Debt Relief Industry Site Reviews Student Loan Rescue or Assistance

USA Student Loans – Review. Are They a Scam?

Written by Steve Rhode

A reader asked me to take a look at USA Student Loans and review the site for the,. Here is my review.

Company Name

USA Student Loans

Our Impression of What the Company Offers to Consumers

The company appears to be offering the same solutions available to consumer for free from the Department of Education. The company appears to fall within that category of companies the National Consumer Law Center warned consumers about in their recent publication “SEARCHING FOR RELIEF: Desperate Borrowers and the Growing Student Loan “Debt Relief” Industry.”

Address

6015 Morrow Street
Suite 218
Jacksonville, Florida 32217 – Source

Screen Shot 2013-07-22 at 11.29.25 AM

Additional Contact Information

855-999-1939
Fax: 904-337-6446
Email: [email protected]

Company Description

USA Student-Loans is the brainchild of a group of experienced financial executives in the arena of all aspects of the student loan industry, from consolidations to default resolution. The task of working on fixing your student loan(s) can be daunting at best and after years of witnessing the red tape, hardships, broken promises, and failed programs normally offered to people seeking answers to their student loan problems, we decided it was time to give people what they really need: straight-forward answers and guaranteed solutions. With USA Student Loan’s program there are no promises of unrealistic or impossible outcomes to an individual’s needs. What we provide are fast, honest, guaranteed solutions and results that are based on facts and experience, not hopes, dreams or best intentions. You relax, we do the work!

At USA Student-Loans we offer easy, fast and affordable solutions to the most complex issues associated with the repayment of student-loans. – Source

Management

Schuyler Elliott – manager/director – Source

Screen Shot 2013-07-22 at 12.05.27 PM

Company Information

The State of Florida has no company registered to do business under the name USA Student Loans.

There is a fictitious name registration however. USA Student Loans is actually Xtreme Products, LLC. The application was submitted by Schuyler Elliott on January 22, 2013. – Source

READ  Why Can't I Reach Anyone at USA Student Loans?

Services

The company appears to offer federal student loan assistance services for a fee that are available from the Department of Education for free.

One consumer reported being asked to pay $595 for these free services.

Relationships

National Financial Assistance Brokerage – Source

Interesting Points

The header on the USA Student Loans website says they have an A+ BBB rating. It currently is an A-. It also says they have 20 years experience but the company was only able to operate under USA Student Loans for six months.

Screen Shot 2013-07-22 at 12.09.57 PM

Do You Have a Question You'd Like Steve to Answer? Click Here.

Website

usastudentloans.org

usastudentloans.org

Domain Information

usastudentloans.org – ownership is currently hidden.

But when domain was registered on January 5, 2013 the ownership was listed as:

Domain Name:USASTUDENTLOANS.ORG
Created On:05-Jan-2013 21:11:29 UTC
Last Updated On:05-Jan-2013 21:11:29 UTC
Expiration Date:05-Jan-2014 21:11:29 UTC
Sponsoring Registrar:GoDaddy.com, LLC (R91-LROR)
Registrant ID:CR133471331
Registrant Name:schuyler elliott
Registrant Street1:6717 linford lane
Registrant Street2:
Registrant Street3:
Registrant City:jacksonville
Registrant State/Province:Florida
Registrant Postal Code:32217
Registrant Country:US
Registrant Phone:+1.9042348167
Registrant Phone Ext.:
Registrant FAX:
Registrant FAX Ext.:
Registrant Email:[email protected]

Our Opinion After Review

We previously wrote a guide on what companies should offer in a fair and consumer friendly student loan service program. Please read How to Run a Clean Student Loan Assistance Program. In addition we provide the following guides to check out debt relief companies:

  1. The Ultimate Consumer Guide to Checking Out a Debt Relief Company Before You Sign On the Line
  2. How to Check Out a Business or Company to Avoid Getting Scammed or Ripped Off
  • Program Fees Clearly Stated on Site: No
  • Client Agreement Clearly Available on Site: No
  • States Consumers Can Contact Department of Education Directly to Consolidate and Reduce Payments for Free: No
  • Provides clear link to Department of Education Loan Options: No
  • Provides Historical Performance Statistics: No
  • Clearly Identifies Management/Officers on Site: No
  • Company is Clearly Registered to Business: Not clearly described

It is our opinion the program reviewed here DOES NOT MEET OUR RECOMMENDED STANDARDS.

Scam, Complaint, Review or Praise

Consumers:

If you’ve had experience with this company, good or bad, you would like to share, please post your comments in the comments section below.

If you have a client agreement or paperwork you can share which this company gave you, you can do so here.

Owners:

If this is your company, please read the site review policy and feel free to post information in the comments you would like to share about your company.

If you feel something reported in this review is incorrect, please report it here so we can fix the error.

For Those Looking for Student Loan Resources

Before you pay any company for assistance with your student loans, be sure to check out our free student loan assistance links and guides below.

READ  New York Goes After Companies Offering Student Loan Assistance



About the author

Steve Rhode

Steve Rhode is the Get Out of Debt Guy and has been helping good people with bad debt problems since 1994. You can learn more about Steve, here.

8 Comments

  • Two of my coworkers are using this company. One of them started two years ago. She said this company has gotten her down to $0 monthly payment, and she has been receiving statements from them showing her student loan balance is $0. She missed re-certifying one time and had to pay $99. She said she would no longer have to re-certify after 10 years. So I decided I would call the company. My first level of suspicion was their phone number, area code 904. Normally business offer 1-800 numbers. The second issue was the person on the phone. She mentioned a “portal” being open in 24-48 hours and her conversation sounded like she was speaking secret code.Then the biggest red flag of them all was when she asked me to give her my FSA ID user name and password. ARE YOU KIDDING? I would NEVER ever give my personal info out to anyone like that. She must have thought I was dumb and desperate,and I assure you I am neither. Immediately I told her no thank you and I was done. I know that no legitimate company will ever do such thing, and I hope my coworkers don’t come to the point where they find out they owe much more than they started with.

  • We just had a student fall for this scam yesterday but fortunately he reached out to us within 15 minutes of signing on with USA Student Loans. We advised him to call back immediately and cancel his agreement with them. We also advised him to notify his financial institution for the debit card he used to pay the ‘fee’ of $900. This is an outright scam! He was under the impression that all he had to do was make 6 consecutive payments of $150 and the rest of his loans ($50K) would be forgiven. I have worked in college financial aid for almost 24 years.This is totally unacceptable that a company like this can exist! Remember people, if it sounds TOO GOOD to be true, it probably is and in this case it was! They are deceitful and they prey on desperate people!

  • I was paying USA student loans to reduce my student loans and get forgiveness for my debt when I discovered they were a scam (by calling my student loan provider) . I stopped all payment from my credit cards and they are now trying to sue me.

  • Last year, I was hearing stories about student loan forgiveness
    programs. I was skeptical. It sounded too good to be true. Anyway, my husband
    got a call from Sallie Mae. I called them back, thinking they were going to
    refer us to the student loan program. I somehow contacted USA Student Loans.

    Anyway, long story short, after talking to a representative
    from USA Student Loans, I did some research and noticed the company had an A
    minus rating with the Better Business Bureau. I tried to see if the place was a
    scam and didn’t see much out there talking about people’s experiences. When I
    signed up, I was told the following: My loans, which were 220 a month, would be
    reduced to $70 a month. I would pay 120 consecutive payments. After that, the
    rest would be forgiven. My husband’s, which were 100 a month, would be reduced
    to $50 a month. He would pay that for 120 consecutive payments. After that, the
    rest would be forgiven.

    We were told to stop paying student loans a few months after
    signing up. We paid USA Student Loans. After that happened, there came the
    endless cycle of phone calls and people assuring us of things that weren’t
    true. We were told the representatives had talked to our lenders. Every time we
    talked to our lenders, we were told no one had contacted them. Everything that
    USA Student Loans said would happen didn’t happen. This isn’t to say nothing
    happened. In the end, my husband and I were signed up for a 20 year repayment
    plan. The time elapsed from which we’d stopped paying our loans just meant that
    additional interest had accrued. Furthermore, if we kept paying for the plan
    that we’d been signed into, we would be paying even more interest than we would
    on our original plan. Every time I have tried to contact someone from USA
    Student Loans, I am continually told that someone will call me back. They never
    did.

    At the time that we signed up for USA Student Loans, it
    seemed like a good idea. Really, I shouldn’t have paid them a dime. The reality
    is that the service they’re charging for is something that the government does
    for free. I would not recommend this service. It will just result in increased
    debt. They completely misrepresented their service. Whatever they say at the
    front end is very different than what they actually do. They say they offer a
    100 percent money back guarantee. They never did for us.

  • I found this on google as I was researching companies. Because I am educated, I could see this may be a competitor to the company mentioned and I also researched you. I found that you are misleading people regarding USA Student Loans and attempting to make them look like a scam when in fact you are a bait and switch company. You yourself have horrible reviews and accusations are posted on a number of sites. The fact that your page here has tons of ads, any educated person can see that these companies advertised here paid to do so and are placed to make it look like a legitimate site. What a shame. I hope noone is fooled by you.

Share a Comment / Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: