Latest Posts
Home > Debt Relief Industry > USA Student Loans – Review. Are They a Scam?

USA Student Loans – Review. Are They a Scam?

A reader asked me to take a look at USA Student Loans and review the site for the,. Here is my review.

Company Name

USA Student Loans

Our Impression of What the Company Offers to Consumers

The company appears to be offering the same solutions available to consumer for free from the Department of Education. The company appears to fall within that category of companies the National Consumer Law Center warned consumers about in their recent publication “SEARCHING FOR RELIEF: Desperate Borrowers and the Growing Student Loan “Debt Relief” Industry.”

Address

6015 Morrow Street
Suite 218
Jacksonville, Florida 32217 – Source

Screen Shot 2013-07-22 at 11.29.25 AM

Additional Contact Information

855-999-1939
Fax: 904-337-6446
Email: [email protected]

Company Description

USA Student-Loans is the brainchild of a group of experienced financial executives in the arena of all aspects of the student loan industry, from consolidations to default resolution. The task of working on fixing your student loan(s) can be daunting at best and after years of witnessing the red tape, hardships, broken promises, and failed programs normally offered to people seeking answers to their student loan problems, we decided it was time to give people what they really need: straight-forward answers and guaranteed solutions. With USA Student Loan’s program there are no promises of unrealistic or impossible outcomes to an individual’s needs. What we provide are fast, honest, guaranteed solutions and results that are based on facts and experience, not hopes, dreams or best intentions. You relax, we do the work!

At USA Student-Loans we offer easy, fast and affordable solutions to the most complex issues associated with the repayment of student-loans. – Source

Management

Schuyler Elliott – manager/director – Source

Screen Shot 2013-07-22 at 12.05.27 PM

Company Information

The State of Florida has no company registered to do business under the name USA Student Loans.

There is a fictitious name registration however. USA Student Loans is actually Xtreme Products, LLC. The application was submitted by Schuyler Elliott on January 22, 2013. – Source

Services

The company appears to offer federal student loan assistance services for a fee that are available from the Department of Education for free.

One consumer reported being asked to pay $595 for these free services.

Relationships

National Financial Assistance Brokerage – Source

Interesting Points

The header on the USA Student Loans website says they have an A+ BBB rating. It currently is an A-. It also says they have 20 years experience but the company was only able to operate under USA Student Loans for six months.

Screen Shot 2013-07-22 at 12.09.57 PM

Website

usastudentloans.org

usastudentloans.org

Domain Information

usastudentloans.org – ownership is currently hidden.

But when domain was registered on January 5, 2013 the ownership was listed as:

Domain Name:USASTUDENTLOANS.ORG
Created On:05-Jan-2013 21:11:29 UTC
Last Updated On:05-Jan-2013 21:11:29 UTC
Expiration Date:05-Jan-2014 21:11:29 UTC
Sponsoring Registrar:GoDaddy.com, LLC (R91-LROR)
Registrant ID:CR133471331
Registrant Name:schuyler elliott
Registrant Street1:6717 linford lane
Registrant Street2:
Registrant Street3:
Registrant City:jacksonville
Registrant State/Province:Florida
Registrant Postal Code:32217
Registrant Country:US
Registrant Phone:+1.9042348167
Registrant Phone Ext.:
Registrant FAX:
Registrant FAX Ext.:
Registrant Email:[email protected]

Our Opinion After Review

We previously wrote a guide on what companies should offer in a fair and consumer friendly student loan service program. Please read How to Run a Clean Student Loan Assistance Program. In addition we provide the following guides to check out debt relief companies:

  1. The Ultimate Consumer Guide to Checking Out a Debt Relief Company Before You Sign On the Line
  2. How to Check Out a Business or Company to Avoid Getting Scammed or Ripped Off
  • Program Fees Clearly Stated on Site: No
  • Client Agreement Clearly Available on Site: No
  • States Consumers Can Contact Department of Education Directly to Consolidate and Reduce Payments for Free: No
  • Provides clear link to Department of Education Loan Options: No
  • Provides Historical Performance Statistics: No
  • Clearly Identifies Management/Officers on Site: No
  • Company is Clearly Registered to Business: Not clearly described

It is our opinion the program reviewed here DOES NOT MEET OUR RECOMMENDED STANDARDS.

Scam, Complaint, Review or Praise

Consumers:

If you’ve had experience with this company, good or bad, you would like to share, please post your comments in the comments section below.

If you have a client agreement or paperwork you can share which this company gave you, you can do so here.

Owners:

If this is your company, please read the site review policy and feel free to post information in the comments you would like to share about your company.

If you feel something reported in this review is incorrect, please report it here so we can fix the error.

For Those Looking for Student Loan Resources

Before you pay any company for assistance with your student loans, be sure to check out our free student loan assistance links and guides below.

Student Loan Resources

You can use the following student loan resources to help reorganize, discharge or forgive your student loan payments.

The Overall Guide to Dealing With Student Loan Debt

Get Help For Your Student Loan Problem

Discharge Your Student Loans in Bankruptcy

Getting Sued Over a Student Loan

Private Student Loan Help

Student Loan Default

Student Loan Forgiveness and Discharge Information

Watch Out for Student Loan Assistance Programs

Administrative Wage Garnishment

Student Loan Consolidation Information

Specific Federal Student Loan Repayment Program Information

Maybe College Isn’t the Answer

Get Out of Debt Free Hotline
debt settlement helpstudent loan help

About Steve Rhode

Steve Rhode
Steve Rhode is the Get Out of Debt Guy and has been helping good people with bad debt problems since 1994. You can learn more about Steve, here.
  • Mel Landers

    Last year, I was hearing stories about student loan forgiveness
    programs. I was skeptical. It sounded too good to be true. Anyway, my husband
    got a call from Sallie Mae. I called them back, thinking they were going to
    refer us to the student loan program. I somehow contacted USA Student Loans.

    Anyway, long story short, after talking to a representative
    from USA Student Loans, I did some research and noticed the company had an A
    minus rating with the Better Business Bureau. I tried to see if the place was a
    scam and didn’t see much out there talking about people’s experiences. When I
    signed up, I was told the following: My loans, which were 220 a month, would be
    reduced to $70 a month. I would pay 120 consecutive payments. After that, the
    rest would be forgiven. My husband’s, which were 100 a month, would be reduced
    to $50 a month. He would pay that for 120 consecutive payments. After that, the
    rest would be forgiven.

    We were told to stop paying student loans a few months after
    signing up. We paid USA Student Loans. After that happened, there came the
    endless cycle of phone calls and people assuring us of things that weren’t
    true. We were told the representatives had talked to our lenders. Every time we
    talked to our lenders, we were told no one had contacted them. Everything that
    USA Student Loans said would happen didn’t happen. This isn’t to say nothing
    happened. In the end, my husband and I were signed up for a 20 year repayment
    plan. The time elapsed from which we’d stopped paying our loans just meant that
    additional interest had accrued. Furthermore, if we kept paying for the plan
    that we’d been signed into, we would be paying even more interest than we would
    on our original plan. Every time I have tried to contact someone from USA
    Student Loans, I am continually told that someone will call me back. They never
    did.

    At the time that we signed up for USA Student Loans, it
    seemed like a good idea. Really, I shouldn’t have paid them a dime. The reality
    is that the service they’re charging for is something that the government does
    for free. I would not recommend this service. It will just result in increased
    debt. They completely misrepresented their service. Whatever they say at the
    front end is very different than what they actually do. They say they offer a
    100 percent money back guarantee. They never did for us.

  • Jane

    I found this on google as I was researching companies. Because I am educated, I could see this may be a competitor to the company mentioned and I also researched you. I found that you are misleading people regarding USA Student Loans and attempting to make them look like a scam when in fact you are a bait and switch company. You yourself have horrible reviews and accusations are posted on a number of sites. The fact that your page here has tons of ads, any educated person can see that these companies advertised here paid to do so and are placed to make it look like a legitimate site. What a shame. I hope noone is fooled by you.

    • http://GetOutOfDebt.org/ Steve Rhode

      The website is not a competitor and sells no product or services.

      What is the story was in error? I encourage you to report any error you might find at https://getoutofdebt.org/report-an-error

      As far as ads on the site, you are most likely to see ads in the niche of other websites you visited. Ads are controlled by Google, not me. For a complete description of ads, see https://getoutofdebt.org/terms

      As far as what other sites might have said, I invite you to read https://getoutofdebt.org/the-getoutofdebt-org-and-steve-rhode-faq to find out why most of those accusations are bullshit.

    • http://GetOutOfDebt.org/ Steve Rhode

      Were you able to identify anything in the story yet that was in error? What are you claiming is misleading?

Get My FREE Get Out of Debt Guy Newsletter

It is the smart thing to do.

I promise to keep your email safe and secure.

Close

I want to keep you posted each weekday with just one email about the latest get out of debt news, scam alerts and information to beat back debt.

You can unsubscribe at any time with just one click.

After you subscribe, check your email to confirm your subscription. If the confirmation email does not appear in your inbox in a few minutes, check your spam folder for it. Sometimes it likes to annoyingly hide there.


  • It will keep you posted on the latest scams.
  • You will be alerted to the latest articles.
  • You will wind up smarter than everyone else dealing with debt.