Latest Posts
Home > Scam Reporter > Direct Buy > DirectBuy of Shreveport Bossier – Consumer Complaint – 4-21-2012

DirectBuy of Shreveport Bossier – Consumer Complaint – 4-21-2012

Date This Problem Happened: September 26, 2009

State You Live in: Louisiana

Race/Ethnicity: Black or African American

Age Range: 21-35

Total Amount of Fee Paid:

Company Name: DirectBuy of Shreveport Bossier

Company Address:

Company Telephone Number:

2940 Bert Kouns Industrial Loop
Shreveport, Louisiana 71118

Website of Company: directbuy-shreveport.com

DirectBuy of Shreveport Bossier   Consumer Complaint   4 21 2012

Consumer Statement:

My wife and myself are experiencing a very difficult situation with a downpayment made to Direct Buy of Shreveport/Bossier City on 9/26/09.

My wife has made numerous attempts to resolve the situation and continues to receive the run around. They haven’t refused to refund the money but always come up with an excuse or something to get around it.

Initially we contacted Direct-Buy of Shreveport/Bossier City on 9/29/09 explaining that after viewing the Direct Buy magazine and the prices we didn’t feel it was the same as what was advertised at there open house.

We also explained that we weren’t sure we wanted to continue with the membership. We were told that the magazine is only a small portion of Direct Buy and we should definitely wait and come to the open house where they explain the ordering process and go into detail of how Direct Buy works. It sounded reasonable at the time so we agreed.

The next day my wife called them back because we found out that we wouldn’t be able to return to Shreveport on the day of the open house and it would be a while before we could get back to Shreveport. We at that time let them know and they said we could set up a different time and day so we did that. Again it sounded very understanding and reasonable.

The next call was on October 10, 2009 and because we still hadn’t made it down to Shreveport we really felt it wasn’t the right time to be trying to understand or resolve this and still paying all the money so we explained to DirectBuy that although they had been patience with us in helping we still at that time thought it would be best to cancel membership.

We also let them know on top of the prices in the magazine not being the same as advertised in their open house we still hadn’t received membership access or cards which was unacceptable. We were told then that by the state law we only have three days to cancel a binding contract and it doesn’t have to be printed in the contract we signed. I found this crazy seeing no one said anything like that the first two times I called.

Plus it was advertised all over TV that you had thirty days. I’m unsure what type of scandal they are trying to pull but they are pulling one. We continued to get the run around and they wanted to set up a time/day for us to come and meet but of course we are in the military and both have crazy schedules. After talking for an hour I had to end the call and get back to work so nothing was resolved.

We called again on October 15, 2009 the conversation was about the same a lot of run around talking. The always sounded like they were going to resolve our issues but never followed through. After those calls I did some emailing and mailed a typed letter to them on December 2009. They responded with wanting us to come in and sit down to talk. At this point we don’t know what to do but they have 1,333.33 of our money and we have nothing.

We finally received the membership cards on 1/8/10.

Consumer Action Taken:

We have mailed a written request to cancel. We have emailed numerous times. They requested that we come in but our schedules do not permit us the time to do that.


If you feel you’ve been financially hurt by a debt relief company and deserve a refund, read these step-by-step instructions on how to proceed to attempt to get your money back.

If you do get your money back, come back and leave a comment about it. I’d love to praise companies that step-up and do the right thing for people.

Scam reports are submitted by consumers like you. If you would like to file a scam report, please click here.

If you are the company named in this report and you want to respond, please read How to Handle a Consumer Complaint Like a Pro And Come Out Smelling Like a Rose

DirectBuy of Shreveport Bossier - Consumer Complaint - 4-21-2012 by

Share This and Spread the Word

About Consumer

Consumer
This is information that was submitted by a third party and not generated by GetOutOfDebt.org or Steve Rhode.

Get My FREE Get Out of Debt Guy Newsletter

It is the smart thing to do.

I promise to keep your email safe and secure.

Close

I want to keep you posted each weekday with just one email about the latest get out of debt news, scam alerts and information to beat back debt.

You can unsubscribe at any time with just one click.

After you subscribe, check your email to confirm your subscription. If the confirmation email does not appear in your inbox in a few minutes, check your spam folder for it. Sometimes it likes to annoyingly hide there.


  • It will keep you posted on the latest scams.
  • You will be alerted to the latest articles.
  • You will wind up smarter than everyone else dealing with debt.