CFPB Complaint


Consumer Complaint Submission

Date Received: 2017-06-15T00:00:00

Product: Mortgage debt

Issue: False statements or representation

Consumer Consent Provided to Share Complaint: Consent provided

Consumer Complaint: Your automa ted Q & A did not fit my complaint .. . Here is the problem. I am a XXXX XXXX XXXX in Utah. I have a client who is struggling financially. They have XXXX liens on the property. I initiated a short sale ( lo an # XXXX being serviced by Nationstar ) on XXXX 2017 in their required Equator system. Both sides moved through the typical short sale steps. The appraisal was completed XXXX 2017. An offer with all proper documents was submitted on XXXX 2017. We waited for a response from Nationstar for several more weeks and on XXXX XXXX , 2017 , I was told that Nationstar REQUIRES all short sales WITH OFFERS already on the property, to be sent through their own Auction program to ” try to get a higher offer ”. My problems with this are as follow s : ( 1 ) The Buyer and Seller have already entered into a contract that the current offer would be the only one submitte d until the short sale lender has finished all negotiations wit h said Buyer – But Nationstar refuses to counter or let the current buyer know what the required net amount is to finish negotiations with the current offer. ( 2 ) Nationstar o wns XXXX – the required auction site and will make an additional 5 % on top of the purchase price because they charge the buyers a 5 % fee for buying on their auction site. The only way the current buyer who submitted their offer a month prior can obtain this property now is if there ‘s no higher offer. They are ” suggested ” to bid on this property through the auction site as well – but Nationstar DOES admit to bidding against real buyers to ” get the highest price possible. ” This i s not fair to the current buyer and it violates the current contract between buyer and seller. ( 3 ) In real estate, it ‘s considered unethical and possibly illegal to REQUIRE anyone to use a specific company if the company making this requirement will profit or benefit from it in any way. Nationstar will make an additional 5 % – on a $ XXXX price that ‘s an extra {$10000.00} in Nationstar ‘s pocket. This does not reduce the tax burden imposed on the seller by this $ XXXX either – it ONLY benefit s Nationstar. This is also wrong. ( 4 ) on XXXX XXXX , 2017 I was told b y Nationstar that they would evaluate the current offer prior to sending it to their auction, if and only if, the seller signs the agreement to the auction … so through duress, the sellers did sign the documents but Nationstar just plai nly said ” no ” to the current offer and stated that the offer did not meet the required net … but they refuse to share the information that I ‘m entitled to know as the listing agent, which is what the appraisal came in at. So there ‘s no way to know if the current offer is in fact within the price range or no t. Nationstar is being deceptive and violating several regulations regarding the above. I am asking for assistance in keeping the property out of the auction unless the current buyer is not willing to meet Nationstar ‘s price based on the appraised value of the property in its current condition. I am also asking that you assist in making Nationstar share the appraisal that was completed on this property on XXXX XXXX , 2017 . This is necessary to make sure the property is being properly priced by me, the listing agent, as well. I have negotiated the other XXXX liens down on this property and have successfully obtained a fair priced offer. It is unfair that Nationstar now tries to require the seller to use their own auction program – if this was a true requirement, it should have been divulged to me at the time the short sale was initiated and accepted. But it was not. After Nationstar told me that they notified me in advance, they checked the system and could not find any such notification – which is why they agreed to review the current offer fully which they are now not doing – so if this notification ” suddenly appears ” now, we will know they are being dishonest about this as well.

READ  Preferred Collection and Management, Inc. - CFPB Complaint


State/Zip: UT 840XX

Company Response to Complaint: Closed with explanation

Was Company Response Timely: Yes

Did Consumer Dispute Company Response: N/A

Complaint ID: 2547815

The above data is from the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Keep in mind that every company will get a complaint from time-to-time, even the great ones. But there are a few key data points that will give you an idea about how well the company values their customers and handles consumer issues.

Look at the item Company Response to Complaint: and Did Consumer Dispute Company Response: to get a better idea of how this was resolved. And the field Consumer Complaint: can give you some context of the issue.

In particular what you are looking for was that the company response was timely and that the consumer did not dispute it. The posting of complaints has proven to be a valuable resource for both companies and consumers.

About the author

Research Department

Here is where you will find important stories located from around the web which can impact you and your financial life.

Scroll to Top