Citizens Financial Group – Consumer Complaint – 2-21-2012 (2)

Date This Problem Happened: September 6, 2011

State You Live in: Ohio

Race/Ethnicity: White

Age Range: 51-65

Total Amount of Fee Paid: $2,500

Company Name: Citizens Financial Group

Company Address:

40 North Central Ave
Ste 1400
Phoenix, AZ 85004

Company Telephone Number: 866-573-2890

Website of Company: citizensfg.com

Consumer Statement:

I was promised by Citizens Financial Group that they could get my current lender to modify my loan. I needed to pay them 2500.00 to fill out the paperwork and negotiate with my lender. I complied, they did try to get me to not pay for a couple of months to show more of a hardship, but I did not feel that was the right thing to do. I filled out all the necessary paperwork (I noticed all the paperwork sent were federal documents–I learned later, contrary to what they explained, that I could have done this myself) and then received email back telling me how to negotiate with the bank. I did most of the follow-up with my lender and was turned down in December of 2011. I let CFG know, as instructed and was told they would negotiate on my behalf; on January 31, 2012 I was emailed by the document handler at CFG that their underwriters were unable to negotiate a modification and I would receive my refund of 2500.00. As of 2/20/2012 I have not re ceived my refund.

Consumer Action Taken:

I have attempted to call them and their number is always busy and my email is returned as un-deliverable. I have been unable to contact anyone to resolve the issue. I have filed a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission, the BBB and am going to file a complaint with Ohio’s attorney General. I have all the paperwork and email correspondence between the company and myself. I am only including the one email saying I would be refunded, however, all else is available upon request.

Consumer Documentation:


If you feel you’ve been financially hurt by a debt relief company and deserve a refund, read these step-by-step instructions on how to proceed to attempt to get your money back.

See also  CITIZENS FINANCIAL GROUP, INC. - CFPB Complaint

If you do get your money back, come back and leave a comment about it. I’d love to praise companies that step-up and do the right thing for people.

Scam reports are submitted by consumers like you. If you would like to file a scam report, please click here.

If you are the company named in this report and you want to respond, please read How to Handle a Consumer Complaint Like a Pro And Come Out Smelling Like a Rose

5 thoughts on “Citizens Financial Group – Consumer Complaint – 2-21-2012 (2)”

  1. I lost $1,875 to Citizens Financial Group and was promised they could cut my mortgage payment by 50%.  They took my money and then did nothing.  Absolutely nothing.  They didn’t even contact my mortgage company (Bank of America).  I asked for a refund but they were rude and denied me my money back.  I have tried to contact them by phone and they don’t return my calls.  Also, I tried by email and the emails were returned as undeliverable.  They are totally unethical.  I am proceeding to contact the Arizona Attorney General and CBS News Channel 5.  I DO NOT recommend this company to anyone.  Be aware of this scam! To anyone else with the same or similar problem, here is the website for the Arizona Attorney General:  
    http://www.azag.gov/consumer/complaintform.html

    Reply
    • I contacted the attorney general in Arizona.  Who promptly forwarded my complaint to the AG in California.  The California AG sent me a nice letter stating they don’t look into individual complaints and a handout on how to avoid scams.  The BBB was unable to reach them either and closed my complaint.  I haven’t heard anything from the FTC, but doubt I will.  Have given up and am now watching what I spend to resave what I lost to these thieves.  Hopefully, there is a special place in hell for them.

      Reply
  2. VicShearer
    I had the same thing happen to me in Dec 2011 and they also caused my checking account to become overdrawn b/c drawing out to much money.  I was told several times and in an email the amount would be refunded to me first week of Feb.  I have tried several times and email several times.  Nothing…..  Now I am out over 4,000. and have nothing.  I am very disappointed in this situation and very angry that we as struggling hard working people needing help to stay ahead that the goverment lets this happen.  I dont need any more stress in my life.  This has about caused me to have a nervous breakdown.  I spoke with a Lee, LucyG. and John Sutherland.  Everyone was so nice and called me often to help.  Now nothing  the number is busy and emails come back,   PLEASE…… ANY HELP WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED!!!!! 
    [email protected]  if anyone has any idea what steps to take….

    Reply
  3. Yet the same thing with me, I was promised my money by 2-8-12,and then called and said would be 2-17. Well here it is 2-21-12 and the phone number says is not allowed,and no response to emails that I have sent to them.. This company does not do what they say they are or can do. I would not recommend them to anyone! 

    Reply

Leave a Comment