Bay Area Credit Service Scam Reporter

Bay Area Credit Service – Consumer Complaint – 2-16-2012

Written by Consumer

Date This Problem Happened: December 15, 2011

State You Live in: Missouri

Race/Ethnicity:

Age Range: 36-50

Total Amount of Fee Paid:

Company Name: Bay Area Credit Service

Company Address:

1901 W. 10th St.
Antioch, CA 94509

Company Telephone Number: 800-399-2019

Website of Company: bayareacredit.home

Consumer Statement:

Bay Area Credit Services has called my home since 12/15/11. The callers have heavy Indian or Pakistani accents and most of the time, you cannot understand them. Sometimes they leave messages and other times they just listen when you say “hello.” They say they are attempting to collect a debt on someone I have known over 13 years ago and haven’t spoken with since (this person was a minor 13 years ago and could not incur debt). This person is no longer associated with me. The callers state that if I listen to their message, “you agree you are the person who owes the debt.” Since 12/15/11, this company has called over 33 times, at all hours and on Saturday. They do not call on Sunday or national holidays. They do know the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act. If this were a true debt, this company would have made contact by mail long ago. I have researched this phone number on the web and most people state the callers are attempting to “update information” and “want payments for AT&T telephone bills.” I have never had AT&T for any services and the person they want to speak with does not live at this address. I will not answer their questions because those questions lead to more questions so they can “update their database.” When these individuals call, you can hear laughter in the background and you can also hear other callers making calls or speaking with people. It seems as if it is a scammer with plenty of time on their hands. I do not know where they have gotten their information, but it is incorrect and this is one ploy they use to get the individual to “update their information.” One message was so long in time that the machine ran out and cut him off. I can’t tell you what else they say on their messages because the messages are so garbled and the English is so broken, it’s hard to understand them.

Dates of calls: 12/15/11 just listening, 12/16/11 7:15 a.m. just listening, 12/17/11 9:34 a.m. no message, 12/19/11 8:52 a.m. “Holly Givens,” 12/21/11 1:00 p.m. no message, 12/22/11 10:27 a.m. no message, 12/22/11 7:01 p.m. no message, 12/23/11 1:00 p.m. no message, 12/23/11 4:18 p.m. no message, 12/23/11 8:33 p.m. no message, 12/24/11 2:18 p.m. no message, 12/26/11 8:52 a.m. no message, 12/27/11 8:15 a.m. no message, 12/27/11 5:40 p.m. no message, 12/28/11 8:40 a.m. no message, 12/29/11 9:17 a.m. no message, 12/30/11 9:03 a.m. message for “Holly Givens,” 1/2/12 12:18 p.m. no message, 1/3/12 9:58 a.m. long message (cut off by recorder), 1/5/12 8:53 a.m. message, 1/10/12 8:16 a.m. message, 1/12/12 8:53 a.m. no message, 1/13/12 4:20 p.m. no message, 1/13/12 8:34 p.m. no message, 1/14/12 11:18 a.m. message, 1/16/12 8:21 a.m. message, 1/18/12 10:00 a.m. message, 1/20/12 10:18 a.m. no message, 1/24/12 4:00 p.m. no message, 1/26/12 9:17 a.m. message, 1/27/12 5: 34 p.m. no message, 1/30/12 9:34 a.m. no message, 2/1/12 9:28 a.m. no message, 2/2/12 7:17 p.m. message, 2/6/12 9:12 a.m. no message, 2/8/12 4:43 p.m. message, 2/11/12 10:45 a.m. message, 2/13/12 10:32 a.m. no message, 2/14/12 6:25 p.m. message.

Please remember this company has NEVER contacted myself, my family, or the person they are hunting for through the U.S. postal system; phone calls only.

Since this company has been calling, other companies have began calling us and either leaving messages or just listening when we say “hello.” One such company is Student Services at 971-220-1894. They called on 2/15/12 2:00 p.m. and did not leave a message; just listened. We are not sure if Bay Area sold our information or if this company is just jumping on the bandwagon.

Consumer Action Taken:

There is nothing to resolve because I do not owe any debt and the person they want has not been associated with me in over 13 years. I will not give the callers any personal information. My family and I have answered the phone on several occasions, only to have the callers listen and not say anything.

Note:

The Myvesta Foundation sent a letter to the company at the address given or found and asked them to publicly respond to this complaint.


If you feel you’ve been financially hurt by a debt relief company and deserve a refund, read these step-by-step instructions on how to proceed to attempt to get your money back.

If you do get your money back, come back and leave a comment about it. I’d love to praise companies that step-up and do the right thing for people.

Scam reports are submitted by consumers like you. If you would like to file a scam report, please click here.

If you are the company named in this report and you want to respond, please read How to Handle a Consumer Complaint Like a Pro And Come Out Smelling Like a Rose




About the author

Consumer

This is information that was submitted by a third party and not generated by GetOutOfDebt.org or Steve Rhode.

Share a Comment / Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: