Fairmount Financial Group Charged Me a Fee to Get a Loan. Are They a Fraud? – Aaron

“Dear Steve,

I am not sure this company is a fraud company. I was seeing if you can find that out for me? I was trying to get a loan online and this company called “Fairmount Financial Group” called and they wanted money up front because my credit score is not the greatest, so I sent the money through moneygram to Canada.

I sent 3 payments totaling around $2200. She said that the lender does not want to give me the loan now and now fairmount financial group is going to take over the loan. She also said that I will be getting a GRANT of $1211.00. Which she fax me a letter with her CEOs signature.

I used to be able to talk to her over the phone but when you call her the phone says ” this number has been temporarily disabled but she still calls me and we email back and forth. She wants me to send her $900 more to take the lender off the account / interest payment Or she will give me a refund and I would have to wait 15 days.

Fairmount financial group
300 E. Business Way #200
Cincinnati, Ohio 45241
Website: www.fairmountfinancialgroup.com

I am about to lose my place and car.

I was just seeing if you can look into it and see if they are a fraud business. Can you please get back to me as soon as possible. I looked all over the Internet to see if they were but I can’t find anything on them. Oh and I checked on this website “greatloansforbedcredit.com” if you put their name in the search bar upper right they will not show.

Thank you very much.


Dear Aaron,

It sure sounds like the old cross border advance fee loan scam. Anytime someone asks you to pay advance fees for a loan, not only may they be breaking the law, but the chances of you getting your money back are slim.

So let me take a look at this company for you.

The address they gave you is for a virtual office space that they may have been renting, but historically these companies just use the address as a decoy. – Source

The domain name fairmontfinancialgroup.com was just registered on November 6, 2012 and the domain ownership is hidden.

Their website does not list their contact information on the contact us page.

Screen Shot 2013-01-03 at 11.46.53 AM

According to the State of Ohio there is a company that is registered to do business under the name Fairmount Financial Group, Inc. That company was registered in 1998. However that company is located at:

Fairmount Financial Group
3165 Fairmount Blvd
Cleveland, OH 44118
Phone: 216-932-2366

There are some clues in the wording on the FairmountFinancialGroup.com site that lead me to believe it was written by a non-U.S. person without intimate knowledge of U.S. debt and credit procedures.

Another clue is that there is no company that is licensed as a lender in Ohio under the name Fairmount Financial Group.

Here is another clue things are not what they appear to be.

Their client testimonials have been used by other lender sites as well. – Source

Similar testimonials have appeared on prudentialfinancial.net, evergreentplh.com, prdoefinancialgroup.com, providentcapitalinvestments.com. Source

I would strongly suggest you read How to Try to Get a Refund From a Debt Relief Company and follow that process to try to get your money back.

Also, before you fall for something like this again, read How to Check Out a Business or Company to Avoid Getting Scammed or Ripped Off.

Please post your responses and follow-up messages to me on this in the comments section below.


You are not alone. I'm here to help. There is no need to suffer in silence. We can get through this. Tomorrow can be better than today. Don't give up.
Damon Day - Pro Debt Coach

Steve Rhode

Leave a Comment