fbpx

Walmart, Facebook, Backbyte, Cloud Brain Games Scam – Consumer Complaint – June 14, 2022

Consumer Statement:

Facebook. I should know better but I read the reviews (uuuugh just good ones). I just got charged $1.00 I believe. I just don’t want them to get more money.

Walmart Facebook Scam – Consumer Complaint – June 14, 2022

Consumer Action Taken:

I haven’t tried because I just immediately came to you guys to see if you could tell me what to do.

Date This Problem Happened: June 14, 2022

State You Live in: NC

Race/Ethnicity: White

Age Range: 36-50

Total Amount of Fee Paid: $1

Company Name: Walmart on Facebook

Company Address:

Company Telephone Number:

Website of Company:

Steve’s Response

There are a number of warning signs when you click on the apply now button on the Facebook listing you sent.

Walmart Facebook Scam – Consumer Complaint – June 14, 2022

That apply now takes you to a site other than Walmart. It goes to a page for an unrelated product. shepn.info/articles/review-dyson-v11-outsize-a-whole-home-stick-vac – Source

It seems this same scheme has been used for other products as well.

It also appears there are multiple posts with the same pitch. I noticed the post I found was added on June 9th but the one you sent was on June 11th.

The landing page shows you some BS questions and then asks you to gues which box your prize is in.

Walmart Facebook Scam – Consumer Complaint – June 14, 2022

Walmart Facebook Scam – Consumer Complaint – June 14, 2022

This eventually leads to a pages at campaign.cloudbraingames.com/us/c87ig3r/azpit/01.php – Source

It is easy to miss the fine print at the top of the page. Follow my yellow arrow. Once you submit your information it will lead to a $44 monthly recurring charge.

Walmart Facebook Scam – Consumer Complaint – June 14, 2022

The terms on the CloudBrainGames.com site say the grill offer is a chance to win a grill and not actually purchasing one. Read the terms here.

The site terms say the company behind this is Backbyte LLC, 6627 Forest Ave, Ridgewood, NY, 11385. Yes, this will really bite you in the back.

See also  Debt Collectors Using Facebook to Gather Debtor Addresses

I had to shake my head when I read this in the terms, “14. LAW: A Subscription(s) is void where prohibited by law. These Subscription(s) and Billing terms and any Subscription(s) available through Backbyte shall be governed by the laws of UNKNOWN.”

Unknown?

Here is What I Would Suggest Doing ASAP.

  1. Contact the credit card company and immediately report the transaction as fraud. Ask for a new credit card with a different number. Fraud is why people should NEVER USE A DEBIT CARD.
  2. You say you live in NC. You should immediately file a complaint with the Attorney Generals’ office. Click here.
  3. You could also file a complaint with the NY Attorney Generals’ office since that is where the company claims to be. Click here.

Come Back

Come back and post an update in the comments below with the results of the steps above.

I did post a link to this report on the Facebook post I saw but I bet it gets deleted by the schemers.

Walmart Facebook Scam – Consumer Complaint – June 14, 2022


If you feel you’ve been financially hurt by a debt relief company and deserve a refund, read these step-by-step instructions on how to proceed to attempt to get your money back.

If you do get your money back, come back and leave a comment about it. I’d love to praise companies that step-up and do the right thing for people.

Scam reports are submitted by consumers like you. If you would like to file a scam report, please click here.

If you are the company named in this report and you want to respond, please read How to Handle a Consumer Complaint Like a Pro And Come Out Smelling Like a Rose

Follow Me
Steve Rhode is the Get Out of Debt Guy and has been helping good people with bad debt problems since 1994. You can learn more about Steve, here.
Steve Rhode
Follow Me
Latest posts by Steve Rhode (see all)
See also  Do You "Like" To Travel? Southwest Ticket Scam Hits Facebook Again

2 thoughts on “Walmart, Facebook, Backbyte, Cloud Brain Games Scam – Consumer Complaint – June 14, 2022”

Leave a Comment