Latest Posts
Home > Scam Reporter > Financial 180 Group > Financial 180 Group – Consumer Complaint – 9-11-2012

Financial 180 Group – Consumer Complaint – 9-11-2012

Consumer Statement:

I am trying desperately to find out more information about Financial 180 Group. I have been sending them $1000 month for 2 years. The first year everything “has to go in arrears for us to begin negotiating on your behalf”. Then several of our accounts were settled. In between, I do not believe they have done much. However, they have an extreme failure to communicate so I do not really know. There website is no longer active. According to the BBB, they are out of business. The original phone number is disconnected and occassionally the 1-800 number has to.

Consumer Action Taken:

I have been calling and emailing for the last 4 weeks without any return communication. Finally I sent an email and stated that I felt like I deserve a return phone call on 9/4, I received a return email saying, “Yes, you do and I will call you tomorrow” Still no call. I am very concerned that my monthly payment is going no where that will help in the end. I do not know if I am being scammed. I still constant phone calls from debtors and do not know whether they are working with them or not. On 9/4/12, I recieved 3 messages from a debtor that they were supposed to be about done with negotiating.

Date This Problem Happened: September 4, 2012

State You Live in: Kentucky

Race/Ethnicity: White

Age Range: 36-50

Total Amount of Fee Paid: $12,000

Company Name: Financial 180 Group

Company Address:

Company Telephone Number: 858-831-9300

Website of Company: financial180group.com


Comment:

According to this page, the Financial 180 Group president is Rob Goldstein. – Source

But just recently we were contacted by a Rob Goldstein who demanded we remove information about him on the site, specifically in this post.

In an effort to make sure his side of that issue was heard we published his comment in which he states:

I restarted a company in 2009 called Financial 180 Group, which I sold 2 years ago. Again, I was a “back end” company, negotiating settlements for the clients who were sold by other companies. Again, I had no access to anyones money.

I sold the business because I did not like being associated with the debt management co’s or any tactics they did when they signed up clients.

In the transaction with ALF (Elaine Sorrels), I filed a lawsuit against her for non payment, and later out she was under indictment for fraud with a med spa, billing.. whatever transpired with clients after i sold the business had nothing to do with me.

In the transaction with David Huffman, Freedom Group, who purchased Financial 180, I later sued him as well. – Source

So even though information is still out there saying Goldstein is the president of the company, apparently, as he says, he sold the company and Financial 180 Group was sold to Elaine Sorrels and ALF. Hopefully ALF is not the furry alien puppet we watched on television as a child.


If you feel you’ve been financially hurt by a debt relief company and deserve a refund, read these step-by-step instructions on how to proceed to attempt to get your money back.

If you do get your money back, come back and leave a comment about it. I’d love to praise companies that step-up and do the right thing for people.

Scam reports are submitted by consumers like you. If you would like to file a scam report, please click here.

If you are the company named in this report and you want to respond, please read How to Handle a Consumer Complaint Like a Pro And Come Out Smelling Like a Rose

Financial 180 Group - Consumer Complaint - 9-11-2012 by

Share This and Spread the Word

About Consumer

Consumer
This is information that was submitted by a third party and not generated by GetOutOfDebt.org or Steve Rhode.
  • Gloria
  • Gloria

    Look at this thread http://getoutofdebt.org/24239/attorney-needs-help-with-debt-lawyers-of-america-debt-arbitrators-of-america-and-financial-crisis-180

    Try contacting David Huffmans brothers, both in San Diego. One, (I think his name is Phil) owns Scripps Mortgage and the other (Steve) is a developer Sandiegoapartments.Com.

    David Huffman has no intention of helping anyone except himself. he helps himself to your money and then lives an extravagant and deviant lifestyle.
    Do what ever you have to do to stop any more payments, even if you have to close your bank account. He will not give up! Rachael, Brandon and John Allen have worked for Huffman for 7-9 years, so don’t expect anything good from them. They know what is going on and have the same moral stands as Huffman. It is a sad little group that would steal from anyone without a second thought.

  • Bert Defazio

    I am in the process of taking this company to Court. My Attorney is in California. Getting court order to confiscate all my records. I have recorded all my phone conversations with Rachel, the half witt Brandon, and the thief David Huffman. I have all the promises of sending me my refund, on digital recording.. I am going to blow the lid off of this company with the help of an IRS AGENT. I am a retired Police Officer from NY and currently working in Law Enforcement in S.C.. … Mr Huffman has Fucked with the wrong Cop… i AM FINISHED LISTENING TO RACHEL SAY EVERYONE IS BUSY HELPING OTHER CLIENTS AND WE WILL CALL YOU BACK…..SEE YOU IN COURT RACHEL… AND david !!!!

    • Margaret Sloan

      I have been trying for the past 2 years I wish you luck, I get the same run around as you do. These thief’s need to go to prison, I just cannot image how much money they have stolen from people. I have contacted my AG and the California AG along with the FTC and other government agencies. I just don’t know what else to do, I have gotten an attorney and he tell me that there are other AG in Oregon and Michigan that have order David Huffman to pay. I guess Missouri will be next. This is the lowest thing I feel anyone could do. Rachel has told me that someone will return my calls that has never happened. Do you know that Huffman is operating a construction company, this was verified by Rachel. http://www.davidhuffmanconstruction.com/ If you check out the Oregon http://www.cbs.state.or.us/dfcs/securities/enf/orders/DM-11-0131.pdf you will see he has been checking his e-mail for Freedom Group from the construction e-mail. This guy is a scam artist and I don’t think any of us will see a dime. He needs to go to prison.
      Margaret Sloan Kansas City MO.

  • Bert DeFazio

    I have paid over 11,000 dollars to the company over the past two years. They have not paid one penny toward my depts. When I tried to get my money back, they told me they only owe me 3600.00 which they refunded me, and the rest was all fees. That was not the correct amount . I have been trying for 3 months and have gotten nothing but a run around. The company admitted that they owe me more money. I have recorded all my phone conversations with this company, admitting that they owed me money and the wrong amount was in-fact returned to me….., They even went as far as stating to me that they sent me a check!!!!! . Never did…. Getting a return phone call is nothing but excuses.. I am a retired law enforcement Officer,and a first responder at 911 with medical bills. i NEED THIS MONEY OWED TO ME… I have connections in California with a Relative Attorney, the Attorney General, and numerous I.R.S. Agents…….This company is in for a big surprise come the first of the year . Anyone doing business with Financial 180…..GET OUT NOW…YOUR MONEY IS IN THE WRONG HANDS . I am giving them 7 days from this post to deliver me a certified check , in my hand for the balance owed. After that… Financial 180 will be financial 0… The only way I can submit this is with a star rating from 1 – 5…there is no zero

  • Robyn

    In Regards to Financial 180 Group I would suggest you contact the escrow account that takes your money every month and ask them for your money that is in escrow. Then I would contact your bank and tell them not to release the funds any more to them. Then send a certified letter to Financial 180 Group that you are canceling your contract with them.

  • Kimberly

    Dear Steve,

    With regard to Rob Goldstein’s post to you on 9-10-12:
    His claim that “All we did was actually negotiate settlements for clients, and NEVER did we have any control or access to any accounts of the clients.. We were paid by the “front end” companies, when we made settlements” is a COMPLETELY FRAUDULENT STATEMENT and, unlike him, I’m not just blowing smoke. I actually have the cancelled check to prove it. In 2005, he and his assistant Cindy deposited my $20K check into their FSC “trust” account to be used as settlements for my debtors (which was never done). His “trust” account was NEVER transferred to ANY other company. HE WITHDREW AND RETAINED ALL FUNDS from that “trust” account. Just setting the record straight. He can claim he’s an honest person and a reputable business owner until he’s blue in the face. The bottom line is that he is a predator and a thief. Thank you for allowing people to post their financial horror stories.

  • M Sloan

    Looks like Huffman has started another business call David Huffman contruction.  
    http://www.cbs.state.or.us/dfcs/securities/enf/orders/DM-11-0131.pdf  He is checking his e-mails for freedom group through the e-mail address on this order.

  • M. Sloan

    If you dealing with David Huffman he has taken $2134.00 of my money I asked for a refund in Sept 2011,  good luck.  When you call Financial 180 a person will answer and her name is Rachel and she will take your name and number.  I’ve been calling and Huffman is never in and doesn’t return calls….so good luck with that.

    I have contacted both AG’s in my state and  CA.  The BBB and the FTC…I have not gotten anything from them saying that they were able to find Huffman.  Good luck with anything you try,  this guy Huffman is a scam artist and a low life,  My husband and I are both disabled and could really use the money for medical bill and house repair.  Good luck,  I just don’t know where else to turn.

    I just don’t understand how,  when people have complained to state and federal authorities that this guy could bilk hundreds of people out of their money.  He’s a low life.

Get My FREE Get Out of Debt Guy Newsletter

It is the smart thing to do.

I promise to keep your email safe and secure.

Close

I want to keep you posted each weekday with just one email about the latest get out of debt news, scam alerts and information to beat back debt.

You can unsubscribe at any time with just one click.

After you subscribe, check your email to confirm your subscription. If the confirmation email does not appear in your inbox in a few minutes, check your spam folder for it. Sometimes it likes to annoyingly hide there.


  • It will keep you posted on the latest scams.
  • You will be alerted to the latest articles.
  • You will wind up smarter than everyone else dealing with debt.