Latest Posts
Home > Scam Reporter > Estate Law Group > Estate Law Group – Consumer Complaint – March 11, 2013

Estate Law Group – Consumer Complaint – March 11, 2013

Consumer Statement:

I am writing to report that we have been victims of a legal scam. On November 12, 2013, we signed a “Homeowner-Attorney Retainer Agreement” with the Estate Law Group to work on our behalf and obtain loan modifications to our primary mortgage and home equity line of credit. We had been pre-qualified under a government program. The entire process was supposed to take ninety days and we were charged a flat fee of $4150.00. We were informed that an attorney from New Jersey, Daniel Goldsmith Ruggiero, would be working on our behalf.

After reaching out to the Estate Law Group processing department on February 5th and hearing that specified financial documents needed to be resubmitted to the lender, we resubmitted the financial information to the Estate Law Group’s processing department on February 11th. We did not receive confirmation of the receipt of the items, so we followed up via email on the 27th of February and resubmitted the documents on March 5th.

Today I picked up the phone and called the Estate Law Group only to learn that the company is no longer conducting business. We are now four months delinquent on our mortgages and have no loan modification. We will have to reestablish contact with our lenders and restart the process.

The office address is:

Estate Law Group
2101 Business Center Drive STE#220
Irvine, CA 92612

Phone numbers: 866-496-1883 ex. 224
866-496-1883 ex. 225
949-202-1038 (processing department)

Contact names: Sam Davis (Senior Case Manager)
Desiree G. (Senior Processor)

Consumer Action Taken:

Estate Law Group
2101 Business Center Drive STE#220
Irvine, CA

March 8, 2013

Dear Sirs,

I am writing in reference to loan #[ ]. On November 12, 2012 we entered into an agreement with you. You agreed to act on our behalf as a third party in obtaining a loan modification for which we were pre-qualified. You listed Daniel Goldsmith Ruggiero as the attorney assigned to our case in New Jersey.

As of February 5, 2013, we have had no direct contact from your office and emails that were sent have been returned. You did not fulfill your obligations to us and act on our behalf with our lenders, Citimortgage and PNC Bank. On March 6, 2013 we called your office and heard an outgoing message stating that you are no longer conducting business.

We expect a full refund in the amount of $4150.00 for the funds paid for your services. If you do not cooperate, we intend to file complaints with the following agencies:

Attorney General for the State of California
Attorney General for the State of New Jersey
Better Business Bureau
Office of Consumer affairs
Fair Trade Commission
Channel Three On Your Side
California Bar Association
New Jersey Bar Association
US Postal Inspection Service
Federal Bureau of Investigations
National White Collar Crime Center
Financial Fraud Enforcement Task Force
SIGTARP

We expect a full refund within ten days of the receipt of this letter or the actions explained above will be taken.

Date This Problem Happened: March 6, 2013

State You Live in: New Jersey

Race/Ethnicity: White

Age Range: 36-50

Total Amount of Fee Paid: $4,150

Company Name: Estate Law Group

Company Address:

2101 Business Center Drive
Irvine, CA 92612

Company Telephone Number: 866-496-1883

Website of Company: estatelawgroup.net


If you feel you’ve been financially hurt by a debt relief company and deserve a refund, read these step-by-step instructions on how to proceed to attempt to get your money back.

If you do get your money back, come back and leave a comment about it. I’d love to praise companies that step-up and do the right thing for people.

Scam reports are submitted by consumers like you. If you would like to file a scam report, please click here.

If you are the company named in this report and you want to respond, please read How to Handle a Consumer Complaint Like a Pro And Come Out Smelling Like a Rose

More Articles About Estate Law Group

wp_rss('http://getoutofdebt.org/tag/estate-law-group/feed', 50); ?>

Estate Law Group - Consumer Complaint - March 11, 2013 by

Share This and Spread the Word

About Consumer

Consumer
This is information that was submitted by a third party and not generated by GetOutOfDebt.org or Steve Rhode.
  • crystal

    try

    1-888-966-7916 same company different name,most reps have same 1st name,changed last name

  • Lynece Moore

    I was turned down three times from my bank and also turned to a so called modification company, which one of the company’s have been mentioned in a complaint here on the web site. Company is called Results for Homeowners which is also a scam. I found out through the HUD people some great info on what to do next. Since I did not qualify under the so called HAMP program I was to ask for an in house modification in which it is finally going through. I hope this helps anyone going through the same Hell we have been through. We also were able to write our loss off that we paid to the crooks.

  • http://www.facebook.com/dona.collins.372 Dona Collins

    Steve – just curious – couldn’t the current lenders have made those loan modifications if the borrower was pre-qualified by the government? What is the implication of the involvement of a law group instead of approaching the lenders directly. Just curious. Home loan modifications aren’t my niche!

    • http://GetOutOfDebt.org Steve Rhode

      There are lots of free places to go for loan modification help. You can contact a free HUD Housing Counselor or talk to the lender directly.

      But you need to put into context that many people approached by such outfits were sent marketing pieces that led to sales people that made grand sounding promises.

Get My FREE Get Out of Debt Guy Newsletter

It is the smart thing to do.

I promise to keep your email safe and secure.

Close

I want to keep you posted each weekday with just one email about the latest get out of debt news, scam alerts and information to beat back debt.

You can unsubscribe at any time with just one click.

After you subscribe, check your email to confirm your subscription. If the confirmation email does not appear in your inbox in a few minutes, check your spam folder for it. Sometimes it likes to annoyingly hide there.


  • It will keep you posted on the latest scams.
  • You will be alerted to the latest articles.
  • You will wind up smarter than everyone else dealing with debt.