Capital Debt Settlement and CDS Debt Resolution Review

This review is the result of an inquiry about this company.

Address:

5150 N. Sixth Street, Suite 172
Fresno, Ca 93710

The Association of Settlement Companies (TASC) reports the address as:
2152 Dupont Drive, Suite 101
Irvine, CA 92646

D&B also lists an address for Capital Debt Settlement at:
2400 S GARNSEY ST
SANTA ANA, CA 927073335

Website:

CapitalDebtSettlement.com
Registered on November 20, 2007 and owned by Capital Debt Settlement with contact Mark Penso but I believe it should actually be Marc Penso, the owner of Capital Debt Settlement. – Source

Description:

Debt settlement company.

Management

The state of California as of 2-28-2010 shows no corporation or LLC listed under the name Capital Debt Settlement.

According to the TASC link on their site their name is CDS Debt Resolution.

The state of California as of 2-28-2010 shows no corporation or LLC listed under the name CDS Debt Resolution.

CDS Debt Resolution - Capital Debt Settlement

It is possible this company is actually doing business under Penso Holdings, Inc, 8781 Crescent Drive, Huntington Beach, CA 92646, since Pendo Holdings Inc. was doing business as CDS Loan Services and Marc Penso is also doing business as CDS Debt Resolution.

Penso Holdings, Inc is a California corporation and was registered November 13, 2007, just a week before the domain name for Capital Debt Settlement was registered.

[email protected]Source

Marc Penso is CEO of Capital Debt Settlement. – Source

David Henson is listed as President of Capital Debt Settlement. – Source, Source

Contacts

Phone: (877) 695-(DEBT) 3328
Fax: (866) 645-6907
Email: [email protected]

Monica Avalos – Director of Client Services – Source

Relationships

CDS Client Services
CDS Loan Servicces

Interesting Points

There is an attorney in California, Marc Gentry Penso, with his office listed at 4000 Barranca Pky #250, Irvine, CA 92604. It seems odd that there would be two people with the name Marc Penso doing business so close together. TASC lists CDS Resolution as doing business at the adress with the green arrow and the law offices of Marc Penso are located at the A.

It’s a small world after all. On April 4, 2012 Marc Penso the attorney added the following comment to clear things up.

“I am Marc Gentry Penso. I am the attorney with an office at 4000 Barranca Parkway, Irvine, California. I am NOT the Marc Penso that is connected with Penso Holdings, Inc, 8781 Crescent Drive, Huntington Beach, CA 92646, I have NEVER been connected in any way with CDS Loan Services or CDS Debt Resolution. I am a Licensed Real Estate Broker, in good standing and have NEVER been reprimanded. Feel free to look up my licenses and good standing status with the California State Bar and the California Department of Real Estate.”

Capital Debt Settlement announced on March 19, 2009 they were now sending their debt management clients to Allegro Law. Allegro law was soon shut down by the State of Alabama and the attorney in charge of Allegro Law lost his law license.

See also  Legal Helpers Debt Resolution - Consumer Complaint - 6-5-2012

Capital Debt Settlement is the outsource company for Legal Helpers to provide debt settlement services for Legal Helpers Debt Resolution. – Source

I find it very odd that it is so difficult to find who actually owns Capital Debt Settlement and the entity that owns the company.

It is also very strange that they do business under the name Capital Debt Settlement but the link on the bottom of their site for their TASC membership takes you to a page that identifies them as CDS Debt Resolution but the actual TASC disclosure statement identifies them as Capital Debt Settlement. Who are they really? – Source. At the time of this review if you entered CDS Debt Resolution into Google the only two sites in the world that had information on that company was the CDS Debt Resolution web site and TASC. – Source

I found some glaring inaccuracies in the way they portrayed bankruptcy on their site while appearing to sell debt settlement as the preferable solution. – Source

The company also appears to have been running ads claiming they could underwrite apparent loans under the Consumer Debt Initiative, which is a misleading and non-existent program. Match the phone number on this ad that ran. – Source

BBB Reviews & Ratings

Capital Debt Settlement BBB Review

BBB review at the time I wrote this review.

Complaints

Marc Penso was operating as a real estate broker in the State of California without a license and was sanctioned for this on April 9, 2009.

The Real Estate Commissioner of the State of California has determined from the findings set forth below that you PENSO HOLDINGS, INC, dba CDS Loan Services and MARC PENSO have violated Section 10130 of the Business and Professions Code (hereinafter “Code”) by engaging in the business of a real estate broker within the State of California without a real estate broker license.

During 2008, you have engaged in a business, for or in expectation of compensation or collection of an advance fee, you solicited or offered to provide loan modification, re-finance of a loan, or short-sale negotiation to owner of real property to modify terms of the loans on the real property. – Source

This case with Marc Penso was included in Operation Loan Lies by the Federal Trade Commission. – Source

See also  How Can I Join In the Class Action Lawsuit Against Legal Helpers Debt Resolution?

Picture of Web Site

Capital Debt Settlement Web Site
CDS Debt Resolution Web Site

Is This Your Company?

If this is a review is about your company and you would like to respond to the information I’ve presented here to possibly put it into a broader context or make a correction, please feel free to post your response in the comments section below. I invite you to read my Debt Relief Company and Site Review Policy first.

Steve Rhode

11 thoughts on “Capital Debt Settlement and CDS Debt Resolution Review”

  1. I am Marc Gentry Penso. I am the attorney with an office at 4000 Barranca Parkway, Irvine, California. I am NOT the Marc Penso that is connected with Penso Holdings, Inc, 8781 Crescent Drive, Huntington Beach, CA 92646, I have NEVER been connected in any way with CDS Loan Services or CDS Debt Resolution. I am a Licensed Real Estate Broker, in good standing and have NEVER been reprimanded. Feel free to look up my licenses and good standing status with the California State Bar and the California Department of Real Estate

    Reply
  2. I am Marc Gentry Penso.  I am the attorney with an office at 4000 Barranca Parkway, Irvine, California.  I am NOT the Marc Penso that is connected with Penso Holdings, Inc, 8781 Crescent Drive, Huntington Beach, CA 92646, since Penso Holdings Inc..  I have NEVER been connected in any way with  CDS Loan Services or CDS Debt Resolution.  I am a Licensed Real Estate Broker, in good standing and have NEVER been reprimanded. Feel free to look up my licenses and good standing status with the California State Bar and the California Department of Real Estate.

    Reply
  3. Do not deal with Capital Debt Settlement. I have had several conversations with David Henson (company president) and he is very knowledgeable about the settlement process. Unfortunately he has no scruples. At the exact point in which I had paid their fees in full they dropped my account and took my money. I will be suing them and one way or another I will be getting my money back. Furthermore, for those reading this that are in deep debt that need settlement services, save your money and do it on your own. I have settled two accounts on my own thus far without the help of CDS. They do not do anything (other than take your money) that you cannot do by yourself. Don a thick skin and deal in a harsh but business like manner with the collectors – don’t believe their lies – you have rights. Save up and settle each account one by one. If not sure how there are self help settlement kits that cost a couple hundred dollars. Get a pre-paid legal service for $20-30 per month to write or proof read all your legal docs. You have rights and can do it yourself if you hang tough. CDS will set you back by thousands of dollars and will not settle your accounts. They are crooks.

    Reply

Leave a Comment