Subscribe to our mailing list

X

World Law Plan – Consumer Complaint – November 5, 2012

By on November 5, 2012

Consumer Statement:

World Law Plan owes me a $4,012.78 refund. The money was paid toward a $5,000 Flat Fee to be earned when they settled my debt, but it was never settled.

My agreement with World Law Plan was signed electronically on August 8, 2011 by means of an emailed document prepared by the company. My account was DD-2528. In the agreement, I authorized automatic monthly debits from my bank checking account of $550.68 on a sixty month schedule toward settling my debt on two Chase Credit Cards on September 1, 2011. The total debt on the credit cards was $50,996.75. I cancelled the plan effective September 19, 2012 due to the possibility of filing bankruptcy. I paid a total of $6,702.56 into a payment/savings account before cancellation. I don’t recall receiving any correspondence from World Law Plan other than online.

World Law Plan established my payment/savings account with Global Client Solutions, account [ ]. I received two letters in the U.S. Mail from Global Client Solutions dated August 12, 2011 and October 17, 2011. The first was a welcome letter, and second was a notification that subsequent statements would no longer be mailed but could be accessed online at www.globalclientsolutions.com. The envelopes were Presorted First-Class Mail U.S. Postage Paid CIS. The only stamps said FAVESP1 63755 and IAWRSP1 63755. I have no problems with the services provided by Global Client Solutions. They received $9.45 for 13 months from my monthly checking debits, for a total of $122.85. Upon cancellation, they credited my checking account with the amount World Law Plan designated as my “savings”, $1,263.59.

World Law Plan’s services from August 8, 2011 to the day of cancellation encompassed setting up the plan, sending two letters (one for each credit card account) to Chase Bank making early settlement offers, sending two letters notifying Chase to contact them for negotiations, having my questions answered by their receptionist about six times, and canceling my plan. Those few services were well-compensated by the disbursements made to them for a $5.00 Setup Fee, a $193.99 Retainer Fee, and thirteen monthly $84.95 Attorney Administration Fees, all totaling $1,303.34.

READ  Stopped Making Payments. In Debt Settlement With Option One Financial Group. - Charlie

Completely separate from those fees and services, $4,012.78 was disbursed to them up-front as Company Fees toward a $5,000 Flat Fee. According to the plan agreement, the Flat Fee is earned whenever an enrolled account is settled. There’s no doubt that I cancelled the plan before the company could proceed with the settlement of my two credit card accounts, since I still had 48 months remaining in my payments to accumulate $22,178.03 in savings for them to attempt a settlement. Therefore, they did not provide any services to earn the $4,012.78. Despite numerous requests made to the company, they have not given me a decision about whether or not they intend to refund the money.

Consumer Action Taken:

I first requested that the $4,012.78 held for Company Fees / Flat Fee be returned to me on September 19, 2012, then again on October 2, 2012, both times in phone calls with Heather Smith. I was informed twice in emails from Heather Smith that my request had been turned over to management to make a decision about returning the money. After patiently waiting for three weeks and never receiving a decision, I was very unhappy with the stonewalling from the company. I mailed a certified/return receipt letter to the company on October 12, 2012, which they received on October 18, 2012. The article/tracking number on the letter was 7011 2970 0002 5223 4412. In the letter, I said that I expected a refund of $4,012.78 paid by October 26, 2012. As of today, November 4, 2012, I have not received any response.

I recently filed online complaints with:

BBB of Metropolitan Dallas
214-220-2000
info@dallas.bbb.org
Filed on : November 1, 2012
Case # 91235190

Federal Trade Commission
877-382-4357
Filed on November 2, 2012
Reference number: 41447527

Missouri Attorney General
800-392-8222
consumer.help@ago.mo.gov
Filed on November 2, 2012
Confirmation Number: 795507

Texas Attorney General
512-463-2100
greg.abbott@texasattorneygeneral.gov
Filed on November 3, 2012

IC3 Internet Crime Complaint Center
Filed on November 3, 2012

READ  Meracord, Noteworld, and Fidelity and Deposit Company Hit With Class Action

I recently sent an email to:

Global Client Solutions
customersupport@globalclientsolutions.com
Emailed on November 4, 2012
Account 6036335099959844
In the email, I explained the situation and that I wanted to make them aware, and attached a pdf of my October 12, 2012 certified / return receipt letter that was delivered to World Law Plan on October 18, 2012

Date This Problem Happened: September 19, 2012

State You Live in: Missouri

Race/Ethnicity: White

Age Range: 36-50

Total Amount of Fee Paid: $4,012.78

Company Name: World Law Plan

Company Address:

12655 N. Central Expwy
Suite 800
Dallas, TX 75243

Company Telephone Number: 888-538-5868

Website of Company: worldlawplan.com

Additional Documentation



If you feel you’ve been financially hurt by a debt relief company and deserve a refund, read these step-by-step instructions on how to proceed to attempt to get your money back.

If you do get your money back, come back and leave a comment about it. I’d love to praise companies that step-up and do the right thing for people.

Scam reports are submitted by consumers like you. If you would like to file a scam report, please click here.

If you are the company named in this report and you want to respond, please read How to Handle a Consumer Complaint Like a Pro And Come Out Smelling Like a Rose

Last step, fill out the information below or call us for Priority Assistance.

What problems are you having with your report?

Your first name is required. Your first name is required to be at least 2 characters. Your first name cannot be longer than 50 characters.
Your last name is required. Your last name is required to be at least 2 characters. Your last name cannot be longer than 50 characters.
Your email is required.
Your phone is required. Your 10 digit phone number is required.
Your state is required.
Your age is required. Your age must be greater than 18. Your age must be less than 100.

By clicking on the "Contact Me" button above, you consent, acknowledge, and agree to the following: Our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy and to receive electronic communications. We take your privacy seriously. That you are providing express "written" consent for Debt.com or appropriate service provider(s) to call you (including through automated means; e.g. autodialing, text and pre-recorded messaging) via telephone, mobile device (including SMS and MMS - charges may apply), even if your telephone number is currently listed on any internal, corporate, state or federal Do-Not-Call list. Consent is not required as a condition to utilize Debt.com services and you are under no obligation to purchase anything.

By clicking on the “Contact me” button above, you consent, acknowledge, and agree to the following: (1)That you are providing express “written” consent for Lexington Law Firm, Debt.com or appropriate service provider(s) to call you (including through automated means; e.g. autodialing, text and pre-recorded messaging) via telephone, mobile device (including SMS and MMS – charges may apply), or dialed manually, at my residential or cellular number, even if your telephone number is currently listed on any internal, corporate, state or federal Do-Not-Call list; and (2)Lexington Law’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use and Debt.com’s Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. Consent is not required as a condition to utilize Lexington Law or Debt.com services and you are under no obligation to purchase anything.

About Consumer

This is information that was submitted by a third party and not generated by GetOutOfDebt.org or Steve Rhode.

One Comment

  1. kels

    April 25, 2013 at 12:57 pm

    FYI – You may want to remove the Global account number referenced above. This poses a privacy concern, as anyone can obtain information regarding her account using the info posted above.

  2. Guest

    April 25, 2013 at 12:55 pm

    FYI – You may want to remove the Global Account Number referenced in this post. This poses a privacy concern, as anyone can obtain information regarding her account using the information above.

Share a Comment / Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: