Subscribe to our mailing list

X

Brookstone Law – Consumer Complaint – 1-24-2012

By on January 24, 2012
Brookstone Law – Consumer Complaint – 1-24-2012

Date This Problem Happened: January 23, 2012

State You Live in: California

Race/Ethnicity: Hispanic or Latino

Age Range: 36-50

Total Amount of Fee Paid: 0

Company Name: Brookstone Law

Company Address:

4000 MacArthur Blvd.
Suite 110
Newport Beach, CA 92660

Company Telephone Number: 800-946-8655

Website of Company: brookstonelaw.com

Consumer Statement:

I’ve read 2 posts that make mention of Brookstone Law, PC out of Newport Beach, CA where they are scamming folks into paying money up front for services they will appear to render for bank lenders who defraud customers on their mortgage.

When we responded to a call and scheduled a visit to their office, we basically were presented with 3 phases in order for them to offer their services of investigating, all the way to pursuing a settlement on our behalf.

Phase 1: was for us to provide them with $1250 to research our documents, to validate whether there was a valid case or not. If unsuccessful, they would reimburse that amount immediately.

Phase 2: If research was successful, we would then need to come up with $3000 for attorney fees, etc. Upon payment of $3000,

Phase 3: they would then charge us $250 per month for 12-18 months to follow and bring the case to closure.

Don’t forget that if we won a settlement they would retain 35% on top of that. If they did not win the case we would be out of phase 2 and 3 money. In my opinion this a total scam and totally wrong. I noticed that when we first arrived, there were several spanish speaking clients. Wonder if maybe they are also trying to take advantage of that group as well…hmmm, I wonder.

Consumer Action Taken:

Plain and simple….not interested and quickly left the building. This firm should be carefully examined and reprimanded as soon as humanly possible!

Note:

The Myvesta Foundation sent a letter to the company at the address given or found and asked them to publicly respond to this complaint.

READ  FTC Halts California Based Mortgage Relief Scam

If you feel you’ve been financially hurt by a debt relief company and deserve a refund, read these step-by-step instructions on how to proceed to attempt to get your money back.

If you do get your money back, come back and leave a comment about it. I’d love to praise companies that step-up and do the right thing for people.

Scam reports are submitted by consumers like you. If you would like to file a scam report, please click here.

If you are the company named in this report and you want to respond, please read How to Handle a Consumer Complaint Like a Pro And Come Out Smelling Like a Rose

About Steve Rhode

Steve Rhode is the Get Out of Debt Guy and has been helping good people with bad debt problems since 1994. You can learn more about Steve, here.

5 Comments

  1. Kat

    March 8, 2013 at 9:03 pm

    You know this is a complete scam business when they send you a letter for mass litigation against your mortgage lender, and you don’t have a mortgage or have never even owed property. I just wonder how many people give money to these guys thinking they will actually help.

  2. Teamchampionforce

    May 31, 2012 at 9:33 pm

    Yes. I was also scammed out of $1250.00 by Brookstone Law. They say all the allegations about then are false. You trust them. They scam you.

  3. Formerattorney

    May 13, 2012 at 4:53 am

    Vito and Damian are being sued in OC superior court. Nice to see Damian is still playing lawyer.

    DEFENDANT

    12/21/2011

    DAMIAN KUTZNER
    DEFENDANT

    12/21/2011

    ISAAC MAIMON
    PLAINTIFF

    12/21/2011

    LINDA Z VOSS
    ATTORNEY

    12/21/2011

    SECURITIZED MORTGAGE ANALYSTS, LLC
    PLAINTIFF

    12/21/2011

    VITO TORCHIA
    DEFENDANT

    12/21/2011

    • Steve Rhode

      May 13, 2012 at 9:24 am

      If you have a case number, please post it.

    • JC

      April 7, 2013 at 1:35 pm

      They took over 6,000 from my parents who were trying to help us. Taking advantage of the elderly Crimminal. Plus they are calling me again.

Share a Comment / Leave a Reply