Scam Reporter

Colonial Law Group – Consumer Complaint – June 21, 2016

Written by Consumer

Consumer Statement:

I am a retired Marine, 100% disabled Veteran totally and permanently, I receive a Monthly Veterans disability payment, Marine Corps retirement benefits from the veterans administration as Special Combat Related Compensation and Social Security Disability Insurance; by law these benefits are not considered wages per USC 38 5301 chapter 501 kept along with my property and estate.

I had difficulty making my debt payments to my creditors, however I was up to date on all payments when I hired Colonial Law Group (LLC?) and allowing Colonial Law Group to assist me to open an account for debt resolution with Global Client Solutions. Colonial Law Group instructed me per the agreement to make no more payment to the two creditors I wanted a negotiated settlement with. (American Express and Bank of America).

January 9, 2016 I received a summons from Bank of America, served thru the Flagler County Florida Sheriff’s office. Within 24 Hours I called Colonial Law and emailed a copy of the summons to them. The summons provided 30 days to respond. Colonial stated they will handle it, I asked about Bank of America and was told everything is going as planned. Every question I asked; I received the same answer, everything is going as planned. When I questioned that response I would get I have to send it up the chain and will get back with you. A big circle of smoke blowing.

January 14, 2016 I received a call from Colonial asking me to increase my monthly payments to over $1600.00 for 24 months. I told them no way I would have been paying more than the actual debt, plus it would leave me back where I started. Just Making it. Not only that before I hired them I was paying less per month keeping up with my payments. Once again I will have to get back with MS Garcia and see what other option were available. Never spoke with her or had any contact with her. The return answer was a schedule; starting with a lager payment for a few months then to smaller. It still came out to more than what I originally owed.

A few days later I received an email and call from Zachary Block, stating that he works with Colonial on the legal side. The law firm he works for handles accounts that are in active litigation with American express. Phone number 508-846-3989 his office is in Massachusetts. I explained to him, from where I receive my monthly financial funds. Colonial in the beginning was provided benefit statements from me when I hired them and stated that they understand the Federal laws protecting my funds, Property and estate. He told me that he would not take the case, because he would make nothing on it, so he passed it back to Colonial. Colonial stated no problem they will work it out.

READ  GLOBAL CLIENT SOLUTIONS, LLC - CFPB Complaint 2017-10-10

Time fly’s and I bi weekly asked the same questions and received the same answer.

May 14, 2016 I received a final Judgement on the summons from American Express, I called Colonial a different person answered the phone as my new counselor stating that Jay the previous one was promoted. She said let me review your file and she would call me back. She did and said that she saw a final judgement in my record and that it was ok, I don’t have to pay it. I asked why Colonial didn’t send a Claim of exemption to the Flagler Circuit Court when I received the summons and why they didn’t get someone to represent me and fight for me. She was lost, had no idea what I was talking about, I found a sample form on line. I informed her that I wanted a copy of all communications made in my behalf with all creditors and outside sources anything sent to anyone. She told me that there wasn’t anything. I said what, she said that American Express and Bank of America have a no negotiation policy. I then fired them on June 2, 2016 after research and distrust of going to a lawyer or legal agency. I informed them, I want all of my money back every Penney. She said it would take 3-5 working days to cancel the services.

June 9, 2016 I asked what the status was, received no answer or response. I received an Email, requesting that I fill out the form attached. I signed it and emailed it back. I called after emailing it back and she stated that I would receive a check no later than 16 June 2016 for $3200. I told her I want all of my money back. She ignored my request told me to read the letter of engagement, and hung up.

June 9-12, 2016 I tried to contact Global Client Services via email and Phone calls left messages no answers or returned email. I believe I was gaffed for days. Finally I spoke with someone on June 16, 2016, requesting to stop all and any payments to Colonial Law. She stated they have already taken over $5100. I asked where my $3200 check that I was told by Colonial I would receive no later than 16 June. I was told that one was not sent out to me that it takes 5 working days, and it would not go out to me until June 17, 2016.
The payment to Colonial Law Group was not approved by me. Only an initial $900 initial payment was approved by me. I feel that Colonial Law Group and Global Client Services are connect somehow and may involve violations of the RECO act.

READ  GLOBAL CLIENT SOLUTIONS, LLC - CFPB Complaint

I understand that when I hired Colonial Law Group and Global for debt adjustment and assistance the estimated coast to settle my debt was $16,800 my total debt was about $40,000 I did understand that the price could increase. I was up to date on my payment for 3 Credit cards, I became a widower November 2013. The death of my wife and loss of her income place a serious burden on me. I am almost 61years of age.

I further NOW understand that Colonial Law new when I hired them that America Express and Bank of America had a no negotiation policy; yet they sucked me in with laying and deceitfulness, with a document the seams to protect them from a lawsuit or Class Action against them. Only arbitration is allowed in the contract for a cost up to $2000.

I understand that Global Solutions has a Judgment from a Class Action, from doing the same thing or similar to the events in my complete. PLEASE ASSIST ME IN THIS MATTER FOR THE REURN OF MY FUNDS. Along with the reversal of the Final Judgement on my record.

The final judgement has destroyed me totally and permanently, along with my suffering from willing and would do it all again service to our country. I will never be able to secure a loan, or refinance my home. I don’t have many years left. I believe that these companies have targeted Veterans and disabled persons and are in violation of numerous State and Federal laws.

Consumer Action Taken:

Telephone, Emails, requested all documentation they had with creditors.

Date This Problem Happened: June 2, 2016

State You Live in: Florida

Race/Ethnicity:

Age Range: 51-65

Total Amount of Fee Paid: $5,200

Company Name: Colonial Law Group

Company Address:

Company Telephone Number: 866-839-0065

Website of Company: colloniallawgroup.com


If you feel you’ve been financially hurt by a debt relief company and deserve a refund, read these step-by-step instructions on how to proceed to attempt to get your money back.

If you do get your money back, come back and leave a comment about it. I’d love to praise companies that step-up and do the right thing for people.

Scam reports are submitted by consumers like you. If you would like to file a scam report, please click here.

If you are the company named in this report and you want to respond, please read How to Handle a Consumer Complaint Like a Pro And Come Out Smelling Like a Rose




About the author

Consumer

This is information that was submitted by a third party and not generated by GetOutOfDebt.org or Steve Rhode.

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top