Latest Posts
Home > Scam Reporter > Universal Fidelity LP – Consumer Complaint – 6-7-2012

Universal Fidelity LP – Consumer Complaint – 6-7-2012

Consumer Statement:

I recvd a bill from Universal Fidelity LP for their client who is supposedly a legal successor of Hollywood Video. They are telling me from 2- 1/2 years ago that I have late rental fees from movies. I know this is untrue. I had a zero balance on my account when the store closed. I know this because I purchased some movies and went through my account.

There is even a repeat of the same movie on this supposed list of late rentals from October 2009 and again in December of 2010.

They are stating I owe $58.54 for movies rented in 10/18/09 up to 2/28/10.
I’m sure if you have late fees, they are not going to continue to still let you rent movies 5 months later. I believe this is a scam and they give a PO box to mail payments to in Texas.

Consumer Action Taken:

No contact because the debt is not valid. If it was, I would pay it.

Date This Problem Happened: April 6, 2012

State You Live in: Wisconsin

Race/Ethnicity: White

Age Range: 21-35

Total Amount of Fee Paid:

Company Name: Universal Fidelity LP

Company Address:

PO box 941911
Houston, TX 77094

Company Telephone Number:

Website of Company: payuflp.com


If you feel you’ve been financially hurt by a debt relief company and deserve a refund, read these step-by-step instructions on how to proceed to attempt to get your money back.

If you do get your money back, come back and leave a comment about it. I’d love to praise companies that step-up and do the right thing for people.

Scam reports are submitted by consumers like you. If you would like to file a scam report, please click here.

If you are the company named in this report and you want to respond, please read How to Handle a Consumer Complaint Like a Pro And Come Out Smelling Like a Rose

Universal Fidelity LP - Consumer Complaint - 6-7-2012 by

Share This and Spread the Word

About Consumer

Consumer
This is information that was submitted by a third party and not generated by GetOutOfDebt.org or Steve Rhode.
  • GBL

    November, 2012

    To whom it may concern:
    I received a letter from (Universal Fidelity, LP) stating that they are representing (Movie Gallery, Inc.), (Hollywood Video’s) successor in an attempt to collect a debt they claim that I still owe from March of 2009. I hate to get all “Columbo” on them but the following things struck me as odd:
    (1) If I owed Hollywood Video money, of which I don’t, why wouldn’t Movie Gallery Inc. have attempted to collect it first, before sending it to a collection agency?
    (2) Why would Hollywood Video’s successor (Movie Gallery, Inc) wait for more than 3 years before sending out a correspondence through Universal Fidelity, LP?
    I smell a big scam! Sorry Universal Fidelity, LP. Go take someone elses money!

  • Washingtonnavywife

    I received a collection notice from Universal Fidelity claiming I had owed money for XBOX games.  Funny thing is we  don’t own an XBOX.  I do believe this is a scam as well.

  • Ellisonlb8

    I also received a letter from Universal Fidelity LP, They claim I owe money from a store that was closed in June of 2009 but My debt is from Sept. of 2009, How does that work? So I have disputed this with them and I will be writing a letter to First Term Lenders about this issue. I really peaks my curiosity on why this company does not have a phone number you can only contact them by mail. I will send my letter certified that way they cannot claim that my dispute was never filed with them. I think this is bogus as I have already read about a dozen complaints about the same issue. It’s amazing how many former employees of Hollywood video are getting these letters.

  • Dimigar

    I received a letter from Universal Fidelity, LP also which claimed that I owe $16.45. I had a zero balance from Hollywood Video before it closed its Seattle store in 2009. 

Get My FREE Get Out of Debt Guy Newsletter

It is the smart thing to do.

I promise to keep your email safe and secure.

Close

I want to keep you posted each weekday with just one email about the latest get out of debt news, scam alerts and information to beat back debt.

You can unsubscribe at any time with just one click.

After you subscribe, check your email to confirm your subscription. If the confirmation email does not appear in your inbox in a few minutes, check your spam folder for it. Sometimes it likes to annoyingly hide there.


  • It will keep you posted on the latest scams.
  • You will be alerted to the latest articles.
  • You will wind up smarter than everyone else dealing with debt.