Scam Reporter

Student Assist Plus / Student Loan Education Center – Consumer Complaint – May 28, 2015

Written by Consumer

Consumer Statement:

I contacted this company on 02/26/2015 for assistance paying for student loans because they had sent me a letter informing me that I may qualify for help paying for my loans since I had around $30000 of student debt. The representative I talked to named Nick Leon informed me that due to my income I would qualify for a consolidation, my loans would no longer be handled by Nelnet where I have been paying for them since I graduated and could be placed on hold for a year for a fee of $29.99, and a special program where my student loans would be forgiven after 20 years.

He told me that I would need to submit proof of income to them along with a signed document and that their company would contact Nelnet on my behalf to put my current loans on forbearance and that it would take up to 60 days to get a response. I paid $599 over the phone and sent in the required documentation by e-mail.

I did not hear anything form Nelnet for awhile, so I ended up setting up a forbearance on my own which I am on currently and waited to hear a response from Nelnet, the Dept of Education, or student Assist plus. The only correspondence I received was an email on 04/07/2015 saying that I had become a member and that they were about to withdraw the first payment of $29.99, which was withdrawn from my account on 04/20/2015.

Consumer Action Taken:

I called them and told them that I was dissatisfied with their services and that I haven’t heard anything from Nelnet about a forbearance. I told the representative that I wanted a refund and I wanted to cancel. The representative told me I would receive a refund within 24 hours on 4/30/2015. I still have not received any refund as of 05/04/2015.

Date This Problem Happened: February 26, 2015

State You Live in: Virginia

Race/Ethnicity:

Age Range: 21-35

Total Amount of Fee Paid: $599

READ  Student Assist Plus, Trans2Pay, Student Processing Center - Consumer Complaint - June 3, 2015

Company Name: Student Assist Plus / Student Loan Education Center

Company Address:

19800 MacArthur Blvd. Ste 300
Irvine, CA 92612

Company Telephone Number: 888-456-4055

Website of Company: studentassistplus.com

please_esign.pdf_page_1_of_22

please_esign.pdf_page_2_of_22

please_esign.pdf_page_3_of_22

please_esign.pdf_page_4_of_22

please_esign.pdf_page_5_of_22

please_esign.pdf_page_6_of_22

please_esign.pdf_page_7_of_22

please_esign.pdf_page_8_of_22

please_esign.pdf_page_9_of_22

please_esign.pdf_page_10_of_22

please_esign.pdf_page_11_of_22

please_esign.pdf_page_12_of_22

please_esign.pdf_page_16_of_22

please_esign.pdf_page_17_of_22

please_esign.pdf_page_18_of_22

please_esign.pdf_page_19_of_22

please_esign.pdf_page_20_of_22

please_esign.pdf_page_21_of_22

please_esign.pdf_page_22_of_22


If you feel you’ve been financially hurt by a debt relief company and deserve a refund, read these step-by-step instructions on how to proceed to attempt to get your money back.

If you do get your money back, come back and leave a comment about it. I’d love to praise companies that step-up and do the right thing for people.

Scam reports are submitted by consumers like you. If you would like to file a scam report, please click here.

If you are the company named in this report and you want to respond, please read How to Handle a Consumer Complaint Like a Pro And Come Out Smelling Like a Rose




About the author

Consumer

This is information that was submitted by a third party and not generated by GetOutOfDebt.org or Steve Rhode.

2 Comments

  • I’m actually current with Student Assist Plus for 3 years now. Athough they helped me get into a income driven repayment plan and then refinance in order to further consolidate my loans, I still have no clue why I have to continue to pay them month after month even though I’m already set up with now my third refinance of my loans. They told me I need to stay with them so my loans will be forgiven in 30years. By that time I would’ve paid them $10k so is that the balance anyways for the “forgiveness”. I’m not even employed within the industry I studied for and was never able to get employment without additional licenses and schooling. My online program was whack and it seemed everyone passed even the students who barely participated. I’m interested to hear about what you’re investigation.

  • Hello consumer, I’m a reporter investigating Student Loan Education Center. I would like to talk to you about what happened.

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top