Deceptive Mailer – Housing & Economic Recovery Program (PL 110-289)

A tipster (send in your tips here) sent in the following mailer they received for the Housing & Economic Recovery Program (PL 110-289). You will notice the mailer looks like a government document and uses the HUD equal housing symbol.

The front references P.L. 110-289 which is actually The Foreclosure Prevention Act of 2008 and something called the “Economic Stimulus Act of 2009.” Only one problem, there is no such act. I assume the people behind this mailer were trying to reference the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009.

The use of the Equal Housing Opportunity logo seems to make no sense in the context this is for people that already occupy their homes. The use of the logo is relatted to the follow EHO mission “Equal Housing Opportunity Statement: We are pledged to the letter and spirit of U.S. policy for the achievement of equal housing opportunity throughout the Nation. We encourage and support an affirmative advertising and marketing program in which there are no barriers to obtaining housing because of race, color, religion, sex, handicap, familial status, or national origin.” – Source

The front of the mailer references a company called Advecor.com which sells marketing solutions for the financial market.

Advecor says the president is Greg Dowd and the CFO and merketing is developed under Greg May, an attorney.

The inside of the mailer is interesting. It makes reference to the “Homeowner’s Advocate Council” but a web search could turn up no such thing. It uses the HUD logo again on the inside and continues the appearance it is a government mailer of some sort.

The inside of the mailer tells consumers to visit legalmod.us. The domain name is owned by Advecor, Inc, Aaron Hankle, 7428 Trade St, San Diego, CA 92121. A visit to the legalmod.us site finds a very scant site.

What you see above is the ENTIRE site.

I called the number, 888-593-5196, in the mailer and it was answered by a representative who identified himself as working for New Start and he refused to tell me anything about the company. When I asked who I was calling he would not give any information until I gave him my personal information. A huge RED FLAG.

See also  Bank Errors Taint Credit Reports and Lower Credit Scores

The address inside the mailer, 125 W. Mission Ave, Suite 101, Escondido, CA 92025 leads back to the address below.

Do You Have a Question You'd Like Help With? Contact Debt Coach Damon Day. Click here to reach Damon.

Prosper Law is identified as being at that address.

The main Prosper Law website is actually at prosperlawcorp.com and lists their address as 8320 Lincoln Blvd., Suite 164, Los Angeles CA 90045. Prosper Law identifies themselves as a “Foreclosure Avoidance Law Firm.”

The attorneys associated with Prosper Law are Gordon Dickson, Deborah Guiterrez, Ron Viasbort and Richard Gee.

According to the California Bar Association, Richard Gee is not eligible to practice law. – Source

I did contact Advecor yesterday and asked them about their mailer but as of the publication of this article they failed to respond to my questions. Today I also contacted attorney Deborah Guiterrez, with Prosper Law and did not receive a response back from her to either accept or deny that Prosper Law had anything to do with the mailer.

Damon Day - Pro Debt Coach

I can always use your help. If you have a tip or information you want to share, you can get it to me confidentially if you click here.

Prosper Law Corporation Archive

Follow Me
Steve Rhode is the Get Out of Debt Guy and has been helping good people with bad debt problems since 1994. You can learn more about Steve, here.
Steve Rhode
Follow Me

Comments are closed.