hugs!
     

    • http://GetOutOfDebt.org Steve Rhode

      I’m glad you had a wonderful experience with Modification Review Board. Others are certainly welcome to post their experience with them as well.

      In your response to praise Modification Review Board you engage in a sarcastic attack against me which contains so much factually incorrect information that responding to it all would create an even larger post. However, many of the typical attacks against me and answers can be found here. http://getoutofdebt.org/the-getoutofdebt-org-and-steve-rhode-faq/

      Let’s turn our attention back to the reader question and my response. What in my response is incorrect?

      The reader said, “At time I don’t have the money but was going to get it out of my retirement again. I don’t know what to do. Please give some advice.”

      What I advised the reader was to contact a free HUD Housing Counselor and ask for an evaluation of their situation. That certainly seems like a logical and reasonable approach before first taking money from a retirement account.

      I also posted some factual issues that raised questions for me and I reported those and linked to the source documents that show where that information came from.

      My request to Mr. Horton for some clarification to some of those issues remains open. And as I said to him in my response, “And if there is something that I got factually wrong in the story or there is anything you would like to publicly comment on, please feel free to add a comment onto the post so readers can hear from you directly.”

      My offer still stands.

    • Guest

      I have just been in contact with this company and everything sounds too good to be true with everything we have encountered regarding a modification. My only concern is that the three reviews I found are all from the beginning of 2012. It was stated to me over the phone it takes 4-6 months to actually complete this process. Are you concrete with paperwork done? This is a huge decision for us and I am nervous. Thank you.

      • http://GetOutOfDebt.org Steve Rhode

        If you are nervous or hesitant at all I’m sure Modification Review Board would support your decision to get a second opinion from another attorney that is licensed in your state and review your decision about what is best for you in your situation.

        Make sure you speak with the attorney directly for specific legal advice.

      • Frances Moore

        we have just been advised that we can get a modification also and this came after all of the denials for the last 2 years.  I also am scared because i have already spent so much money with no results.

  • DeAnna Owens

    Jonathan Hanley is not a manager of a defunct law office as according to the Utah Government Services site their registration is active.  Also Benjamin Horton is the primary for the other two LLCs so I have to ask why in the name of the gods would anyone claim this business as predatory.  So far they have been nothing but fair and delivered everything they’ve promised to my family and others I have found reviews for on the web.  If you want to pick apart sister companies fine, but don’t use them as a means to defame the original company in question.  There are a lot of people out there hurting and FYI HUD won’t do crap for you if you haven’t been current on your note for at least the last year, I know, we’ve tried to go through them.  Problem is, big banks are telling people NOT to pay their mortgages so they will qualify for their modifications.  This website is garbage and frankly you should be ashamed of yourself for not doing further research and actually talking to people who HAVE been working with these companies successfully.   That being said, I find my own search for negative information on this company finished as your article is the ONLY one who spews this crap.  

    • http://GetOutOfDebt.org Steve Rhode

      I’m happy to correct anything I published that was in error. Are you claiming something in my article is incorrect? If so, can you be more specific what it is, please.

      It appears your first statement is actually directed at another commenter.

  • Jdice292010
  • Guest

    Jonathan Hanley was the manager of the now defunct Law Offices of CC Brown.  They were closed under order form the State of Utah.  Modificaation Review Board uses the same graphics as the old CC Brown web site and are up to the same antics

    • Jdice292010

      What do you mean the same antics?? What were they doing? Can someone email me and explain??

Get My FREE Get Out of Debt Guy Newsletter

It is the smart thing to do.

I promise to keep your email safe and secure.

Close

I want to keep you posted each weekday with just one email about the latest get out of debt news, scam alerts and information to beat back debt.

You can unsubscribe at any time with just one click.

After you subscribe, check your email to confirm your subscription. If the confirmation email does not appear in your inbox in a few minutes, check your spam folder for it. Sometimes it likes to annoyingly hide there.


  • It will keep you posted on the latest scams.
  • You will be alerted to the latest articles.
  • You will wind up smarter than everyone else dealing with debt.