Latest Posts
Home > Scam Reporter > iCreditCentral > iCreditCentral – Consumer Complaint – 9-11-2012

iCreditCentral – Consumer Complaint – 9-11-2012

Consumer Statement:

On 8/12/2012 I submitted information to icreditcentral.com in order to obtain information about potential lenders for individuals in my credit situation. Upon submittal I received a page indicating that an error had occured. I called the phone # provided in order to obtain information about the error and was directed to voicemail. I left contact information. Noone returned my call. On 8/13 I received numerous phone texts and calls and 200+ e-mails from various alleged lenders and other services. On 8/14(?) I contacted icreditcentral.com via their website. Again; attempting to determine what the error was and what to do and why I was being bombarded with calls etc. Again; I received no response. On 8/17 I went to my bank to determine why my bank balance had increased and learned that a company named AmericanWebLoan had deposited $400 into my account. They apparently did so using the information that I provided to icreditcentral without any authorization from me and without providing any information to me regarding the terms and conditions of their loan or providing an opportunity to refuse their loan offer. Additionally; at least 2 other companies that I have never heard of that are apparently affiliated with icreditcentral have withdrawn funds from my account. Consequently; I have been forced to close my bank account. I will apparently also have to change my phone number and email in order to put a stop to the numerous calls, texts, and spam e-mails that I have been receiving as an apparent consequence of providing my information to icreditcentral. This experience with icreditcentral, especially their failure to respond to my requests for assistance while apparently providing my information to numerous spammers and BBB “F” rated companies such as AmericanWebLoan, has been extremely stressful to say the least.

Based upon:

  • the 1000+ spam e-mails,
  • dozens of phone calls (including 6 pushing the known “Government Grant” scam, and 7 from from someone using 6 different phone #’s and names demanding an immediate callback from myself or my attorney who apparently withdrew funds from my account based upon my leaving my name on voicemail after the first call),
  • dozens of text messages indicating loan approval from known/suspected scammers,
  • and several postal mailings from payday lenders with rates like $15 per $100 per week plus handling fees

all of which occurred subsequent to my submitting a “loan application” for a “secured personal loan” via the icreditcentral.com.

it is clear to me that icreditcentral.com is little more than a one-stop shop for providing your personal information to virtually any scammer or spammer who might succeed and pay icreditcentral an affiliate fee.

Consumer Action Taken:

As indicated; I tried to contact icreditcentral.com both by phone and their website contact information and received no response. I filed a complaint with the BBB regarding the situation and the lack of response. I followed up with icreditcentral’s response to the BBB complaint (basically; they stated that they to do not retain information and had no knowledge regarding my application, phone call, or website contact.). I followed up with BBB’s request for further information after the complaint was closed as unresolved.

Additionally; I had to close my bank account and have the bank a) return the unauthorized deposit from AmericanWebLoan and b) initiate fraud complaints with respect to the fraudulent withdrawals.

Date This Problem Happened: August 12, 2012

State You Live in: Pennsylvania

Race/Ethnicity: White

Age Range: 51-65

Total Amount of Fee Paid:

Company Name: iCreditCentral

Company Address:

Company Telephone Number: 888-313-5806

Website of Company: icreditcentral.com

iCreditCentral   Consumer Complaint   9 11 2012

Additional Information Supplied by Consumer:

BBB Complaint #1

Thank you for using the Better Business Bureau’s Online Complaint System.

Complaint Description:

On 8/12/2012 I submitted information to icreditcentral.com in order to obtain information about potential lenders for individuals in my credit situation. Upon submittal I received a page indicating that an error had occured. I called the phone # provided in order to obtain information about the error and was directed to voicemail. I left contact information. Noone returned my call. On 8/13 I received numerous phone texts and calls and 200+ e-mails from various alleged lenders and other services. On 8/14(?) I contacted icreditcentral.com via their website. Again; attempting to determine what the error was and what to do and why I was being bombarded with calls etc. I received no response. On 8/17 I went to my bank to determine why my bank balance had increased and learned that AmericanWebLoan had deposited $400 into my account.

I explained to the bank that I had never heard of AmericanWebLoan, had had no contact with them that I was aware of, had NOT authorized any activity with them and did not want the $400 or ANYTHING to do with AmericanWebLoan. The bank advised me to immediately close my account. I am still awaiting information as to whether, or not, the bank can return the $400. AmericanWebLoan apparently used the information provided by me to icreditcentral.com and deposited funds to my account without any authorization from me to do so, without providing any information to me regarding the terms and conditions for doing business with them, and without any opportunity to refuse any offer from them.

I am hopeful that the bank can return the unsolicited and unauthorized deposit. This entire episode has been extremely stressful and having to close my bank account has resulted in financial difficulties due to the inability to access my funds pending resolution of all activity pending against the closed account. Additionally; either icreditcentral or AmericanWebLoan has apparently provided my contact information to every phone and e-mail spammer resulting in spam from dating services, schools, other lenders, workathome offers, baby product “gifts”, and more.

I am now receiving dozens of calls and texts and as many as 200 e-mail spams per day. I will apparently have to close my e-mail account and change my phone # in order to put an end to it. Based upon what I have learned about AmericanWebLoan since discovering their activity it appears that I may also have to deal with their legal department when they are unable to withdraw “payments/fees” from my closed account as well as the problems that they will cause with credit rating firms.

Your Desired Resolution:

Take back their $400. Refund to me any fees etcetera drawn from my bank. Unsubscribe me from any/all of their “affiliates” to whom they provided my information. Cease and desist from any action against me with respect to any payments or fees and expunge any/all information submitted to credit reporting agencies regarding any business with me.

BBB Complaint #2

On August 22, 2012, you provided the following
information:

(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

As stated in the complaint I submitted the .application to icreditcentral on 8/12/12. Not 8/20/12 as indicated in their response. Per my phone log I called the phone number indicated with their error message 888-313-5806 at 3:37 pm and was connected to voicemail and left a message as directed.

Also; as indicated in my complaint I contacted icreditcentral again on 8/14(?) via their website contact form.

In neither case did a receive either by phone or e-mail any response from icreditcentral.

As to their statement that no date was retained and that they bear no responsibility for the spam, phone calls, or the unauthorized deposit of $400 to my account by americanwebloan (and their statement that they are not affiliated with americanwebloan), or the unauthorized withdrawals from my account: A) I have had the e-mail address for nearly 4 years and provide it only to those entities that I have researched, or know personally, and deem trustworthy. In the case of my providing it to icreditcentral I based my decision on the fact that I was submitting an application for a loan via their site and that they have a BBB A+ rating. During those 4 years I received a total of 16 messages that could be classified as spam and know the source/cause of each. Since submitting my information to icreditcentral that count has grown to nearly 500 and is growing daily. The majority of those from websites indicating that my loan request has “been approved”. B) icreditcentral’s loan application requests bank account and routing information. Again; I provided this information based upon icreditcentral’s BBB rating. This is the ONLY time I have ever provided such information on-line. Thus; it is the ONLY possible source of the information used by americanwebloan, or mymoneyleaf, or others. As stated in my complaint I was forced to close that account and I am still dealing with the repercussions.

As to icreditcentral’s denial of any involvement they are being either extremely disingenuous OR the so-called security of their website has been seriously compromised.

In either instance it does explain icreditcentral’s failure to respond to my inquiries regarding the error message or why I am being plagued by calls, texts, spam, and fraud as a result of submitting information via their loan application process.

Thus; this complaint has NOT been resolved.

BBB Complaint #3

Thank you for using the Better Business Bureau’s Online Complaint System.

Filed on : August 19 2012

Complaint Description:

On 8/12/2012 I submitted information to icreditcentral.com in order to obtain information about potential lenders for individuals in my credit situation. Upon submittal I received a page indicating that an error had occured. I called the phone # provided in order to obtain information about the error and was directed to voicemail. I left contact information. Noone returned my call. On 8/13 I received numerous phone texts and calls and 200+ e-mails from various alleged lenders and other services. On 8/14(?) I contacted icreditcentral.com via their website. Again; attempting to determine what the error was and what to do and why I was being bombarded with calls etc. Again; I received no response. On 8/17 I went to my bank to determine why my bank balance had increased and learned that a company named AmericanWebLoan had deposited $400 into my account. They apparently did so using the information that I provided to icreditcentral without any authorization from me and without providing any information to me regarding the terms and conditions of their loan or providing an opportunity to refuse their loan offer. Additionally; at least 2 other companies that I have never heard of that are apparently affiliated with icreditcentral have withdrawn funds from my account. Consequently; I have been forced to close my bank account. I will apparently also have to change my phone number and email in order to put a stop to the numerous calls, texts, and spam e-mails that I have been receiving as an apparent consequence of providing my information to icreditcentral. This experience with icreditcentral, especially their failure to respond to my requests for assistance while apparently providing my information to numerous spammers and BBB “F” rated companies such as AmericanWebLoan, has been extremely stressful to say the least.

Your Desired Resolution:

I would like to know why I received an error upon submittal of my information via their website and whether, or not, they can provide information about potential legitimate lenders for the type of loan I requested (secured personal loan). I would also like a stop put to the numerous calls, texts, and spam e-mails I am currently receiving from all of their apparent affiliates and related companies. Any assistance that they can provide regarding my efforts to return the unsolicited deposit from their affiliate AmericanWebLoan and end the fraudulent withdrawals from my bank account would also be appreciated.


If you feel you’ve been financially hurt by a debt relief company and deserve a refund, read these step-by-step instructions on how to proceed to attempt to get your money back.

If you do get your money back, come back and leave a comment about it. I’d love to praise companies that step-up and do the right thing for people.

Scam reports are submitted by consumers like you. If you would like to file a scam report, please click here.

If you are the company named in this report and you want to respond, please read How to Handle a Consumer Complaint Like a Pro And Come Out Smelling Like a Rose

iCreditCentral - Consumer Complaint - 9-11-2012 by

Share This and Spread the Word

About Consumer

Consumer
This is information that was submitted by a third party and not generated by GetOutOfDebt.org or Steve Rhode.

Get My FREE Get Out of Debt Guy Newsletter

It is the smart thing to do.

I promise to keep your email safe and secure.

Close

I want to keep you posted each weekday with just one email about the latest get out of debt news, scam alerts and information to beat back debt.

You can unsubscribe at any time with just one click.

After you subscribe, check your email to confirm your subscription. If the confirmation email does not appear in your inbox in a few minutes, check your spam folder for it. Sometimes it likes to annoyingly hide there.


  • It will keep you posted on the latest scams.
  • You will be alerted to the latest articles.
  • You will wind up smarter than everyone else dealing with debt.