Latest Posts
Home > Debt Articles > Wage Garnishment Exemptions and Garnish Wages Information By State

Wage Garnishment Exemptions and Garnish Wages Information By State


If you have questions or concerns about having a garnish of wages this information below will help you to better understand what the wage garnishment laws exemptions are by state.

If you have any worries or specific questions about wage garnishment or getting your wages garnished in your state, you need to find an attorney licensed in your state to receive specific legal advice. This listing may not be current and is directed to debts owed to creditors. If you owe child support, student loans, taxes and alimony, you are probably garnishable no matter where you live.

  • Alabama
    75% of wages are exempt from garnishment.

  • Alaska
    75% of employee’s weekly net income are exempt or $402.50, whichever is more.

  • Arizona
    Federal wage garnishment law applies. This can be found at the bottom of this listing.

  • Arkansas
    Federal wage garnishment law applies. This can be found at the bottom of this listing.

  • California
    Federal wage garnishment law applies. This can be found at the bottom of this listing.

  • Colorado
    Federal wage garnishment law applies. This can be found at the bottom of this listing.

  • Connecticut
    25% of disposable earnings or 40 times the federal minimum hourly wage ($5.15), whichever is less are exempt.

  • Delaware
    Federal wage garnishment law applies. This can be found at the bottom of this listing.

  • District of Columbia
    Federal wage garnishment law applies. This can be found at the bottom of this listing.

  • Florida
    If head of household 100% of wages are exempt. Otherwise federal wage garnishment law applies.

  • Georgia
    Federal wage garnishment law applies. This can be found at the bottom of this listing.

  • Hawaii
    95% of first $100, 90% of second $100, 80% of net wages in excess of $200 per month are exempt from a wage garnish.

  • Idaho
    Federal wage garnishment law applies. This can be found at the bottom of this listing.

  • Illinois
    15% of gross wages or disposable earnings up to 45 times the federal minimum hourly wage, whichever is greater is exempt from a wage garnishment.

  • Indiana
    75% of disposable earnings or 30 times the federal minimum hourly wage, whichever is greater is exempt from a garnishment of wages.

  • Iowa
    Federal wage garnishment law applies. This can be found at the bottom of this listing.

  • Kansas
    Federal wage garnishment law applies. This can be found at the bottom of this listing.

  • Kentucky
    75% of disposable income or 30 times the federal minimum hourly wage, whichever is greater is exempt from a wage garnishment.

  • Louisiana
    75% of disposable weekly earnings, but not less than 30 times the federal minimum hourly wage can not be garnished.

  • Maine
    25% of disposable income or up to 40 times the federal minimum wage, whichever is less, can be garnished from wages.

  • Maryland
    Greater of 75% or the amount equal to $145 times the number of weeks wages due were earned is exempt.

  • Massachusetts
    $125 per week is exempt from being garnished.

  • Michigan
    Federal wage garnishment law applies. This can be found at the bottom of this listing.

  • Minnesota
    75% of earnings or amount equal to 40 times the federal minimum hourly wage, whichever is greater cannot be garnished.

  • Mississippi
    Federal wage garnishment law applies. This can be found at the bottom of this listing.

  • Missouri
    90% of weekly net earnings if head of household; if single without dependents, 75%, is exempt from being garnished.

  • Montana
    Federal wage garnishment law applies. This can be found at the bottom of this listing.

  • Nebraska
    75% of disposable earnings (85% if head of household) OR 30 times the federal minimum hourly wage, whichever is greater is exempt from deduction by wage garnishment.

  • Nevada
    25% of disposable earnings or 30 times the federal minimum hourly wage, whichever is less can’t be garnished.

  • New Hampshire
    50 times the federal minimum hourly wage (all future wages are exempt)

  • New Jersey
    Garnishment may not exceed 10% of gross salary. Monies may not be withheld if disposable weekly earnings are less than $154.50 per week or $309.00.00 every 2 weeks.

  • New Mexico
    75% of weekly earnings or 40 times the federal minimum hourly wage, whichever is greater is exempt from being garnished.

  • New York
    Ten percent (10%) of gross income is exempt from a wage garnishment.

  • North Carolina
    All of last 60 days earnings needed for family’s support; garnishments not granted to general creditors (only for government services and taxes)

  • North Dakota
    75% of earnings or amount equal to 40 times the federal minimum hourly wage, whichever is greater is exempt from wage garnishment.

  • Ohio
    Federal wage garnishment law applies. This can be found at the bottom of this listing.

  • Oklahoma
    Federal wage garnishment law applies. This can be found at the bottom of this listing.

  • Oregon
    75% of disposable earnings or 40 times the federal minimum hourly wage, whichever is greater is exempt from wage garnishment.

  • Pennsylvania
    100% of wages exempt from a wage garnishment.

  • Rhode Island
    Federal wage garnishment law applies.

  • South Carolina
    100 percent of wages exempt from a wage garnishment.

  • South Dakota
    20% of the individuals disposable earnings for a 60 day period are exempt from a wage garnishment.

  • Tennessee
    Federal wage garnishment law applies. This can be found at the bottom of this listing.

  • Texas
    100 percent of wage are exempt from a wage garnishment.

  • Utah
    $142.50 of disposable weekly earnings is subject to a wage garnishment exemption.

  • Vermont
    75% of earnings above minimum wage or amount necessary to support family are exempt from a wage garnishment.

  • Virginia
    Federal wage garnishment law applies. This can be found at the bottom of this listing.

  • Washington
    75% of earnings or 40 times the federal minimum hourly wage, whichever is greater is exempt from a garnishment of wages.

  • West Virginia
    20% of disposable income or 30 times the federal minimum hourly wage rate, whichever is less is exempt from garnishing wages.

  • Wisconsin
    80% of net earnings is exempt under wage garnishment law.

  • Wyoming
    Federal wage garnishment law applies. This can be found at the bottom of this listing.

Federal Wage Garnishment Regulations

§ 1673. Restriction on garnishment

  • (a) Maximum allowable garnishment
    Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section and in section 1675 of this title, the maximum part of the aggregate disposable earnings of an individual for any workweek which is subjected to garnishment may not exceed

    • (1) 25 per centum of his disposable earnings for that week, or
    • (2) the amount by which his disposable earnings for that week exceed thirty times the Federal minimum hourly wage prescribed by section 206 (a)(1) of title 29 in effect at the time the earnings are payable,

    whichever is less. In the case of earnings for any pay period other than a week, the Secretary of Labor shall by regulation prescribe a multiple of the Federal minimum hourly wage equivalent in effect to that set forth in paragraph (2).

  • (b) Exceptions
    • (1) The restrictions of subsection (a) of this section do not apply in the case of
      • (A) any order for the support of any person issued by a court of competent jurisdiction or in accordance with an administrative procedure, which is established by State law, which affords substantial due process, and which is subject to judicial review.
      • (B) any order of any court of the United States having jurisdiction over cases under chapter 13 of title 11.
      • (C) any debt due for any State or Federal tax.
    • (2) The maximum part of the aggregate disposable earnings of an individual for any workweek which is subject to garnishment to enforce any order for the support of any person shall not exceed—
      • (A) where such individual is supporting his spouse or dependent child (other than a spouse or child with respect to whose support such order is used), 50 per centum of such individual’s disposable earnings for that week; and
      • (B) where such individual is not supporting such a spouse or dependent child described in clause (A), 60 per centum of such individual’s disposable earnings for that week;

      except that, with respect to the disposable earnings of any individual for any workweek, the 50 per centum specified in clause (A) shall be deemed to be 55 per centum and the 60 per centum specified in clause (B) shall be deemed to be 65 per centum, if and to the extent that such earnings are subject to garnishment to enforce a support order with respect to a period which is prior to the twelve-week period which ends with the beginning of such workweek.

  • (c) Execution or enforcement of garnishment order or process prohibited
    No court of the United States or any State, and no State (or officer or agency thereof), may make, execute, or enforce any order or process in violation of this section.

Share This and Spread the Word

About Steve Rhode

Steve Rhode
Steve Rhode is the Get Out of Debt Guy and has been helping good people with bad debt problems since 1994. You can learn more about Steve, here.
  • samuel simmons

    in the state of new jersey can you garnish more than one garnishment at a time?

  • http://Website Namejames donohue

    Can California tax lean me in Georgia for a 20 year old tax bill?

Get My FREE Get Out of Debt Guy Newsletter

It is the smart thing to do.

I promise to keep your email safe and secure.

Close

I want to keep you posted each weekday with just one email about the latest get out of debt news, scam alerts and information to beat back debt.

You can unsubscribe at any time with just one click.

After you subscribe, check your email to confirm your subscription. If the confirmation email does not appear in your inbox in a few minutes, check your spam folder for it. Sometimes it likes to annoyingly hide there.


  • It will keep you posted on the latest scams.
  • You will be alerted to the latest articles.
  • You will wind up smarter than everyone else dealing with debt.