Latest Posts
Home > Scam Reporter > World Law Plan – Consumer Complaint – November 16, 2012

World Law Plan – Consumer Complaint – November 16, 2012

Consumer Statement:

Please forgive this, but I am resubmitting the exact report that I sent to you previously on Nov 4, 2012, with Additional Developments noted at the bottom of this section and the next section.

World Law Plan owes me a $4,012.78 refund. The money was paid toward a $5,000 Flat Fee to be earned when they settled my debt, but it was never settled.

My agreement with World Law Plan was signed electronically on August 8, 2011 by means of an emailed document prepared by the company. My account was DD-2528. In the agreement, I authorized automatic monthly debits from my bank checking account of $550.68 on a sixty month schedule toward settling my debt on two Chase Credit Cards on September 1, 2011. The total debt on the credit cards was $50,996.75. I cancelled the plan effective September 19, 2012 due to the possibility of filing bankruptcy. I paid a total of $6,702.56 into a payment/savings account before cancellation. I don’t recall receiving any correspondence from World Law Plan other than online.

World Law Plan established my payment/savings account with Global Client Solutions, account 6036335099959844. I received two letters in the U.S. Mail from Global Client Solutions dated August 12, 2011 and October 17, 2011. The first was a welcome letter, and second was a notification that subsequent statements would no longer be mailed but could be accessed online at www.globalclientsolutions.com. The envelopes were Presorted First-Class Mail U.S. Postage Paid CIS. The only stamps said FAVESP1 63755 and IAWRSP1 63755. I have no problems with the services provided by Global Client Solutions. They received $9.45 for 13 months from my monthly checking debits, for a total of $122.85. Upon cancellation, they credited my checking account with the amount World Law Plan designated as my “savings”, $1,263.59.

World Law Plan’s services from August 8, 2011 to the day of cancellation encompassed setting up the plan, sending two letters (one for each credit card account) to Chase Bank making early settlement offers, sending two letters notifying Chase to contact them for negotiations, having my questions answered by their receptionist about six times, and canceling my plan. Those few services were well-compensated by the disbursements made to them for a $5.00 Setup Fee, a $193.99 Retainer Fee, and thirteen monthly $84.95 Attorney Administration Fees, all totaling $1,303.34.

Completely separate from those fees and services, $4,012.78 was disbursed to them up-front as Company Fees toward a $5,000 Flat Fee. According to the plan agreement, the Flat Fee is earned whenever an enrolled account is settled. There’s no doubt that I cancelled the plan before the company could proceed with the settlement of my two credit card accounts, since I still had 48 months remaining in my payments to accumulate $22,178.03 in savings for them to attempt a settlement. Therefore, they did not provide any services to earn the $4,012.78. Despite numerous requests made to the company, they have not given me a decision about whether or not they intend to refund the money.

ADDITIONAL DEVELOPMENTS

After I submitted my complaint to you, I started to mail a grievance form to the State Bar of Texas. But when I researched the four people in World Law Plan letters claiming to be the attorneys for World Law Group (Mike Campbell, Tracy Parsons, Robert Coto, and Bradley Haskins), I could not find one of them registered with any state bar in the United States. The World Law Plan website, their letters to the credit card company, emails, and agreement claim that attorneys will administer their debt relief process. They apparently have no attorneys. It’s obvious now that I was scammed by them from the start. I now believe they should make a full refund of all the money they took from me instead of only the unearned flat fee, that they actually owe me $5,438.97.

Consumer Action Taken:

I first requested that the $4,012.78 held for Company Fees / Flat Fee be returned to me on September 19, 2012, then again on October 2, 2012, both times in phone calls with Heather Smith. I was informed twice in emails from Heather Smith that my request had been turned over to management to make a decision about returning the money. After patiently waiting for three weeks and never receiving a decision, I was very unhappy with the stonewalling from the company. I mailed a certified/return receipt letter to the company on October 12, 2012, which they received on October 18, 2012. The article/tracking number on the letter was 7011 2970 0002 5223 4412. In the letter, I said that I expected a refund of $4,012.78 paid by October 26, 2012. As of today, November 4, 2012, I have not received any response.

I recently filed online complaints with:

BBB of Metropolitan Dallas
214-220-2000
[email protected]
Filed on : November 1, 2012
Case # 91235190

Federal Trade Commission
877-382-4357
Filed on November 2, 2012
Reference number: 41447527

Missouri Attorney General
800-392-8222
[email protected]
Filed on November 2, 2012
Confirmation Number: 795507

Texas Attorney General
512-463-2100
[email protected]
Filed on November 3, 2012

IC3 Internet Crime Complaint Center
Filed on November 3, 2012

I recently sent an email to:

Global Client Solutions
[email protected]
Emailed on November 4, 2012
Account 6036335099959844
In the email, I explained the situation and that I wanted to make them aware, and attached a pdf of my October 12, 2012 certified / return receipt letter that was delivered to World Law Plan on October 18, 2012

ADDITIONAL DEVELOPMENTS

I sent the company a new certified/return receipt letter on November 6, 2012 to inform them about the complaints that I’ve filed. It was delivered on November 13, 2012. The article/tracking number on the letter was 7012 1640 0000 1113 4445. Before sending the letter, I discovered that World Law Plan apparently has no registered attorneys, and that I was scammed from the start. Instead of settling for only the Flat Fee refund of $4,012.78, in the new letter I said that I now expect a full refund of the money that was taken from me under the false pretenses presented by the company, $6,702.56. Global Client Solutions already returned $1,263.59 (my “savings”) to me on September 19, 2012. That leaves a remaining $5,438.97 which I told them to refund by November 16, 2012. So far, on November 15, 2012, I’ve received no response from them.

Date This Problem Happened: September 19, 2012

State You Live in: Missouri

Race/Ethnicity: White

Age Range: 36-50

Total Amount of Fee Paid: $4,012.78

Company Name: World Law Plan

Company Address:

12655 N. Central Expwy
Suite 800
Dallas, TX 75243

Company Telephone Number: 888-538-5868

Website of Company: worldlawplan.com


If you feel you’ve been financially hurt by a debt relief company and deserve a refund, read these step-by-step instructions on how to proceed to attempt to get your money back.

If you do get your money back, come back and leave a comment about it. I’d love to praise companies that step-up and do the right thing for people.

Scam reports are submitted by consumers like you. If you would like to file a scam report, please click here.

If you are the company named in this report and you want to respond, please read How to Handle a Consumer Complaint Like a Pro And Come Out Smelling Like a Rose

World Law Plan - Consumer Complaint - November 16, 2012 by

Share This and Spread the Word

About Consumer

Consumer
This is information that was submitted by a third party and not generated by GetOutOfDebt.org or Steve Rhode.
  • Andy

    I’m having almost the same issue with them can you call me (304) 712-1246 Andy

Get My FREE Get Out of Debt Guy Newsletter

It is the smart thing to do.

I promise to keep your email safe and secure.

Close

I want to keep you posted each weekday with just one email about the latest get out of debt news, scam alerts and information to beat back debt.

You can unsubscribe at any time with just one click.

After you subscribe, check your email to confirm your subscription. If the confirmation email does not appear in your inbox in a few minutes, check your spam folder for it. Sometimes it likes to annoyingly hide there.


  • It will keep you posted on the latest scams.
  • You will be alerted to the latest articles.
  • You will wind up smarter than everyone else dealing with debt.